We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average ” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jurys Inn Oxford

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Jurys Inn Oxford
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile


I stayed for one night with my family for a visit to Oxford.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and welcoming. The rooms were nice, with good bathing facilities and bedding. I especially liked the comfortable pillows.

However, my family and I found the dinner to be of a low quality. Despite the friendly staff, there were not many menu options and my food didn't arrive steaming hot. Additionally, my family and I could tell that some of the dishes came from the freezer (such as the desserts) and had been heated up. One of my family members starters arrived burnt which we found to be disappointing.

However, breakfast and the selections on offer for it the following morning definitely made up for it.

Another issue that we had was that the cleaning staff entered our rooms whilst we were in the middle of eating our breakfast. This was well before the check out time and we felt that our privacy had been breached. We also found this to be quite disappointing.

It would have been better if the cleaners came at their appointed times and not beforehand, as we were not ready to leave yet and had timed ourselves anyway so we could leave well on time. It was as if the hotel was eager to shift us out early to cater for their next guests.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank olivia364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel H, Manager at Jurys Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate the time you have spent providing this and will use as part of our continuous improvements.

Nigel Hadfield
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    512
    350
    159
    85
See reviews for
178
657
35
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Check in was slow, service at reception wasn't great or particularly friendly. Kingsize bed was two singles pushed together, therefore quite uncomfortable. Room was clean and very quiet. Food at breakfast was pretty poor, although dinner was good. Staff at checkout were much better. Overall, was an expensive hotel for an average experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel H, Manager at Jurys Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us, we are focused on improving the hotel facilities and service and your feedback will aid us in this goal.

Nigel Hadfield
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Twelve friends had a wedding at the local golf course at Witney. We offered to drive all of them in a mini bus. We read the reviews and decided to go for it. Especially being so close to the city centre. We did our research and a bus just outside of the gate. Ask at Reception we did. Two minute walk takes you straight into the centre. £3.00 or £4.00 which we chose for a 24hr ticket. Brilliant! We did the open top bus. Great. Then two or three traditional very old ale houses. Room clean normal size. You only sleep in it. Breakfast wonderful. All in all an all round great weekend. I would not hesitate to go back. We got a really good deal for a two night stay which is no doubt why we were some way from Reception. But not a problem. We both would not hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet as requested but the Receptionist insisted it was the only one available. We wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel H, Manager at Jurys Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience here at The Oxford Hotel.

Nigel Hadfield
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel was clean and the food good, but many little things let it down. ie
The dog bin outside was full and smelly.
The bar was not open and when it was, they could not find the keys so choice of drink limited.. There was no fridge or bottled water in the room.
The walls were thin as we could hear the person in the next room snoring

While the main things were ok such as the hotel being clean and serving good food, it did not seem like a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bert880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel H, Manager at Jurys Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us, we are focused on improving the hotel facilities and service and your feedback will aid us in this goal.

Nigel Hadfield
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Can't fault this hotel - free parking, modern facilities, excellent breakfast, friendly and efficient staff. Bar drinks expensive but on a par with other hotels. Regular bus service five minutes walk from the Hotel which takes you straight to the heart of Oxford. Would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel H, Manager at Jurys Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience here at The Oxford Hotel.

Nigel Hadfield
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Oxford Hotel is in a great location for sightseeing around the area of Oxford. When we booked this hotel for our anniversary we were made to believe it was within walking distance of the centre of Oxford where most of the attractions were, it isnt, it is aprox £8 taxi fare into the centre.
The hotel itself was excellent,accommodation,food and staff were brilliant.
We had an evening meal on our first night which was of high quality with an excellent selection.
Quite good value for money considering the high standard of the hotel.
The rooms were very spacious and very clean with a top bathroom.
We would return as the hotel was so nice and the staff were so helpfull,but it would be more for a base for the surrounding attractions.

Room Tip: Rooms are quieter when you face the centre part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel H, Manager at Jurys Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience here at The Oxford Hotel. Although we are not in downtown Oxford we are lucky to have a great location from which to explore not only Oxford but also Bicester Village and the surrounding area including the beautiful Cotswolds, we are also able to offer free secure car parking to guests unlike many of our competitors.

Nigel Hadfield
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I was a bit apprehensive after seeing some of the reviews but I got a good deal 3x rooms for myself and 5 other family members via superbreak which was very reasonable compared to other hotels in the centre of Oxford.

I will keep to the main points:-

Location
Just off the A34 which is good so you don't have to drive into the middle of Oxford and there is free parking which is a real bonus. It was about £10 for a taxi to the centre of Oxford but there are also easy bus links.

Rooms
Nicely furnished and clean. I didn't think that they were particularly small and yes they were a long walk from reception but it is a large hotel arranged on two floors so you would kind of expect that. If you have any mobility problems, I would suggest putting in a request for a ground floor close to reception. We requested all upper floor rooms which were close together and they hotel gave us exactly as we asked for. We managed to check in about 3:30 so not too bad.

Food:-

Contrary to other reviews, breakfast seemed quite good to me. Maybe some proper orange juice and pastries would have been good but the cooked breakfast and porridge was lovely. We also had lunch the reeption cafe which was really nice.

Overall impressions were good for the price we paid and we had a lovely stay.

We did have one hiccup which was that all of our key cards stopped working when we got back the 2nd night. The reception sorted it out but they did say it was something to do with our electronic devices which we know not to be true given that all the cards were kept separate from one another and all suddenly stopped working at the same time. Ah well not really a major gripe.

Room Tip: Put a request to the hotel for the room you want....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PooleSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel H, Manager at Jurys Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience here at The Oxford Hotel. Although we are not in downtown Oxford we are lucky to have a great location from which to explore not only Oxford but also Bicester Village and the surrounding area including the beautiful Cotswolds, we are also able to offer free secure car parking to guests unlike many of our competitors. Thank you for the constructive feedback which we will utilise in our continuous efforts to make improvements to the business.

Nigel Hadfield
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
5.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#10 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel
2.6 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Oxford

Property: Jurys Inn Oxford
Address: Godstow Road, Oxford OX2 8AL, England (Formerly The Oxford Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Jurys Inn Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Oxford Hotel and Conference Venue has undergone a fantastic £10.8 million transformation in 2016. Enhancements to the property include 240 brand new bedrooms with DREAM bed by Jurys Inn, including Executive Bedrooms with added perks. The hotel's conference facilities have also been refurbished now accommodating up to 350 people in 20 meeting and function rooms across the property. The hotel also boasts an all-day Costa Coffee bar, a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill and 250 complimentary parking spaces. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel, which is conveniently located just 3 miles outside Oxford city centre with excellent transport links to London. Please note that the final phase of the refurbishment to our Juvenate Health and Leisure club will take place in February. To accommodate this work, the pool area will be closed from the 7th February for approx. 3 weeks. All other facilities within our new Health and Leisure club will be open and available as normal. We apologise for any inconvenience caused. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, JurysInn, Superbreak UK and Odigeo so you can book your Jurys Inn Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Oxford Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing