We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in good location”
Review of Royal Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Oxford Hotel
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We have just spent three nights here. Friendly, helpful staff. The room was spacious as was the bathroom both being spotless and well decorated. Surprisingly quiet given the location. Complimentary water, fruit and chocolates as well as ample tea, coffee and biscuits. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 207 excellent, double glazing kept out noise from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 19,422,014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 715 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

A great place to stay - very friendly helpful staff. Lovely clean comfortable rooms and very spacious bathroom. Great location for accessing central Oxford, near the station and there is also parking which is very useful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Italiaphile61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Good location, 2 minutes from train station, 10 minutes from centre. Staff and service was excellent. The room was spotless, the bed very comfortable, pillows could have been a bit firmer but that may be just my preference. Lots of extras in room such as fruit, water, chocolates, and free wifi. Lots of good toiletries and large towels. Great breakfast choice. This hotel is excellent value for money.

Room Tip: If you have problems with stairs ask for a first floor room as no lift. Rooms are well sound proofed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fuschiayewtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Nice sized room, complimentary water, fruit, biscuits, plenty tea and coffee. Air conditioned.

Friendly staff.

Ideal location for central Oxford.

Would definitely use again.

surprisingly quiet rooms given teh central location.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NairnDaveC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Wedged between a Korean restaurant and a tire and auto repair shop on a busy corner near the train station and bus terminal, the Royal Oxford lacks the exterior charm I had expected from an Oxford hotel. But once you get inside, you'll be greeted with extremely helpful clerks, comfy beds, and "lean and clean" bedrooms. I am almost always doubled over with back pain after a night on a hotel mattress, but the Royal Oxford had yummy pillows and a just-right mattress for my tastes. And it's right next to the 2nd stop on the Oxford Sightseeing Bus tour -- you can buy a "hop on and off" pass for one or two days and get a good feel for the City Center's main features. A few cautions about the Royal Oxford: (1) no elevators -- you'll have to trek up the grand old staircase (though they do have luggage porters so you don't have to schlepp your own bags); and (2) the breakfast that they charge an extra 11 pounds for is not really worth it. The Full English was pretty greasy and tasteless, and the pastries on the Continental menu weren't very fresh. Skip breakfast and venture in to some of the quaint bakeries or cafes in the heart of Oxford.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, skip the view and ask for a room on the back side of the hotel. The stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Livingwatergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Check-in:
Check-in was quick and easy. A snack and fruit basket was laid out on the table in our room when we checked in. It was quite generous for a small hotel.

Room:
The room was basic, clean and bright. However, the top bed cover was stained quite badly. We just pushed it to the floor and used the white sheets since weather wasn't cold.

Bathroom was clean but the decor was hospital like. The shower system was a bit complicated to use and water pressure was not great. At some point we couldn't get any hot water and had to wait quite a while for it.

There was noise coming from the street below (eg people chatting and cars zooming) but we didn't mind that. For light sleepers this could be a problem and you probably want to ask for quieter rooms on check-in.

Location:
Within walking distance to city centre, Oxford Tube station as well as train station.

For such a basic hotel, the price we paid wasn't cheap. But we only stayed 1 night so we wanted to be closer to amenities.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCTAN2046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The Hotel staff were Excellent, helpful and friendly, it was a little expensive for a 3 star hotel. Normally for the money we paid we normally get a four star hotel. We felt it was about £ 30 per night too expensive, plus the Fresh fruit that was promised in our room never arrived and when we mentioned it the staff advised they didnt have any that day as supplier hadnt provided a good enough quality. The full English breakfast however was excellent, probably one of the Best weve ever had

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.8 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 45 in Oxford
753 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 45 in Oxford
769 reviews
0.6 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 45 in Oxford
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oxford Hotel

Address: Park End Street, Oxford OX1 1HR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oxford
#10 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#12 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £85 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oxford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully air-conditioned hotel located in the city centre of Oxford. Walking distance to Oxford attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Oxford
Oxford Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing