We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galaxie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Galaxie Hotel
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

This b and b is spot on clean, moden and the breakfast is tasty.
the staff was so polite too.
no drama's parking and just a short distance to the town centre {walking} i would stay here again. the room we stayed in was a bit small but it wasn't a issue. shower room was big and clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    146
    64
    32
    23
See reviews for
53
136
40
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Apart from Oxford being a lovely residential city, there is great history and culture to experience and the Galaxie offered an ideal location in terms of reaching the city centre and nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie Louise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
world
Level Contributor
164 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed here in May as part of a group of 10. The hotel was very reasonably priced and extremely clean with lovely decor.
We booked a large double which was on the top floor at the front. It was a lovely room with even a kitchen sink and microwave. if you leave the widow open during the day you will experience traffic noise but it is fine in the evening.
The rest of our party booked ordinary doubles which were also very good.
The breakfasts were particularly good and included smoked salmon on the buffet. Service was prompt and efficient.
The car park is not large but all our group found spaces. Everyone had a great time.
We will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

I have stayed in this hotel on numerous occasions. It is in a great location on the main road with a bus stop to the centre of Oxford literally outside and a short walk from the shops and restaurants of Summertown. It is family run and this friendly atmosphere permeates through to the staff who have always been immensely helpful. Our room was not massive but well appointed and clean. The breakfast area is quite stunning and the buffet breakfast is extensive and delicious, with a wide range of fruit, pastries and cooked food complemented by freshly squeezed orange juice the garden is beautiful and great for sitting out but it is not part of the hotel's dining room. All in all, I have virtually no complaints and consider the establishment to be excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveW5202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights. The room was smaller than expected but the real problem was the temperature, not the size. For some reason the room was so hot we could hardly sleep. The hotel provided a fan, which helped a bit but didn't really lower the temperature, which must have been well over 30C. This was in sharp contrast with the corridor, which was cool so a bit odd. My friend stayed in another room on the ground floor which was much cooler. There was work going on in the hotel, the shower ran out of hot water, there were nails sticking out on the wooden floor, in between the bathroom and the room, where you're most likely to walk barefoot. Staff were friendly and usually around but most of the time you had to go and look for them. Agree with the other review about the fire hazard as well. Location is good though and price OK. But I would try to avoid it.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the second floor and ask if there's building work still going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lavenderverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

The Galaxie Hotel is located in Summertown (several restaurants, many grocery stores, banks, a Starbucks are all within a 2 minute walk). Although the hotel is about a 30 minute walk from Oxford's city centre, there is a bus stop just outside the hotel for quick access to the city. The double room we stayed in was very cute, had plenty of room, and was updated with a flat screen tv, wood floors and modern bathroom. The breakfast area is really nice and is open as a lounge area throughout the day. The breakfast spread offered croissants (plain and chocolate), toast, freshly squeezed orange juice, cereals, coffee, and a full-English-breakfast buffet. It was very yummy and clearly the favourite part of my stay (nevermind the extensive beauty and history of Oxford!). The members of staff were friendly and helpful, and the wifi was free and reliable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We were given a voucher for a picnic cruise on the Thames for our 25th Wedding anniversary. In order to make the most of the experience (i.e the wine), we decided to book a local hotel and stay the night. We pre-arranged with the hotel that we could leave our car in the car park for the day, the receptionist was helpful with advice about buses, but we decided to stroll into Oxford centre (about 25 minutes). We checked into the hotel later in the day. Our room was in the area being redeveloped, but apart from the landing being a bit unsightly and dusty it was not a problem. However our room was at the front and there was quite a lot of noise from the road outside. The facilities in the room were fine, although not the best quality, and the room was clean and comfortable. There were a number of bars, restaurants and shops close to the hotel, so there was no need to venture back into Oxford in the evening. The breakfast room is lovely, as were the staff, and there was a good choice for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenE284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
1.6 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
1.6 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
1.4 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
1.1 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxie Hotel

Property: Galaxie Hotel
Address: 180 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 7BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Oxford
#13 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Galaxie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Galaxie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxie Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing