We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal short stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jurys Inn Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jurys Inn Oxford
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Oxford
1 review
“Ideal short stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Good hotel. Clean comfortable rooms and excellent service. Well placed for visiting Oxford and convenient access to M40 for local attractions. Pleasant evening dining facilities with good food and efficient service. Varied selection of self-service hot and cold food at breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel H, Manager at Jurys Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience here at The Oxford Hotel.

Nigel Hadfield
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    506
    349
    159
    85
See reviews for
177
650
35
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed at the Oxford Hotel on a special break deal - we paid £169 for two nights bed and breakfast, plus dinner on the first night and afternoon tea on the second day - a daily newspaper is also included each day delivered to your room. This hotel is located 3 miles north of Oxford - just off the A40. You can catch a bus into central oxford just around the corner from the hotel - 3 minutes walk £3.40 return - it takes around 10 minutes. The hotel is a modern building, nothing special to look at but it serves its purpose perfectly. Reception was friendly and welcoming. Our room (151) was more than adequate, clean and extremely comfortable, bathroom facilities good, tea/coffee/biscuits provided (and refreshed each day) - bed queen size and very comfy.
The breakfast was good quality, usual mix of fried and continental choices - fish option you have to pay an extra £3.50. The dinner on our first night was limited in choice, you could pay extra if you wanted to dine a la carte, but the quality of food was good but not over generous with portion sizes. Afternoon tea on the second day was lovely, 4 choice sandwich selection and three small cakes each - lovely.
We didn't have time to use, or even view the leisure facilities so unfortunately cannot comment.
The Oxford Hotel is an excellent choice if you want to visit Oxford and its surrounds, would recommend and certainly return again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel H, Manager at Jurys Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay and dining experience here at The Oxford Hotel, we are delighted to receive such feedback and proud to be recognised with an AA Rosette for our dining room.
We look forward to welcoming you back as a valued guest on a future occasion.

Nigel Hadfield
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Please phone in advance as they do not honour their advertised deals!! I had booked on line and also phoned the Hotel directly well in advance and over at least 6 weeks prior to our arrival but found that someone had downgraded us from a premium room deal (which I had paid extra for) to a standard room!! They had no rooms left to re instate our premium rooms.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank avidoc007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel H, Manager at Jurys Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we acknowledge your comments and are deeply sorry for the inconvenience and negative affect this had on your stay with us.

I am happy to confirm that we have just invested in a new piece of software to automate the link between our reservations system and 3rd party websites which will reduce the potential for the hotel to become over booked on a particular room category.

We are grateful for your feedback, along with other past guests; it is through this feedback like this that we are able to make improvements to the business.

Nigel Hadfield
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived on Saturday the 12th of April, check in was easy.. Finding the room was a different story.. They pointed to where ALL the rooms where and said all the rooms are down the corridor, no directions or anything about what floor we were on, so wasn't easy to find, once we got into the room we noticed the window was open and room was freezing.. so tried to close the window which seemed to be broken as it just wouldn't shut! We went back downstairs and told them about the window at reception, when the man told us he would go up and do it in 5 minuets which wasn't a problem as we were going out to the town so search for a restaurant to go to for dinner that night.. After 1 hour and a half we got back to put hotel.. Walked into our room to our surprise it was still open and room was still freezing.. I wasn't walking all that way back down their so I called reception and told them AGAIN!! And then after 30 more minuets no one had come up! So I called and told them AGAIN.. Only over 2 hours from when we told them someone came up and finally closed it for us..


The room wasn't 4 star it was dirty/dusty and had a fag burn in the curtains.. Nice 4* quality nets! The wardrobe only had one door on the other was missing.. So couldn't shut our clothes and things away..

On the night they also had a party in one of their function rooms which blasted music till at least 12,

The swimming pool facilities were shocking they had 2 sun beds to put towels etc on and lay on. The pool was as big as our room.. (Tiny) again disappointing

The bar over charged us.. And didn't realise till we got back to the room and looked at the menu as was very expensive for what we had so I called up the reception explained the situation to them to hear that they would have to investigate.. In which they still hadn't called back or let me know until the next morning when I went to reception to ask what they were doing about it when no one again knew anything about it so they ended up just giving it off of the room price. Which was fair enough but that was only because I followed it up again..

This hotel defiantly was disappointing specially as it was me and my partners anniversary . All of this for 159 a night well I know where I will not be going again please stay away if u want a nice romantic get away!! Not the place for you!! Very disappointed really wanted it to be perfect!! But was far from it!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel H, Manager at Jurys Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we acknowledge your comments which will be investigated to avoid any repetition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

A good location for exploring Oxford, nice clean rooms, professional staff. Breakfast was very good, would stay again and soon. Spa was worth a visit even if the pool is a little small nice sauna and steam room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel H, Manager at Jurys Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience here at The Oxford Hotel.

Nigel Hadfield
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Very nice Hotel with friendly and highly efficient staffs. Food selection was great, good location, Good Leisure and spa facilities.
This hotel is more suitable for business customers but still very good in meeting non-business users needs.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel H, Manager at Jurys Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience here at The Oxford Hotel.

Nigel Hadfield
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Very welcoming friendly receptionist. Directions to room was easy to follow, room very spacious and clean, restaurant/bar food excellent, all staff were attentive. We felt so relax will defiantly return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel H, Manager at Jurys Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience here at The Oxford Hotel. The team were delighted to receive your recognition of their service, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Oxford Hotel on the next occasion.

Nigel Hadfield
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
5.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#10 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Oxford

Property: Jurys Inn Oxford
Address: Godstow Road, Oxford OX2 8AL, England (Formerly The Oxford Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Jurys Inn Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Oxford Hotel and Conference Venue has undergone a fantastic £10.8 million transformation in 2016. Enhancements to the property include 240 brand new bedrooms with DREAM bed by Jurys Inn, including Executive Bedrooms with added perks. The hotel's conference facilities have also been refurbished now accommodating up to 350 people in 20 meeting and function rooms across the property. The hotel also boasts an all-day Costa Coffee bar, a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill and 250 complimentary parking spaces. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel, which is conveniently located just 3 miles outside Oxford city centre with excellent transport links to London. Please note that the final phase of the refurbishment to our Juvenate Health and Leisure club will take place in February. To accommodate this work, the pool area will be closed from the 7th February for approx. 3 weeks. All other facilities within our new Health and Leisure club will be open and available as normal. We apologise for any inconvenience caused. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, JurysInn, Hotelopia, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK and Hotels.com so you can book your Jurys Inn Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Oxford Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing