We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
8
32
28
22
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
32
28
22
31
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2014

17th century coaching inn, which now finds itself on top of a busy main route into Oxford.
Very welcoming once you are inside though, which includes the friendly and helpful staff…the landlord had most kindly even planned a route map for me to use the next day in order to travel to an interview!
I stayed in room 5, which is really nicely refurbished in style to complement the character of the inn. However, the wifi is very unreliable in this room…keeps dropping the signal constantly. I would suggest that if you are visiting on business that you ask for a lower floor, where maybe the wifi would have a better signal. (As an emergency, "Subway" across the road have perfect wifi signal).
Apart from the wifi issue, you really can't fault this inn. It's very conveniently situated for Oxford City Centre, and the fact that it has it's own car park is a bonus. Substantial breakfast too.

Date of stay: March 2014
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank FrogBurton_on_trent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The lights of the room were not working. We asked the service to repair it, the day put off the reparation. Finally they did not repair it in 5 days!!! The hotel was clean, but a little noise. It's well connected to the city center.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ausas c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Almost centre of Oxford, lovely and very clean room however the rest of the hotel could do with a make over. Had booked 2 nights. This has got 4 stars from the tourist board how I don't know, I would give it a good 2 stars.

Pros: Good location
Very nice and clean room
Free cark park

Cons: Rest of hotel needs make over - dirty old carpets in hall especially
Is a pub with rooms above it - so no reception, reception is the bar and the bar man.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The Old Black Horse is not really a hotel, more rooms over a pub.

It is in an excellent location, a few minutes walk from the city centre. It also has a car park. Hotels in Oxford that have parking tend to be very expensive or a distance out from the centre. The location and parking are therefore two big positives about the OBH.

Our room (room 5, at the front on the top floor) was newly decorated and had a really good shower installed.

There weren't many staff, but the ones we encountered were very friendly.

There were some negatives though. The pub is on a busy main road, so it is noisy at night. I appreciate they can't help this, but there are other issues that are within their control. The busy road is always going to be there so you'd think that the management would ensure that everything else about the accommodation was spot on, sadly it wasn't.

There was evidence of cost-cutting everywhere.

Breakfast was a big let down. The menu referred to a range of fruit juices. There was one option, some sort of mixed fruit juice, which was watered down. The menu also promised cereal. There was cereal, but the options were cornflakes, rice crispies and weetabix, the three most basic everyday cereals - where was the luxury?!

The wifi was dreadful, we could barely get a signal in our room, sometimes it wouldn't connect at all.

In the room, we had to ask for milk, there was none on the tray, nor were there any biscuits, nor decaff coffee. Also the toilet paper was cheap.

The bed was comfortable but had a metal bedframe with an "end" that protruded above mattress height - no good for taller sleepers.

The hotel has sign outside saying that it has four stars, I would not consider this four star accommodation. It was telling that the certificate displayed inside awarding the four stars was from 2006.

It should also be noted that this is a very old building therefore the accommodation is not suitable for wheelchair users nor people with other mobility difficulties, there are narrow stairs and low ceilings and there is no lift.

All in all the Old Black Horse is a cheap (relative to other Oxford hotel prices) and cheerful option, just don't expect any frills or luxuries.

Room tip: Ask for one of the rooms not overlooking the road, they should be quieter.
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julestri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The Old Black Horse is a 10 minute walk in to the town centre, free on site parking and a good breakfast. The building is old and the floors slopey but that is all part of the character. We were in Room 1 in the main building which is above the Public bar. There was loud music playing on the Friday night which kept us awake for a bit. We told the Manager this on Sunday morning when we were chatting to him before our departure, he was not happy about this so I gather the chap in charge of the bar that night should not have had the music cranked up. That was the only thing that ' blotted their copy book' for us. We had a lovely weekend.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kastell04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews