We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home made sausages YES !”
Review of St Giles' Cafe

St Giles' Cafe
Ranked #100 of 640 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$27
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 18 August 2014

only popped in when i saw the sign for home made sausages - had a sausage sandwich and a cup of tea. sausages were perfect blend of meat and spices and the bread was crusty and chunky. brown sauce. Cuupa proper tea leaves. it was very busy and they copped well and were very friendly even with a coiuple that only wanted coffee at bust lunch time. seemed to be a few regulars as well as visitors & tourists who all seemed to be enjoying what ever they had.

2  Thank keefyisback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
There are newer reviews for St Giles' Cafe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 131 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Menu was great and the food excellent, try the kedgeree! Wish we could have gone to a candlelit dinner.

2  Thank Tina0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

I was very much astounded at how tiny the food portions were compared to the cost. The interior was tidy but cramped and the only staff person working at service on a Saturday night was efficient and friendly. The menu descriptions and pictures belay the meagre rations unfortunately.

2  Thank Mikelion0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baz B, Owner at St Giles' Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Hi Mike, thanks for the feedback. Hopefully you can see from my reply to the post below that we got our portion sizes wrong on our first weekend of our new Spanish / Argentine menu for which I apologise. Believe me it's so not our thing to dissatisfy our customers on quantity of food served. Assuming you enjoyed the quality of our food, I would like to offer you the opportunity to come
back and have your dinner again on me. If you are by any chance related to the previous reviewer then the offer applies to both of you. I can guarantee that you will not leave hungry! Please make contact via the email link on our website or just call me so that I can reserve you a table. Thanks and apologies again. Kind regards, Baz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I had a late breakfast/brunch here with my boyfriend and we both absolutely loved the English breakfast. All the ingredients tasted like they were fresh from the farm and the homemade sausage and bread was very good! We both had tea with our breakfasts (what's an English breakfast without tea?) and it was delicious, made from tea leaves- no tea bags there! The cafe recently reopened under new owners and it has nice, simple decorations and attentive, friendly staff. Definitely recommended for breakfast! Their lunch and dinner options also sounded good, we'd like to make a return trip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I chose St Giles cafe last night for our pre-theatre meal. We did not book, but were passing on our way to the theatre and took a chance. We did not think there would be a problem getting a table as there were only two other people dining (who turned out to be the patron's parents).

There was a special offer advertised on a board outside the restaurant - a pre-theatre meal of two courses for £14.50. We decided this would suit us and both chose starters and a main course. My boyfriend opted for the warm black pudding salad and I had the chilled salmorejo of beetroot to start. For our mains we both went for the corn fed chicken and hazelnut pesto, which was served with roasted sweet potato. We were given some lovely bread and butter while we waited for our food. When our starters came we were quite surprised how small they were. My soup only just covered the bottom of the bowl and my boyfriend's black pudding starter was only a couple of mouthfuls. I must say, however, that the soup was absolutely delicious and I would have loved more. At this point we did not realise that minute portions were the order of the day. Our main courses consisted of one small chicken leg each and about two slices of sweet potato cut into four. The chicken was delicious, but would not have satisfied my five year old granddaughter.

Whilst the ambience of the cafe and the friendliness of the patron were very good: nothing was too much trouble, we felt the portions were ridiculously small and this made what seemed like a very good deal anything but. We certainly will not be going there again, which is a shame because the food was very good. I must just add that the St Giles Cafe website is very misleading. The meals shown on the site are much larger than those actually served. All very disappointing

3  Thank Jennie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baz B, Owner at St Giles' Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Hello and thank you for your review . Thank you too for all the good things you've said about your visit on Saturday. To try and address your complaint please allow me a little context. This was the first week of our new Spanish / Argentine menu for which we were fully booked each evening. When we start a new menu we always try hard to balance the portion size and not least minimise food wastage. Obviously on this occasion we didn't get it right for you for which I apologise. We have as a matter of course increased our portions forthwith. With regard to your comment about the pictures on our website I must correct any assumption you may be making that these are misleading. Each picture shows the food actually served. We have not posted as yet any pictures as yet of our new menu but will be doing so and invite you to look at those in due course . I hope these might change your mind about returning one day and enjoying delicious food of the right quantity for you . Best wishes. Baz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St Giles' Cafe also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to St Giles' Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing