We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty Personified”
Review of Magdalen College

Magdalen College
Book In Advance
More Info
US$32.70*
and up
Oxford Bike Tour Including Full-Day Bike Hire
Ranked #9 of 177 things to do in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Please visit magd.ox.ac.uk
San Gabriel, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beauty Personified”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

What an elegant campus! The gardens are gorgeous and the people so friendly. In spite of a chilly drizzle we quite enjoyed our visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mimipjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    126
    27
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful and peaceful place in a busy city”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

In a city with tons of walking tourist, this college was quiet and nearly empty. We had plenty of time to wander, walk in the adjacent deer park (Dyson's walk). Beautiful architecture and the time to enjoy. Amazingly quiet inside the walls.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank maxine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“I would revisit again if in Oxford”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Thought it was certainly worth the visit. The Hall and Chapel were very interesting and we were lucky enough to happen on a private recital in the Chapel which added the icing on the cake. The grounds, meadows etc were beautiful and most restful.
The college is open to the public at a charge (reduced rate for seniors) from 13.00 daily. I would suggest visiting the Botanical Gardens which are across the road first (also reduced for seniors) and then going to Magdalen. There is a nice little cafe in the college where one can get a good lunch at a very reasonable cost. There are tables outside the cafe overlooking the river and it is very pleasant.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishsquashplayerST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutchinson, Kansas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Skip it”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were only allowed to see the outside of the buildings. This was definitely not worth the entrance fee. We also ate at the small cafe with riverside seating. The seating area was nice, and the food was okay. I would not bother.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Visit the Meadow”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We visited Magdalen College in early April. I believe the students were on break so unfortunately we were not able to see any wearing their robes. The buildings were beautiful but my favorite part was the meadow. All the Spring flowers were in bloom, including a rare Snakes Head Fritillary. Another nearby field had deer grazing in it. This was the only college we visited so we can't compare it to any others, although the guide book said this was the most beautiful.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank EastCoastRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Magdalen College also viewed

 

Been to Magdalen College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing