We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Manor House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$237
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$273
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$440
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$241
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Oxford(Oxford)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
22
25
8
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
25
8
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2013

This is not a hotel and only a glorified B&B which is not really that good, the room I had no 12 is up in the attic and has velux windows with no blind so as long as you like to wake up at 5am in the summer its fine, bathroom very very basic, even the towels didnt match

The room cost £80 for one night, one person, one breakfast not what I would class as value for money, reasonably handy for the town centre though, but could stay at the premier inn and get a taxi into town and back for the same money and at least you would have a room with a sofa and a bath

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Owenski37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

Fairly decent b&b in good location. 20 minute brisk walk or 7 minute bus (take the no.3 - bus stop 15 metres from the front door) into oxford city centre.

Whenever my Ma & Sis visit, they stay here. Last time the owners let me join my family for a cooked breakfast for an extra £6, which was nice. :)

Room was £90 & avg size. They were comfortable there.

Magdalen Arms across the road & The Rusty Bike 3 minutes down Magdalen Road are two very nice pubs too!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mail4matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I stayed here for four nights, in the single room in the main part of the house. My room was very quiet. It was in the rear of the house. The room and its bath were very clean. The breakfast was ample and excellent. However, the price seemed rather high for a place that is not actually luxurious. The location on Iffley Road is very handy and is just steps from a bus stop.

Room Tip: Rear rooms are quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank evanselisabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We found the Manor House Hotel an excellent place to stay while we were in Oxford. It provides a high standard of accommodation at an affordable price. It is within easy walking distance to a number of pubs and restaurants for meals and is also close to the ring road if you are traveling to areas out of town. The hosts were very friendly and very attentive to our needs. They even provided us with fresh fruit from there own fruit trees for our day trips. Their knowledge of the area gave us a wealth of experience when we asked about places to visit during our stay. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The breakfast menu provided everything one would expect and the cooked breakfasts were very tasty. The beautiful backyard garden was a credit to the owners green thumbs and a wonderful place to pass some time and contemplate your navel. A little home away from home and we would recommend it highly.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
3  Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

This was a last minute booking for an overnight stay to spend time with friends in the City. For this reason we were not looking for somewhere which would provide us with a special experience, but rather for a pleasant clean room at an economical price. Having read the Trip advisor reviews the Manor House Hotel appeared to fit the bill and as we were booked to have Sunday lunch at the Magdalen Arms which is just opposite the hotel, it seemed ideal. Should you decide to stay here then a meal at the latter establishment would be an inspired choice.
The Manor House Hotel appears to be run by a Greek family. Mama registered us and was warm and welcoming, we were immediately struck by the cleanliness of the place, and this was notable throughout the building. We were allocated a double room (R5) on the second floor – note there is no lift available and some of the stairs are quite steep. The room overlooked Iffley Road and there was some traffic noise but with the windows closed it was perfectly OK.
The Manor House Hotel will not be winning any design awards, just one word "woodchip" will set the scene!. The decor is dated but fresh, the artworks must surely appeal to somebody and are of the sentimental bucolic scene variety with a few icons thrown in for good measure. The furnishings however were sturdy, the bed very comfortable and linen spotless. The bathroom provided a shower rather than a bath, but as the water flow was strong the overall experience was positive.
Papa appeared to be servicing the kitchen and dining room for breakfast. A man of few words, he cooked a decent breakfast and we had what is somewhat unusual in the UK – smoked bacon – yum. The menu is basic – no buffet and we were not offered a choice of toast – white sliced was provided. Coffee was somewhat weak and might possibly have been instant served cunningly in a pot. The large dining room was somewhat gloomy but overlooked a large and very well tended garden.
At check out Mama indicated that our bill would be £99. We questioned this as we had been quoted £90 on booking – there was no quibble and £90 was paid. This hotel is rated 2 star by the AA. I have stayed in worse 3 star establishments. If all you want is a decent room a comfortable clean bed and a basic breakfast all at a price which is very reasonable for Oxford then this hotel will meet your requirements more than adequately

Room Tip: Rear rooms will be quieter
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank docvwLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews