We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING STAFF!!! LOVELY HOTEL!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jurys Inn Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jurys Inn Oxford
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“AMAZING STAFF!!! LOVELY HOTEL!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

This hotel from check in to check out was faultless - the friendly and cheerful receptionist Sarah was an asset to your hotel she was so helpful and kind and definately deserves this recognition as were the 2 beauty therapists Sam and Libby (i think) all in all our stay was well catered for and felt that we were the only ones in the hotel thats how well the service was from room service to breakfast - all staff members we so attentive in all key aspects - will definately recommend this hotel to my family and friends!!

THANK YOU TO ALL FOR MAKING MY SPA WEEKEND ONE TO REMEMBER!!!!

Room Tip: no tip needed this hotel is amazing any room would be a pleasure to stay in
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmi26w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxfordgm1, General Manager at Jurys Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Thank you very much for this excellent review - everyone at The Oxford is delighted that your visit was a great one and that you wanted to compliment our friendly and helpful team. Great service attention makes all the difference and we thank you for all your comments. We all look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    509
    349
    159
    85
See reviews for
177
654
35
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Isle Of Wight
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

My family visited oxford during the half term school holiday and chose this Hotel because it represented good value and good location.
The hotel is very nice and comfortable but sadly some of the restaurant staff had difficulty in understanding English, we had booked and negotiated a two night bed and breakfast deal for 2 adults and three children, the deal included 2 adult meals in the restaurant on the first night so obviously we had to pay for the children's meals, at the end of the meal I was asked to sign the bill which included the price of the 2 adult meals, I pointed this out to our waitress who told us in broken English will be sorted on check out? I thought this was a little strange as we had stayed at the sister hotel The Hinckley Circle hotel and this never happened there.
I decided to keep a note of all drinks and meals As I just felt uncomfortable about this and low and behold on check out O was presented a bit that included the 2 adult meals that we had as per the deal and three child's breakfasts on both mornings which we had already paid for in advance.
I hate having to correct staff at checkout and having to justify my reasons for such a correction.
There where some very positive things about the Hotel , 99% of the staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel itself was a great base for sightseeing in Oxford.
It's a shame that what appears to be a interdepartmental communications issue soured our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrgrimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxfordgm1, General Manager at Jurys Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Thank you for all your comments - we all value and fully review all guest feedback and we appreciate the points you have made. Sorry for the frustration caused and thank you for your compliments about our friendly and helpful staff, the hotel generally, our good value and great location. We do hope that you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

In reviewing a hotel I think that the two main areas on which it is judged are, the rooms and the breakfast. The rooms in the Oxford, while neat and clean, are very small especially if you book online The members of our group who booked online got tiny rooms and those of us who booked directly got slightly larger ones. On evaluating rooms and bathrooms this is a three star hotel.
Breakfast is a buffet-style and I like this for cold dishes but when it comes to items like fried eggs I feel they should be freshly cooked. Another of my pet hates is the automatic coffee machine dispensing coffee tasting liquid. The minimum one should expect from a good hotel is freshly brewed coffee - leave the dispensers to the railway stations. The queues of people making their own toast and trying to get the coffee machines to work faster does not denote a four star hotel. This is a very popular hotel for meetings and conferences and it seems to have the facilities to cater adequately for this business. The location of the hotel is very convenient to Oxford. Staff are well-trained and pleasant. All in all a good hotel but when it claims 4 star status and only provides 3 star product, customers can be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrigaholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxfordgm1, General Manager at Jurys Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Many thanks for all your comments and observations. All Tripadvisor traveller feedback is highly valued and always fully reviewed. We are one of the City's largest and busiest hotels, offering a wide range of bedrooms and facilities. Thank you for complimenting the hotel generally, our staff, location and facilities. Our rooms and facilities are appropriate to our star rating and our new breakfast coffee machines offer a range of coffees served from good quality, freshly ground beans. We appreciate all your comments and hope you will indeed return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

The hotel provided everything required of a short stay. Close proximity to Oxford City centre, with bus connection outside front gate, only 10 minutes away. Rooms were small but clean with comfortable beds and very quiet if you specify a garden room. Health club was fine for a workout with addition of sauna, steam room and small pool. It even boasted squash courts if you want more energetic exercise. Staff helpful and efficient. Restauarant good if not a touch pricey. Breakfast excellent with a wide choice of really freshly prepared food constantly replenished. I liked the self serve coffee machines.

Room Tip: Garden Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxfordgm1, General Manager at Jurys Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Many thanks for your excellent review. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to The Oxford Hotel and that you wanted to compliment our location, cleanliness, leisure club, staff and food. Delighted that you found breakfast to be excellent and that you enjoyed our new coffee facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Positives:
- The staff were very friendly.
- The location, its easy to get into Oxford either by taxi (about an £8 fare) or bus (there is a stop 2 minutes away and a 24 hour ticket is just £4 and takes about 15 minutes to get into the City).
- Price was fair, £199 for two nights bed and breakfast with dinner on the first night.
- Public areas reasonably attractive.
- Breakfast buffet reasonable.
- Included dinner was okay, but wouldn't want to pay the £29 for 3 courses if not included as you can eat much better elsewhere.

Negatives:
- Rooms are very spread out and some are a bit of a distance from reception.
- Self service hot drinks caused a huge queue at breakfast as many of the older guests were struggling with how to use the machines.
- Air conditioning in room didn't work.

Overall a reasonable experience for the money and well done to the pleasant staff who always offered a friendly greeting which was appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MKFMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxfordgm1, General Manager at Jurys Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Thank you for all your comments - all Tripadvisor traveller feedback is highly valued and always fully reviewed. We all appreciate you complimenting our friendly staff, good location with easy bus access and our good value. We are one of the City's largest and busiest hotels and all our facilities are appropriate to our four star rating. Thank you for all your feedback and we do hope that you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

The main letdown of the hotel is the ageing fittings in the rooms. From the badly re-fitted shower enclosure, wonky cabinets and rickety glass sliding doors on the wardrobe, topped of by actually getting locked in the bathroom overnight. - Once the door was pulled shut there was not enough movement in the dilapidated door handle to open the latch again, not the best aid to a relaxing slumber having got up for a pee in the night.
When I eventualy managed to escape and let the staff know on checkout I'd have hoped an apology at least wouldn't be to much trouble, but was not forthcoming.

Breakfast was nothing special, pretty bog standard self service affair. Fine if you want to grab something in a hurry but nothing to wright home about, plus bit of a rugby scrum of guests at the conveyer belt toasters. I didn't opt for dinner as the set price menu looked pretty steep for what was on offer. (£29 for 3 courses). I'd recommend hopping on a bus to town where there are lots of eating places on offer.

The hotel is in a good location with easy access from the A34 and convenient bus links into town. The No. 6 runs from one of the neighbouring side streets into the town centre and you can buy a 24hr pass for £4 covering the whole city.

The hotel obviously gets a good deal of business from conferences and so forth, but I'd not want one of the rooms across from the aerobics class taking place in one corridor.

Room Tip: Check you won't get locked in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 86JamesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxfordgm1, General Manager at Jurys Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Thank you for all your comments - we are very sorry indeed to read of your issue with the door handle. Routine maintenance, repair and refresh work is always ongoing and we regret the incident you describe spoiling your experience here. Thank you for taking the time to compliment our location. As one of the City's larger hotels with a broad range of facilities and extensive event spaces we attract a wide range of business and leisure guests. We do hope that you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Carlsbad CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Our experience with The Oxford Hotel was marginal at best. I was staying for a week with The Oxford Hotel and arrived a day early. Through prior coordination, I had made a seperate reservation for our 1st night's stay directly through the hotel and used a third-party booker for the remaining seven days. The hotel had agreed through emails prior to my arrival to combine my two reservations and allow us to stay in the same room for the duration of our stay. Upon arriving, all of my prior coordination seemed to disappear and they had to change my room in order to allow us to stay in the same room for the entire druation of both reservations. Eveything seemed good until we left the hotel the next morning and returned only to find our electronic keys had been deactivated. To our luck, the maid happened to be on our floor and without question, opened the door to our room so we could get in. I was a little concerned that she never asked for identification or verified we were staying in the hotel. Upon going down to the front desk, they reactivated my keys and said everything was fine.
Later the same night around midnight, we received a phone call from the front desk asking who we were as they had no record of anyone staying in the room we were in. I explained the situation and they said we were good. The following day, we left the hotel to sightsee and when we returned, our keys had been deactivated again. Went through the same process with the front desk and this time they finally figured everything out.
We also noticed the front desk staff was very un-responsive when calling down from our room. The phone often rang for minutes on end with no answer. One time, while standing at the front desk, we witnessed the front desk staff ignore the phones while ringing only to pick it up after two minutes and hang it up.
I guess it was no surprise when we received our bill at check-out only to find a night was missing off the receipt and the room rate did not match what we paid.

The rooms were a little small, so recommend paying a little extra money for the deleux room as it offers more space. Furnishing were not bad and the remainder of the hotel seemed ok.

Maybe we just had a bad experience or had the wrong expectations about customer service.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank murkna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxfordgm1, General Manager at Jurys Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Thank you for all your comments. We are all very sorry to read of the confusion that seemed to spoil an otherwise enjoyable visit. Thank you for your positive comments too. We regret the frustration caused by your bookings not being coordinated as you had planned and the errors made here, as this should all have been easily resolved and the continued confusion avoided. Situations like this are certainly not at all normal here and we apologise for the poor impression given. We do hope that you will indeed return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
5.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#9 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel
2.6 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Oxford

Property: Jurys Inn Oxford
Address: Godstow Road, Oxford OX2 8AL, England (Formerly The Oxford Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Jurys Inn Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Oxford Hotel and Conference Venue has undergone a fantastic £10.8 million transformation in 2016. Enhancements to the property include 240 brand new bedrooms with DREAM bed by Jurys Inn, including Executive Bedrooms with added perks. The hotel's conference facilities have also been refurbished now accommodating up to 350 people in 20 meeting and function rooms across the property. The hotel also boasts an all-day Costa Coffee bar, a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill and 250 complimentary parking spaces. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel, which is conveniently located just 3 miles outside Oxford city centre with excellent transport links to London. Please note that the final phase of the refurbishment to our Juvenate Health and Leisure club will take place in February. To accommodate this work, the pool area will be closed from the 7th February for approx. 3 weeks. All other facilities within our new Health and Leisure club will be open and available as normal. We apologise for any inconvenience caused. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, JurysInn, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Jurys Inn Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Oxford Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing