We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Evenlode

The Evenlode
Ranked #488 of 627 Restaurants in Oxford
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located on the busy A40 inbetween Witney and Oxford. Serves good carvery along with full menu and also a kids menu. Great secure garden and kids area.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stopped off en route to Wales. It seemed acceptable - nothing special but adequate for our need for food on the run so to speak, The staff seemed welcoming and accommodating, so a good start. But the place was tired and the table was sticky. A portent of what was to come no less. We ordered liver and the steak and kidney pudding. Both were dire. The liver was cooked to within an inch of its life despite us asking for it to be cooked rare. The suet pudding was grossly overcooked - hard and resistant to a knife. The filling was very short on meat. Add to this (in both cases) frozen peas and suspiciously smooth. bland and tasteless mashed potato then you get the picture. The price was cheap lending truth to the maxim that you get what you pay for. We would not return and suggest you give it a wide berth.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank speakout13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    48
    33
    39
    103
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Witney, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gone to the dogs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

What a shame beautiful building, passing trade but that's all I can say, place is dire, dirty and needs a good clean, food is bland and customer service skills well maybe staff need training, all I can say is KEEP DRIVING better places to spend your well earned cash dissatisfied shame

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anamorphosis231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a pity”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Not at all busy but the service was SO SLOW (over half an hour to deliver 4 meals from their everyday menu) with one meal arriving 10 minutes later!! than the others.
To make it even worse, other than the meal that was late arriving (and obviously more freshly cooked) the other meal items were only just warm.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“rude staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

i went with my family of 7 to the evenload on a sunday evening for a carvery. we were shoved on a table for a six where there was no room to eat even though there were plenty of tables empty that would have seated us perfectly. the staff are all young with no table manners what so ever you could actually hear them swearing, laughing and joking at the door to the kitchen when we were all left waiting for our food with no explanation of why it was taking so long. as my mother and father are vegetarians they had to wait for a nut roast to be cooked seperatly they brought it out when we had all finished eating, went up to the carvery to find there was nothing there. by the time more food came the nut roast was stone cold and there was no potatoes at all. no apologies from the staff and the only option chips. when my mother and father were eating their cold carvery they brought out new food with plenty of potatoes (thought there wasn't any left) we were absolutely disgusted and we will never eat there again we only would if they employ older staff that are polite and willing to work.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We visited the Evenlode after a family day out.
We weren't looking for an a la carte meal and probably got what we paid for. But my god this place is the Pitts.
From tacky A4 signs stuck all over the walls advertising cleaners to the dated decor and awful waiting staff.

I won't bore you with describing the food.
Just don't bother. Keep on driving.

Helpful?
2 Thank Julia_Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Evenlode also viewed

Eynsham, Oxfordshire
 
Eynsham, Oxfordshire
Eynsham, Oxfordshire
 
Eynsham, Oxfordshire
Cassington, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Evenlode? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing