We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$151
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/10/21
Booking.com
US$136
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/10/21
Hotels.com
US$151
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/10/21
PricelineUS$151
MercureUS$151
eDreamsUS$136
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,532)
Filter reviews
1,533 results
Traveller rating
444
568
342
114
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
444
568
342
114
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high street privilege room car park merton college old building central location excellent location eggs benedict within easy walking distance comfortable hotel centre of town cooked breakfast examination england pubs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
246 - 251 of 1,533 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2019

Beautiful hotel with very helpful friendly staff. ( every one of them ).We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this stylish friendly hotel. Breakfast was very good including a great ala carts menu.
Would definitely recommend this hotel and you certainly need not look any further.
We were treated vey special and would definitely stay there again. My wife and I loved it.

Room tip: We had a standard room that was more than adequate.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FacebookGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterWatt, General Manager at Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2019

Dear FacebookGB

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel.

Oxford is a busy and vibrant city, with very few rooms in the city centre and we are the smallest of the hotel located in the city centre, and surrounded by the various college of Oxford University and directly opposite the main examination hall.

We have now moved into our new restaurant - Keepers Kitchen and Bar, which is totally different from before and we are enjoying the new environment along with the challenges of a new layout.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we trust you both enjoy the remainder of your holiday in the UK prior to return home.

Kind regards

Peter Watt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2019 via mobile

This hotel is in a stunning location but this was a bit of a disappointing visit. We were greeted by a very nice receptionist who explained that the car park would only be available on the first day and that we would need to park elsewhere in town on day two. We paid to upgrade to a ‘prestige’ room. Unfortunately there was no hot water at all. We did not alert staff as we did not wish to have to move rooms. The TV had limited channels. The influx of a big coach party caused the kitchen staff to be pushed on the first day and the croissants were rather tired! Would not return to this hotel.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank takeabreakaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterWatt, General Manager at Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2019

Dear takeabreakaway

Thank you for your recent review and my apologies for the delay in responding.

I do apologise for the lack of cold water that you experienced on the last night and morning of your departure, we had not been aware of any issue until the early morning of your last day. The gas solenoide valve, which supplies the gas to the boilers in the hotel failed, resulting in the hot water system stopping and only cold water being available, sorry. On arrival at the hotel on Tuesday morning, we checked the system and realised there was a fault - called out main contractor who by 5 o'clock last night managed to get the system up and running having investigated the issue and then driven 3 hours to retrieve a new part, We had hot water, I am so sorry that we could not explain this at the time.

I am very embarrassed and upset that you had a delay in breakfast and the standard of croissant was not good, I have spoken to the head chef and it would appear that his breakfast chef had misread the amount of breakfasts and not prepared enough items in advance, please be assured that he has been spoken to and re-train on how to read the internal breakfast sheets.

We have taken on board your concerns and have spoken to the relevant personnel.

We trust you enjoyed the sights of Oxford and had a safe journey home.

Yours sincerely

Peter Watt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2019 via mobile

The Mecure Eastgate is, don’t get me wrong, fine. Our room was clean, contemporary and functional. Ok, it was small, but we knew that it would be prior to arrival. The person we assume to be the manager was friendly and helpful. Reception staff were ambivalent... no friendly “hello’s” when you walk through door... just efficient service. One night we came back from dinner and thought that we would sit in the adjoining bar and have a cocktail before bed (it was 21:30 on a Friday night after all!), we were asked to sit in the very quiet hotel lounge instead as they were setting up for breakfast... not the same atmosphere at all.
In the bedrooms, there are no drawers which would be helpful to store clothes in if you are staying a couple of nights or more. Similarly I’d expect robes in the bathroom.
And it’s exactly that that I feel it’s missing... the little things that are needed to set it apart as a four star.
Another example of this would be the fact that the in-room refreshments consisted of two naff/ cheap instant sachets, two teabags and UHT milk, where every other four star hotel I’ve stayed in recently has provided a coffee pod machine and fresh milk in the fridge. That’s not to say we didn’t get any fresh milk, the manager cheerfully got us a pint (thank you!) when we asked for some... but we had to ask.
When we ran out of our allocated two teabags(!) twice on our three night stay, we requested more at reception, and were given both times just another two. It just seemed... stingy. Heaven forbid that there were biscuits or hot chocolate available in your room, let alone the decanter of gin that was provided in another four star we stayed in recently!
These all may seem like I’m being picky... but we paid £180 a night for a room here, which didn’t include breakfast. The location was fantastic, which was why we chose it... right in the heart of Oxford, and for this we were not disappointed, but I’m puzzled as to how this hotel got its rating. To me, these little details are necessary if you are expecting customers to fork out this sort of money... regardless of the location. Mecure, I do think you need to pull your finger out if you want to stay relevant... you can do better!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank beachc0mber_pearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, Manager at Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2019

Dear beachc0mber_pearl

Many thanks for your review during your stay with us at the Eastgate Hotel.

I have spoken to my Front of House team to re-iterated the importance of friendly customer service and to offer more than the bare minimum when our guests request additional tea and coffee items. I have also passed your comments on to our Restaurant team as you should have been able to make use of the Keepers Bar.

We do advertise our Privilege Bedrooms on our website and the website used to make your reservation and these room, although carrying a supplement charge, do offer the use of bathrobes, slippers, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary soft drinks.

Oxford is a very popular tourist destination and as such, rates are affected throughout the city. We do however keep our rates in line with our placement in the Oxford market place.

I am very sorry that we weren’t given the opportunity to address these issues with you during your stay as myself and General Manager were on site during your stay.

Kind Regards
Malcolm Hood
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2019

comfortable hotel in great oxford location, and (importantly) has AC! Espresso machine in the ‘privilege’ rooms, and fantastic shower head in the bathroom (+ plenty of counter space). Has a closet and iron etc too. V accommodating staff. Was very comfortable for a week long stay.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Abbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterWatt, General Manager at Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2019

Dear Abbie,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel.

Oxford is a busy and vibrant city, with very few rooms in the city centre and we are the smallest and least expensive of the hotel located in the city centre.

We have now moved into our new restaurant - Keepers Kitchen and Bar, which is totally different from before and we are enjoying the new environment along with the challenges of a new layout.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we trust you had a safe journey home

Kind regards

Peter Watt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2019 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel many times before as both our children were studying at Oxford. This time we were visiting for my son’s graduation and also my birthday. We have always been pleased with the hotel and this time was no exception. We were pleasantly surprised to have received an upgrade to the Ruskin suite, which was fabulous - very comfortable bed, lovely bathroom and large room. The room was very beautiful. The location is excellent - it’s right off the High Street. They have their own car park or it is under 10 minutes from the station by car. All the sites of Oxford are on the doorstep. The hotel is always clean and comfortable and the staff are always welcoming and very professional.

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank 13lizw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterWatt, General Manager at Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2019

Dear 13Lizw

Thank you very much for your kind review following your recent stay at the hotel.

I trust you had an enjoyable birthday and a great day celebraing your son's graduation, a brilliant achievement. Please do pass on our warmest congratulations.

Oxford is a beautiful city and we are ideally located in the centre and surrounded by the wonderful of Oxfer University and its various colleges.

The Ruskin Suite is a lovely suite based on a DON's Study with all the nostalia of the city and the university.

Thank you again for your kind words, a great morale boost for the team and really appreciated

Kind regards

Peter Watt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews