We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,218)
Filter reviews
1,218 results
Traveller rating
293
486
294
95
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
293
486
294
95
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh streetcar parkprivilege roommerton collegemarco pierre whiteold buildingcentral locationthird floorreception staffper dayexcellent locationeggs benedictnespresso machineon site parkingno liftbreakfast was excellentcomfortable hotel
Filter
Updating list...
588 - 593 of 1,218 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed Sunday night. Room was quiet with a good view over College buildings. Breakfast was very good. We did not take evening meal in the hotel because we were out with friends. Our friends had pre-booked a parking space.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Carley Smith
Thank you for your kind comments, they are greatly appreciated by the team, and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Oxford Eastgate Townhouse in the future. Kind regards, Peter Watt, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights when having a short break in Oxford. The location of this hotel is great, it was close to everywhere we wanted to visit. The temperature in the room I was given was ridiculous, really hot and stuffy. I tried the air con but it hardly worked. I went to find out if there was any chance of changing to another room. The lady on reception was very helpful and showed me two different rooms, one of which I took. This room was better. The room itself was a bit dated but I did find it comfortable enough. They have friendly staff, a nice bar area and a fancy restaurant. I wasn't too impressed with the breakfast portions as they only gave us one sausage each, what's all that about? Ha ha. We enjoyed our stay here...nice hotel!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your constructive feedback, I am afraid that some of our rooms are in daylight for a number of hours and can be quite hot on arrival - we do however have air conditioning and the windows will open. We are at present re-looking at our breakfast presenation and standards.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back, again thank you for your kind comments
Regards
Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed here for my wedding anniversary in one of the executive rooms. The location cannot be faulted and on a sunny day oxford is truly stunning. The room however is still quite small and the interior of the hotel all round needs a bit of TLC. The staff however are friendly and the breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Paul A
Thank you for your kind comments - the staff are really appreciative of your feedback.
We are due to start a refurbishment of the hotel in the autumn and we are taking into account all our guest feedback, however due to the age and history of the hotel we have yet to confirm a start date.
Thank you again
Kind regards
Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Room Tip: When ordering breakfast, they take your order exactly: sausage and egg gets you precisely one sausage and one egg.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 June 2014

First time visit to Oxford. The hotel was right on High Street and only a 10/15 minute walk into town centre. DO NOT USE SAT NAV to get here. It takes you into north of city and through gated streets therefore you have to turn back, luckily I had printed off street map so eventually could find put where we were in relation to hotel and we found our way using the old fashioned method.
Small narrow entry to car park. We had pre booked this sat gone of booking. . £15.00 a night but there is no where else to park your car so has to be paid. Our room was on second floor and on corner so had good view of all the goings on on a High Street. Bed very comfortable, nice large TV, tea making facilities and a fridge so we purchased fresh milk as dislike the uht that you always have these days in hotels. The room was very 'tired', the bathroom had a bad leak when YouTube the shower on and the paint on bath panel was peeling off. Apparently though hotel bring refurbished in autumn. Breakfast was okay when you got it. . . . Very slow in taking order for cooked selection. Lots of tables still had dirty plates etc on. . . Not cleared so both mornings only one table available to us. Although four staff running around. . . Not sure what they were all to though.t

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barnabasbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for your constructive comments following your recent stay at the Mercure Oxford Eastgate, I am afraid Oxford is not an easy city to travel in by car due to the number of cyclists and various one way roads.
The hotel is due to start a refurbishment in the autumn, however due to the age and history fo the hotel we have yet to confirm a start date and we have taken note of your constuctive comments when we do start the refurbishment programme.
I do apologise for the delay in breakfast, we have a fairly new team and they are still in the learning process.
Regards, Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews