We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay At The Royal Oxford.”
Review of Royal Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Oxford Hotel
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife & I arrived in Oxford by train on Weds 28th. It was a short and easy walk to the hotel.

We had booked via the hotel's website (10% discount) as this seemed to best available price - £284 for 2 nights with breakfast. This may seem expensive but it compares well with all the city centre hotels - they're all expensive. We also specified a quiet room.

Check-in was quick - I had to present a payment card on arrival - payment was taken on check-out. Our room was not ready, but this was OK, we left our luggage with reception & set off to explore the city. The reception staff were cheerful & helpful.

You quickly see the nearby roads are always very busy & car parking is at a premium - This is why we left the car behind & chose the train.

Later that afternoon we returned - our room (103) was ready & our luggage was already in the room - handy as there are no lifts - If you're not good with stairs this may not be the hotel for you.

The room contained a wardrobe with 10 hangars, various drawers, a desk & 2 bedside tables - no clock. A kettle and tea/coffee/chocolate making facilities are provided, still & sparkling bottled water, biscuits (3 packs) & plenty of fruit - all replenished daily. A flat screen TV (wall mounted) is provided - the menu & program guide were disabled. A hair drier was wall mounted next to the mirror. Enough power sockets for charging your gadgets.
A large double bed with 4 pillows - extra pillows & blankets were in the wardrobe.

Heating is provided (not needed during our stay) Air-con is provided - I set it to 20 degrees Celsius and this was comfortable for us.

Room access is via a key (not card) you need to lock the door manually when exiting or retiring for the night.

Bathroom - a good size - a bathtub with shower is provided - hot water was quick & plentiful - a very small shelf was under the mirror for your items. Soap, Shampoo & shower gel etc are provided (replenished daily). Everything was very clean.

Breakfast (£11) is taken in the restaurant - I had the full English each day - my wife had a tomato & mozzarella omelette the first morning & fried eggs with chorizo the following - this was well enjoyed. Tea & coffee is provided, plus various juices, cereals & yoghurt - plus toast & croissants etc.

WIFI - free, a code is provided when you check-in, this worked well in the room but not so well in the restaurant.

We checked out on our final morning after breakfast - we again left our luggage with reception so we could have our final day for exploring / shopping - we returned at 16:30 to collect everything & begin our journey home.

We enjoyed our 2 night break in Oxford at The Royal Oxford - I hope you find this review helpful !

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GarySkuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (676)
There are newer reviews for Royal Oxford Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

The big plus is the location. You can readily access the wonderful University that is at the heart of this city. Additionally, we found the Staff to be friendly and helpful. Where it fails is in the WiFi. They said that the thickness of the walls makes it hard to use the WiFi in the rooms. I know that may seem like a small thing to some. But in this day and age I can't imagine running out to the corridor or the somewhat confined reception area just to access WiFi on my devices. Please note that I'm not criticizing the staff. I'm trying to be fair. This is a higher-level management issue. I believe that they need to budget funds to put in some extra routers around the place to deal with this. For a quick stay, like no more than a day or two, this place may be adequate. But if you are looking for ambience specifically Oxfordian, historical and all that, or for a great view out the window, or for some degree of luxury look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vasu-and-Natalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I had wonderful experience working with the hotel for a large group booking in April. The hotel staff was very welcoming and helpful. It is a quaint hotel in a great location. I would highly recommend the lovely Royal Oxford Hotel for your visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R-Seangsuwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My wife and I stayed in this three star hotel for five nights in mid May. We booked this hotel six month prior to our stay with three considerations in mind: Near to bus and rail. Within walking distance to the colleges and places to eat. Good value. The Royal Oxford met all of those conditions. The train is 5 minutes and the bus is 7-8 minutes from the hotel and town center is about a 10-12 minute walk. The pluses at this hotel are: Good clean accommodation with a large en suite with nice shower and bath. The service is excellent and the full English breakfast included in the roommate was very good. The free Wi-Fi is speedy and available throughout the hotel. The bed was comfortable and the TV had a large variety of stations. Although our room faced the busy street we heard little o no street noise. There are a couple of things to know about the hotel. First, there is no elevator. Two, the floors are squeakily so if there is a lot of people moving about it could be noisy. Three, the sink in the bath have individual hot and cold taps. This was a mild inconvenience. All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Royal Oxford and highly recommend it to value conscious travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sentellr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manageress31, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Sir
Thank you very much for your review and I am glad you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us. It is unfortunate that the hotel doesn't have a lift, however we compensate the luck of it by offering porterage to every customer, therefore there is no need to carry your luggage. With the bedrooms being located on the first and second floors, you only need to go up a few flights of stairs. The building was built in the 1930's and it always served the purpose of guest accommodation. Many of the hotel features are original and so are the plumbing arrangements, like the hot and cold water taps. It was designed to save water! We have replaced half of the taps to modern tap mixers so there is no need for a plug, which is the case in the old ones. With regards to the squeaky floors, there are only two rooms like that but next time we have a refurbishment the floors will be replaced and hopefully that will eliminate the noise.
Otherwise, once again thank you very much for your comments and we are looking forward to be of service to you in the very near future.
Yours faithfully
Marzena James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed here for 1 night on arrival to the UK. This was our favorite hotel of the trip.. Very, very clean and large bathroom, The room was plenty big for us with a comfortable bed. The front desk girls were very nice and helpful. Right across the street from the train station and a very short walk to the historic center..We had a room on the level above ground level ,on the front.. We heard a little street noise, but not enough to bother us. There is no lift , so if this is a problem for you, be sure to ask for a room on the lower floor. The stairs were not steep and easily managed

We did not eat in the restaurant , so can't give my opinion there..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmoreMacon_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manageress31, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Sir/Madam
Thank you very much for your review and I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I was even happier to read that we were your favorite hotel from your whole trip in England!
Next time you come to Oxford, it will be our pleasure to be of service to you again!
Yours faithfully
Marzena James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The Hotel is ideally situated for the train station, city centre and colleges. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The room was lovely, couldn't wish for more. The bed was very comfortable , giving a very good nights sleep. I would certainly stay there again if I go back to Oxford.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor, although no lift it wasn't a problem.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LS4649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manageress31, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Sir/Madam
Thank you very much for your review and I am glad you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to be of service to you in the near future.
Yours faithfully
Marzena James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Great location and 5-star staff made this hotel perfect for our visit to Oxford. Room and amenities were well above expectations. Air conditioning was very quiet and easy to adjust. Bed was a little firm for our liking but served its purpose after long days of walking around the city.





  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manageress31, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I am enormously proud of all of our employees because this isn't the first time that their series delivery was evaluated at 5 Stars!

We hope to be of service to you again in the very near future.
Yours faithfully
Marzena James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
2.2 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
727 reviews
0.6 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oxford Hotel

Address: Park End Street, Oxford OX1 1HR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oxford
#10 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#12 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £130 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oxford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully air-conditioned hotel located in the city centre of Oxford. Walking distance to Oxford attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Oxford
Oxford Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing