We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good museum of Oxford.”

Ashmolean Museum of Art and Archaeology
Book In Advance
More Info
US$52.86*
and up
Oxford Windsor and Eton Tour from Brighton
More Info
US$198.24*
and up
Private guided walking tour of Oxford
More Info
US$157.27*
and up
Christmas Lunch in the Cotswolds
Ranked #1 of 177 things to do in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Owner description: Oxford University's Ashmolean Museum of Art and Archaeology, established in 1683, is Britain’s oldest public museum and one of the oldest museums in the world.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Really good museum of Oxford.”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I visited Oxford about a year ago because a very good friend of mine was teaching there; lucky her! She visited me in Liverpool and loved the place, and I visited her in Oxford and I fell in love with place; I think Oxford definitely has that effect on some people. The pubs are excellent, the town centre is great to wander around and explore, the university is good to visit, but can be a bit expensive in my humble opinion and there are a few decent cafes and restaurants there; can be a little bit pricey again, but then it is the South of England after all.

I visited the Ashmolean after my friend told me about it, and was really glad I did; there's so much to see and do there and they have a cafe where you can buy coffee, tea and the like and light bites if you get a bit peckish halfway through your tour of the place. There's so many exhibits in there and apparently it's only a fraction of what is kept out of the public gaze simply because they haven't got the space to show it all; what a shame!

Anyway, any visit to Oxford must take in a visit to the Ashmolean; it's even free to get in; what more do you want?!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank StormBoy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,892
    1,023
    161
    29
    13
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Deganwy, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
163 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Ashmole”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

It always was superb, but the new building at the back makes it even better. There are treasures beyond number and beyond price to see. Your life is not complete until you have been there.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Peter Pedr J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinlough, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

A beautiful collection museum over three or more floors, recently refurbished and a pleasure to visit. A must see when in Oxford.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank denc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“june 2012”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Excellent experience. You'll need a whole day, but you can break it up with a coffee or snack in the cafe. Free entry too, but well worth a donation to keep it excellent! Good value in the cafe and gift shop.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank wendy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What a world of Richness!”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Take a whole day to explore here if you can! It's magnificent! Well arranged and interestingly explained, in a beautiful building that's light and airy. It covers the whole world of art before the modern period, but with a width and depth to inspire anyone. It's made so approachable that the experience is genuinely enriching without being intimidating.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank judemgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ashmolean Museum of Art and Archaeology also viewed

 

Been to Ashmolean Museum of Art and Archaeology? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing