We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the money...just.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed here for my wedding anniversary in one of the executive rooms. The location cannot be faulted and on a sunny day oxford is truly stunning. The room however is still quite small and the interior of the hotel all round needs a bit of TLC. The staff however are friendly and the breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Paul A
Thank you for your kind comments - the staff are really appreciative of your feedback.
We are due to start a refurbishment of the hotel in the autumn and we are taking into account all our guest feedback, however due to the age and history of the hotel we have yet to confirm a start date.
Thank you again
Kind regards
Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

495 - 501 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

Room Tip: When ordering breakfast, they take your order exactly: sausage and egg gets you precisely one sausag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
Thank Christopher_Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 June 2014

First time visit to Oxford. The hotel was right on High Street and only a 10/15 minute walk into town centre. DO NOT USE SAT NAV to get here. It takes you into north of city and through gated streets therefore you have to turn back, luckily I had printed off street map so eventually could find put where we were in relation to hotel and we found our way using the old fashioned method.
Small narrow entry to car park. We had pre booked this sat gone of booking. . £15.00 a night but there is no where else to park your car so has to be paid. Our room was on second floor and on corner so had good view of all the goings on on a High Street. Bed very comfortable, nice large TV, tea making facilities and a fridge so we purchased fresh milk as dislike the uht that you always have these days in hotels. The room was very 'tired', the bathroom had a bad leak when YouTube the shower on and the paint on bath panel was peeling off. Apparently though hotel bring refurbished in autumn. Breakfast was okay when you got it. . . . Very slow in taking order for cooked selection. Lots of tables still had dirty plates etc on. . . Not cleared so both mornings only one table available to us. Although four staff running around. . . Not sure what they were all to though.t

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barnabasbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for your constructive comments following your recent stay at the Mercure Oxford Eastgate, I am afraid Oxford is not an easy city to travel in by car due to the number of cyclists and various one way roads.
The hotel is due to start a refurbishment in the autumn, however due to the age and history fo the hotel we have yet to confirm a start date and we have taken note of your constuctive comments when we do start the refurbishment programme.
I do apologise for the delay in breakfast, we have a fairly new team and they are still in the learning process.
Regards, Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

When staying in Oxford, England, this is the place, located in the heart of the colleges and close to the center of town. They have on site parking (small charge), a great full English breakfast (again a charge, but well worth it), and are very clean. The front desk could not have been any more helpful, and all the services were GREAT!

Should we ever visit Oxford again we will definitely stay here!

Room Tip: We stayed facing the back, looking at the parking lot rather then the street thinking it would be qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Bruce R
Thank you very much for your feedback, the team were greatly appreciative and look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel.
Kind Regards
Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Hottest night of the year and the air con was useless and the fridge was broken! Complained and the maintenance guy simple said it's not broken it's just not very good! Give this one a miss, trust me !

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Paul M
Thank you for your constructive comments on the lack of air conditioning and a working fridge in your bedroom following your recent stay at the Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel. I have instructed our maintenance engineer to do a full survey of the mini-bar fridges and air-con with the recent exceptional weather we have being experiencing.
He is not yet completed all the bedrooms but we are already looking at replacing some of the fridges and an engineer is on call for the air conditioning.
I do apologise for the heat you encountered during your stay, your concerns have been noted
Kind Regards
Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a nice corporate hotel, but I was shocked by the unprofessional service I received at the bar. I politely asked the bartender, Philip (?), for a bucket of ice. I needed the ice for a knee injury. He said that there were no buckets of ice, so he gave me a small glass with ice. I went back to my room and went downstairs again to get another small glass of ice. When he saw me the second time, the bartender exploded. He started bollocking me in front of the front desk person (Georgia), and then in front of the night manager. I felt bad because they felt embarrassed by his behaviour. Eventually I got a bucket with ice. Since that incident I felt intimidated and hesitated to go downstairs again. Please, do not ask for a bucket of ice at this hotel, you will risk the wrath of the bartender...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dera Lawrence 23

Thank you again for your feedack.
Following your earlier email and my subsequent telephone call to you.
This is very much an isolated incident and I have given you my assurances that the matter will be dealt with.
I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Iain Waite GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

On arrival at the hotel, we managed to park in the hotel car park which was very convenient. Reception staff very pleasant and helpful, they offered us an upgrade for £15.00 which we accepted. The room was small but the amenities within were excellent. Love the coffee machine together with the tea and coffee tray. Nice touch and it meant we could have proper coffee on our return from dinner. Reception organised taxis for us which was very efficient. Breakfast in the restaurant was good. I ordered poached eggs which were lovely and arrived very fast. I think overall it was value for money and I would return. We had room 203, as I said, small but perfectly formed and a lovely bathroom.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TomsGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Atinkerbel,
Thank you for your very posive comments following your stay with us.
Kind Regards

Iain Waite GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
2.8 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,215 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
727 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Eastgate Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Eastgate Oxford

Address: 73 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £115 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Eastgate Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 17th Century coaching inn, this 4 star hotel has 63 en suite rooms. The hotel is ideally situated for visiting the historic colleges as well as participating in the year round entertainment, including open air plays, river punting and the May Day celebrations. The main shopping area is nearby. Facilities are available for breakfast only. The hotel is easily accessible via M40, pay parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Eastgate Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Eastgate Oxford Hotel Oxford
Accor Eastgate Oxford
Mercure Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing