We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 nights at Hotel Galaxie”
Review of Galaxie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Galaxie Hotel
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Excellent hotel about 2 miles from city centre on Banbury Road in Summertown.Bus stop right outside hotel for centre,buses about every 10 minutes. My deluxe ensuite single room was of good size, kept clean throughout my stay, and with tea & coffee provided. The breakfast room was partly in the conservatory, and was self service. An excellent selection of fresh fruit,cereals,breads,toast, croisants, hot breakfast, cold meat,fish,cheese,tea & coffee. All staff were helpful, pleasant and polite at all times. The whole of the hotel was spotless, although there was decorating taking place this was confined to small areas and to my knowledge did not inconvenience any guests. Lift available. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Hotel Galaxie to any future guests.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

This b and b is spot on clean, moden and the breakfast is tasty.
the staff was so polite too.
no drama's parking and just a short distance to the town centre {walking} i would stay here again. the room we stayed in was a bit small but it wasn't a issue. shower room was big and clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Apart from Oxford being a lovely residential city, there is great history and culture to experience and the Galaxie offered an ideal location in terms of reaching the city centre and nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie Louise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed here in May as part of a group of 10. The hotel was very reasonably priced and extremely clean with lovely decor.
We booked a large double which was on the top floor at the front. It was a lovely room with even a kitchen sink and microwave. if you leave the widow open during the day you will experience traffic noise but it is fine in the evening.
The rest of our party booked ordinary doubles which were also very good.
The breakfasts were particularly good and included smoked salmon on the buffet. Service was prompt and efficient.
The car park is not large but all our group found spaces. Everyone had a great time.
We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jackiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I have stayed in this hotel on numerous occasions. It is in a great location on the main road with a bus stop to the centre of Oxford literally outside and a short walk from the shops and restaurants of Summertown. It is family run and this friendly atmosphere permeates through to the staff who have always been immensely helpful. Our room was not massive but well appointed and clean. The breakfast area is quite stunning and the buffet breakfast is extensive and delicious, with a wide range of fruit, pastries and cooked food complemented by freshly squeezed orange juice the garden is beautiful and great for sitting out but it is not part of the hotel's dining room. All in all, I have virtually no complaints and consider the establishment to be excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveW5202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights. The room was smaller than expected but the real problem was the temperature, not the size. For some reason the room was so hot we could hardly sleep. The hotel provided a fan, which helped a bit but didn't really lower the temperature, which must have been well over 30C. This was in sharp contrast with the corridor, which was cool so a bit odd. My friend stayed in another room on the ground floor which was much cooler. There was work going on in the hotel, the shower ran out of hot water, there were nails sticking out on the wooden floor, in between the bathroom and the room, where you're most likely to walk barefoot. Staff were friendly and usually around but most of the time you had to go and look for them. Agree with the other review about the fire hazard as well. Location is good though and price OK. But I would try to avoid it.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the second floor and ask if there's building work still going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lavenderverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The Galaxie Hotel is located in Summertown (several restaurants, many grocery stores, banks, a Starbucks are all within a 2 minute walk). Although the hotel is about a 30 minute walk from Oxford's city centre, there is a bus stop just outside the hotel for quick access to the city. The double room we stayed in was very cute, had plenty of room, and was updated with a flat screen tv, wood floors and modern bathroom. The breakfast area is really nice and is open as a lounge area throughout the day. The breakfast spread offered croissants (plain and chocolate), toast, freshly squeezed orange juice, cereals, coffee, and a full-English-breakfast buffet. It was very yummy and clearly the favourite part of my stay (nevermind the extensive beauty and history of Oxford!). The members of staff were friendly and helpful, and the wifi was free and reliable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.7 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
737 reviews
1.6 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
4.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
536 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxie Hotel

Address: 180 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 7BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Oxford
#11 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £98 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Galaxie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Galaxie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxie Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing