We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Euro Bar(Oxford)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
River Hotel(Oxford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (727)
Filter reviews
727 results
Traveller rating
206
353
126
26
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
353
126
26
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno lifttrain stationbiscuitskorean restaurantcomplimentary fruitbottled watersaid business schoolcity centrestreet noiseconvenient locationfive minute walklarge bathroomcomfortable roomgood sizeair conditioningdouble glazingfirst floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
343 - 348 of 727 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here with friends last weekend for one night, lovely room for the 3 of us and nice touches like free fruit, lots of biscuits and toiletries. Reception staff friendly and helpful. Only down side was the noise, the hotel is situated by a main road and a problamatic junction, hence alot of beeping horns and its opposite a night club so was very noisy on a Saturday night and I had no sleep :( We didnt hae breakfast at hotel as lots of cafes nearby and location was amazing, its even right by city sightseeing bus stop!

Room Tip: If you want a good nights sleep, ask for one on the back!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank razzledazzle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manageress31, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Customer
Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased that apart from the traffic noise you have enjoyed your stay with us. As we are located in the city centre of Oxford, it is unavoidable to hear the street noises which can get louder during weekends. We do however have a double glazing throughout the hotel and if the windows are kept closed it is very effective.
We are looking forward to be of service to you in the future.
Yours sincerely
Marzena James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

First time staying in Oxford and decided on this hotel based on location, 5 minute walk from the train station and a10 minute walk to the city centre. Breakfast was cooked to order which was a pleasant surprise. Nice pub 5 minutes away The a Dukes Cut. Room was nice, clean and efficient A/C worked well, bathroom area clean, on the expensive side for what you get but then this is Oxford and accommodations are expensive no matter what you choose in the city centre area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schaefcand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Though the exterior looks a bit old but the interior was very well maintain and clean. My unit was near the main road but surprisingly, there was little noise as sound proof was great. Bed was very comfortable and clean. Friendly and helpful staff

Room Tip: The in room equipments were very well kept and brand new.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HanHJ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had a medical emergency I. The family & needed to find a hotel very near to the John Radcliffe Hospital. As it was a Saturday night every hotel in Oxford seemed to be booked but we found 1 room still available at the Royal Oxford. It was getting very late & we had been at the hospital all day so we were very hungry. I stopped off & looked at the room which was pretty small but clean & neat. I returned to reception & said that we would need to eat before we checked in. The receptionist was so pleasant & helpful - I wished I had got her name. So without booking in she kept the room for us while we went to eat. We did not return until 8.30 ish & she checked us in quickly & efficiently. At the end of a very trying day it was so nice to be treated so well - she is a credit to this hotel. The best thing about the room was the fact that it had air conditioning - which on a very stuffy June evening was a blessing. We thought the room was very overpriced but we were desperate by that time - £144!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veterantravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I was attending a wedding in Oxford and was looking for a room that was centrally located: the Royal Oxford fit the bill perfectly, slap bang in the middle of town, and only five minutes from the station.

Staff were friendly, the room clean, and there was a kettle and tea provided (which as far as I'm concerned is all of the essentials covered). The interior did feel a little like it had been sealed in a time capsule sometime around 1972, and their general way of doing things felt similar. You rang a bell for the porter to let you in if you were out too late and your (one) key for your (double) room is kept behind the reception desk whenever you leave. It was a bit of a strange experience to someone who's more recent exposure to hotels has been in Berlin or London and the slick, convenient use of key cards.

All in all it was a perfectly pleasant experience, but a tad pricey for what it was (particularly the mediocre £11 breakfast). However really you're paying for the location, which is indeed extremely convenient.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews