We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for a weekend in Oxford”
Review of Royal Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Oxford Hotel
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great base for a weekend in Oxford”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had an excellent evening stay here whilst in Oxford for a concert. Lovely comfortable room and very helpful staff, free tea, coffee, water and fruit in the room. Ring ahead to arrange parking.
Just a short walk to the shops and tourist attractions
Would definitely recommend





  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klarwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manageress31, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Sir/Madam
Thank you very much for sparing your valuable time to write this lovely review. It was our pleasure having you at our hotel and we hope to be of service to you again in the very near future.
Yours faithfully
Marzena James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    318
    102
    23
    12
See reviews for
127
198
70
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I was very impressed with this straight-forward and clean hotel right in the middle of Oxford. Right by the train station and a short walk from the centre of Oxford it is ideally located. The rooms were very clean throughout and apart from the somewhat weak shower, they were very good to stay in.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_B_Lewes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manageress31, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Sir
Thank you very much for your comments and I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to be of service to you again in the very near future.
Yours faithfully
Marzena James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here with friends last weekend for one night, lovely room for the 3 of us and nice touches like free fruit, lots of biscuits and toiletries. Reception staff friendly and helpful. Only down side was the noise, the hotel is situated by a main road and a problamatic junction, hence alot of beeping horns and its opposite a night club so was very noisy on a Saturday night and I had no sleep :( We didnt hae breakfast at hotel as lots of cafes nearby and location was amazing, its even right by city sightseeing bus stop!

Room Tip: If you want a good nights sleep, ask for one on the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank razzledazzle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manageress31, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Customer
Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased that apart from the traffic noise you have enjoyed your stay with us. As we are located in the city centre of Oxford, it is unavoidable to hear the street noises which can get louder during weekends. We do however have a double glazing throughout the hotel and if the windows are kept closed it is very effective.
We are looking forward to be of service to you in the future.
Yours sincerely
Marzena James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

First time staying in Oxford and decided on this hotel based on location, 5 minute walk from the train station and a10 minute walk to the city centre. Breakfast was cooked to order which was a pleasant surprise. Nice pub 5 minutes away The a Dukes Cut. Room was nice, clean and efficient A/C worked well, bathroom area clean, on the expensive side for what you get but then this is Oxford and accommodations are expensive no matter what you choose in the city centre area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schaefcand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Though the exterior looks a bit old but the interior was very well maintain and clean. My unit was near the main road but surprisingly, there was little noise as sound proof was great. Bed was very comfortable and clean. Friendly and helpful staff

Room Tip: The in room equipments were very well kept and brand new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanHJ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea wales
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had a medical emergency I. The family & needed to find a hotel very near to the John Radcliffe Hospital. As it was a Saturday night every hotel in Oxford seemed to be booked but we found 1 room still available at the Royal Oxford. It was getting very late & we had been at the hospital all day so we were very hungry. I stopped off & looked at the room which was pretty small but clean & neat. I returned to reception & said that we would need to eat before we checked in. The receptionist was so pleasant & helpful - I wished I had got her name. So without booking in she kept the room for us while we went to eat. We did not return until 8.30 ish & she checked us in quickly & efficiently. At the end of a very trying day it was so nice to be treated so well - she is a credit to this hotel. The best thing about the room was the fact that it had air conditioning - which on a very stuffy June evening was a blessing. We thought the room was very overpriced but we were desperate by that time - £144!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veterantravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I was attending a wedding in Oxford and was looking for a room that was centrally located: the Royal Oxford fit the bill perfectly, slap bang in the middle of town, and only five minutes from the station.

Staff were friendly, the room clean, and there was a kettle and tea provided (which as far as I'm concerned is all of the essentials covered). The interior did feel a little like it had been sealed in a time capsule sometime around 1972, and their general way of doing things felt similar. You rang a bell for the porter to let you in if you were out too late and your (one) key for your (double) room is kept behind the reception desk whenever you leave. It was a bit of a strange experience to someone who's more recent exposure to hotels has been in Berlin or London and the slick, convenient use of key cards.

All in all it was a perfectly pleasant experience, but a tad pricey for what it was (particularly the mediocre £11 breakfast). However really you're paying for the location, which is indeed extremely convenient.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmccartney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.6 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
1,160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oxford Hotel

Property: Royal Oxford Hotel
Address: Park End Street, Oxford OX1 1HR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oxford
#10 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#12 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oxford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully air-conditioned hotel located in the city centre of Oxford. Walking distance to Oxford attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Oxford
Oxford Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing