We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,218)
Filter reviews
1,218 results
Traveller rating
293
486
294
95
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
293
486
294
95
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh streetcar parkprivilege roommerton collegemarco pierre whiteold buildingcentral locationthird floorreception staffper dayexcellent locationeggs benedictnespresso machineon site parkingno liftbreakfast was excellentcomfortable hotel
Filter
Updating list...
573 - 578 of 1,218 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

PROS:
Location: Less than a block from the High Street; Taylor's less than a block away for the morning coffee or pastry run; X90 bus and Oxford Tube bus stops one block away.
Staff: We had a late change of plan requiring our adult daughter to stay with us. They responded the same day, upsizing our room and providing a twin bed for only an additional 20 GBR per night. Once there we didn't need any further assistance but they were friendly.
Noise level: Far enough from the High Street where we didn't hear noise from buses. We did hear the people walking loudly on the floor above us once or twice, but otherwise the sound insulation was good.
Beds: Very comfortable; we slept like logs.
Climate control: Air conditioner kept room cool enough to sleep, 68 degrees F. I know A/C in Europe is not universal, but the whole week was 80 degrees outdoors, so A/C was very welcome.
Bath towels: Nice fluffy absorbent towels, not thin dish cloths.
Value: This was booked through our travel agent who informed us that similarly rated hotels in Oxford were more expensive.

CONS:
Keys: Those credit card door keys were very finicky; if you slide them in too fast or too slow they don't work.
Bathtub/shower: The tub had one of those glass half doors that we Americans find ridiculous.
Plumbing: The pipes shook [loudly] unless the cold water faucet of the sink ran at either a trickle or a gush. Any rate of flow in between made them rattle.
Decor: It is a typical old European property with many coats of paint and slightly worn furniture and drapery.
Elevator: Tiny 3 ft x 4 ft, would allow only two people with luggage.
Halls and stairways: Quite narrow, typical for Europe.

NOT RATED:
Food and bar: We did not use them, so these are not evaluated. We opted out of the breakfast because of the price and because we don't eat much breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank philly_suburbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Philly Suburbs
Thank you for your constructive and in depth feedback, greatly appreciated as we are starting a refurbishment of thye hotel from September, this year onwards.
I have taken on board all your concerns and please be assured that we have addressed the water pressure in the bedrooms, however due to the age and history of the building we are looking at the constraints with the actual size of certain areas.
Thank you again for your excellent feedback and I trust you had a safe journey back to America.
With kind regards
Peter Watt
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Breakfast closed before 7:30 !
They charge the room upon arrival
Good reception team
Very old bed
The flush of toilet does not work very well
Very good location, walking distance to almost all colleges


  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Chris F
Thank you for your constructive feedback and my apologies for the lapse in standards that you encountered duriung your recent stay.
We are due to start a refurbishment of the hotel bedrooms in September, the first 2 pilot rooms and from November onwards the remaining bedrooms, and your feedback will be taken into account.
The opening times for breakfast is 7.30am opening on a weekend, and 6.30am on week days, I am very sorry if this was not the case, I have asked my colleague to ensure that these times are adhered to.
With kind regards
Peter Watt
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Needed somewhere to stay, for attending a Christening at Merton College Chapel. Couldn't have picked a better spot. Only 150 yards away, just off High street. Close to all the shops if you want a bit of retail therapy. Surrounded by all the Colleges. Check-in was very good. Had phoned hotel a few days before to see if we could have an earlier check-in, to be told she would try her best for us, when we arrived. She duly delivered. All of the staff were very friendly and accommodating. We booked two rooms. One double and one single. Rooms were a little small. However, as all of the hotels are in old buildings, in the centre of town, we expected this. Bathroom large enough. Nicely decorated. Both beautifully clean. Nice comfortable bar area. Aircon was not that great. But luckily the weather was not that hot when we stayed. The receptionist was very helpful, in that she offered us another room, in that some previous guests thought the aircon pipework outside the windows was a bit noisy. But we took the room as we had to get ready to get out. I had read this from a previous reviewer, but to be honest it didn't cause us any problems. Just a bit of a hum in the background. Breakfast the following morning was very good. Staff there again very good. Checkout was a bit slow, as only one person on reception. Car-park at rear of hotel was very handy. Would recommend and return. Well done Mercure Eastgate.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank slewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Slewi
Thank you very much for your kind comments - greatly appreciated by the team, a good morale boost.
I have noted your constructive comments on the air conditioning in the hotel, they have now adjusted the system so that is working at 100%, I apologise if this was not the case when you stayed.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Kind Regards
Peter Watt
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This turned out to be a better experience than we expected.
With the exception of no water soon after we checked in everything else about our stay was
Satisfactory.
The room was cozy and the air condition worked well
We ate breakfast at the hotel which was excellent
The staff were exceptional and went out of their way to answer our questions and meet our needs.
I'm sure that once the renovation is completed this will be an even better hotel
The location is excellent for restaurants and all tourist locations
As travel agents we would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for room on high floor on side without elevator The AC is better
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bradyboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear BradyBoy2
Thank you for your kind feedback, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and visit to Oxford.
I am afraid there was no water for a short period of time on your arrival due to a technical hitch which is now 100% all fixed.
We are now as ateam looking forward to the renovation happening, our 2 oilot rooms are being completed next month and we will be able to show our guests their future expectations.
In closing I thank you for your kind words on the team, greatly appreciated and a huge morale boost.
With kind regards
Peter Watt
MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Attended a wedding in Oxford - found the staff to be very attentive and helpful which more than compensated for the tinny rooms that are in desperate need for refurbishment. Quaint entrance bar and restuarant area. Very difficult to find but conveniently located in the city centre.
Over priced for a typical 3 star Hotel. Certainly not to the usual standard of Mercure branded hotels that I have stayed in UK and mainland Europe.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the ground floor rooms - too much noise from the car park
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NigelM89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Nazzer
Thank you for your feedback and your kind words on the helpfulness of the staff, greatly appreciated and a huge morale boost.
We are due to start a refurbishment of the hotel bedrooms, and we have now received confirmation that the 2 pilot rooms will completed next month. This is later than was originally planned, the hotel is over 250 years old and we have to meet all the rules and regulations of English Heritage and the university. We have a date and are working towards a new hotel at the beginning of 2015.
With kind regards
Peter Watt
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews