We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hen Do weekend”
Review of Royal Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Oxford Hotel
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hen Do weekend”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel was perfect for a 2 night stay on a hen weekend - ideal location to some great restaurants and bars all within a few minutes walk from the hotel. The train station is 2 minutes walk away, and the car parking in Staples car park was easy, secure and so convenient (a few doors down from hotel). The staff on reception and at breakfast were polite and customer service was excellent. The choice of breakfast options were great - especially after a night out! The rooms were clean and a good size - would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    310
    101
    23
    12
See reviews for
126
195
68
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My third visit. The Royal Oxford iis nicely modernised, but retaininig many original features. Very comfortable and clean accommodation and friendly, helpful staff. I would recommend this hotel warmly to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuwait
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

stayed here for one night . close to rail station and (said) business school oxford university . very clean room and large . nice location . friendly staff . good value . very good rates for the double room . love the helpful staff .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ben-3eed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Not much to say, everything was perfect. Excellent location close to the train station and city centre, also upstairs from a fantastic Korean restaurant, very welcoming staff, very clean, large spacious rooms which were well decorated, and cheaper than anywhere else in the city. Nice selection of snacks left in the room. Not a bad word to say. Will definitely come back

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manageress31, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Sir
Thank you for your comments and I am very pleased that you rated your stay with us at 5*! I have to say that I can't praise enough the efforts of all the hotel employees who try so hard to make every customer's stay very special.
We are looking forward to be of service to you again in the very near future.
Yours faithfully
Marzena James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Lovely stay, the girls on reception were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Made me feel very comfortable. The room itself was lovely and clean. Had a really good nights sleep. So close to the station and City centre which was ideal as I've never visited before!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dylanellingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manageress31, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Customer
Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback and I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to be of service to you next time you come to Oxford.
Yours sincerely
Marzena James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haarlem
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed with 15 persons from a Dutch Veteran Hockey team in this hotel, excellent service, friendly staff and clean and tidy rooms. besides that a perfect breakfast as well.
we all were very satisfied.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aernout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manageress31, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Sir
Thank you very much for your comments and I am pleased you and the group fully enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to be of service to you again in the future.
Yours faithfully
Marzena James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had an excellent evening stay here whilst in Oxford for a concert. Lovely comfortable room and very helpful staff, free tea, coffee, water and fruit in the room. Ring ahead to arrange parking.
Just a short walk to the shops and tourist attractions
Would definitely recommend





  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klarwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manageress31, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Sir/Madam
Thank you very much for sparing your valuable time to write this lovely review. It was our pleasure having you at our hotel and we hope to be of service to you again in the very near future.
Yours faithfully
Marzena James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.6 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oxford Hotel

Property: Royal Oxford Hotel
Address: Park End Street, Oxford OX1 1HR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oxford
#10 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#12 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oxford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully air-conditioned hotel located in the city centre of Oxford. Walking distance to Oxford attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Oxford
Oxford Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing