We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious, very convenient location for pleasant...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The White House

Kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen
Lounge Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Kitchen
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Dining room
Dining room with view through kitchen to lounge
Kitchen
Ensuite bathroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
shower room
single bedroom - top floor
single bedroom - top floor
top floor
single bedroom
The White House
The path to town through the park
The River Cherwell, half way to town center across the park
Horses grazing 200m from the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Oxford, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
pablociou...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spacious, very convenient location for pleasant walking into Oxford.”
Reviewed 23 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Very generous accomodation for our family of eight people, clean, comfortable and well equipped. It is in a pleasnt and quiet area, near the Marston cycleway and footpath, which is a lovely route into town, crossing the river Cherwell.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Expensive because of location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rachelSid...
sidcup
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay to visit Oxford”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We were 5 friends from a book club who came to stay to visit the Oxford Literary Festival. The accommodation was very comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped. The lounge and dining room were spacious. We loved the walk to Oxford through the water meadows. It takes about 15mins and is a really pretty walk, ending up by the museums in Oxford.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The position
Liked least: The garden
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betsy G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, convenient, and well-equipped home.”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Has dishwasher and washer and dryer. Kitchen and baths updated. Close to bus lines and walking path into town. Nice quiet neighborhood. We would definitely rent again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickey742
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
“What a great place!!”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We rented this house for 3 nights for a family function. What a great location - though the British equivalent of a 10 minute walk is in the US a 25 minute walk! There was a walking path about 2 blocks away from the rental which took us to city center. Our landlord suggested it and we saw cows, horses, swans, and cycles on it. Perfect! The house was even better than described - room for 5 of us with extra bedrooms we didn't use. It had everything we needed and we could have stayed for a month easily. Hanna was easy to contact and was very quick to answer our emails. Without hesitation, I would stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the outfitting of the house - everything we could possibly need.
Liked least: no negatives
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cl0udhand...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect. Everything we wanted & more. Great apartment & great location.”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

As a large group of friends traveling together we really appreciated the mixture of communal and private spaces this lovely apartment has. The layout of The White House meant that we could eat and chat together in the large main areas when we wanted to socialise or find a quieter room to relax in. The kitchen is spacious enough that even with far too many cooks we still managed to all get along. The rooms are in great condition and it's really quite well placed for getting into the city centre. The neighbourhood seemed relaxed and a little slabbed area out the back is a nice sun-trap. I would recommend this property to anyone. The owner is very lovely and easy to deal with and they provide a little welcome pack showing the local facilities. We all agree that it made our trip so much more fun and hassle free and we all wish to stay here again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large, spacious apartment great for large groups.
Liked least: I wasn't sure how to work the radiator (but that's more to do with me than the apartment).
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuzeC
Cheshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A fabulous home walking distance from Oxford centre”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just had a great 3 nights stay at the White House.
Everything as described, Hanna was great throughout, her communication was excellent and
Met us at the home on time.
The house was extremely clean throughout.
The beds were really comfy too!
It is a lovely 15 min walk through the countryside jnto the centre of Oxford! There are several little shops nearby for supplies and the Londis is a two minute walk way, very handy indeed!
Really quiet and safe area, no problems with parking at all.
There were only four of us, so it was huge!
The only improvement would be a larger TV, not that we were in much, but for the size of house a larger TV is needed! Although the little television did work just fine! The wifi was great also!
Would stay here again if visiting the area for sure!
Thanks Hanna for letting us enjoy your property, if we come back to this area, we will definitely get in touch!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cleanliness
Liked least: The small tv
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jendun711
Peterborough, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, lots of space for everyone, and great features!”
Reviewed 7 March 2015 for a stay in September 2014

White House was great home base for us while attending family wedding. Seven of us gathered from across Canada and California. Location and house just what we'd hoped for and as described. Pleasant, short walk to downtown (cows and ducks included), convenient bus and taxi service, plus used parking spot for rental car too. Kitchen well equipped (we entertained other out-of-town guests) and glad to have laundry too. Hanna was great, providing extras when asked. We enjoyed back garden space too as weather was lovely.

Layout of house was good for people on different schedules, and comfy space for family meals. Truly enjoyed our visit. White House allowed us to comfortably stay together, while exploring Oxford and area. Thanks, Hanna!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing