We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but my room wasn't great ”
Review of Galaxie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Galaxie Hotel
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

I visit Oxford regularly on business and use a variety of hotels.

I booked quite late and got a short straw on my hotel room. It was clean and tidy but was small and noisy

Now I suspect that the bulk of rooms are actually ok so would advise of you are interested in staying that you ask for a large room without an uncarpeted wooden floor.

The staff were friendly. The breakfast served was rather good. The hotel was well presented and looked after.

Galaxie is not too far from the centre but equally is not on the doorstep. It's probably a 20 minute walk


Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank frank1eb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in October and was impressed by how attentive and friendly the staff were. The hotel is in Summertown but is well serviced by buses into the centre of Oxford. Ample off road parking , clean and well serviced rooms, plenty of choice at breakfast and the staff are happy to accommodate you as best they can

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillyflowerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in September and found it sufficient for what I paid. The room and bathrooms were good sizes. Breakfast selection was good, fantastic to have fresh orange juice. My only gripe would be that breakfast was not served until 7.30am. However the staff were alright with me grabbing toast and cereal on the run. They were not the most friendly in general however. The corridors were quite narrow and hard to navigate with luggage and the walls of the room thin so quite noisy at night with people coming and going. Location was good with shops just down the road.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler10167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The Galaxie is very conveniently located in Summertown, just a little way outside of Oxford City Centre. It has a bus stop almost right in front of the building along Banbury Road and it has the added convenience of supermarkets, restaurants, multiple coffee shops and other shops within about 1 minute walk.
As it's on the main road there could be a concern of street noise if you were in the front rooms but since I was staying 4 nights I was put on the 1st floor at the back of the property (in a deluxe room) so I had no problem with noise whatsoever.
The room was modern, clean and has what you need. There wasn't a whole lot of extra space to get around the bed but it didn't matter much at all to me.
The breakfast was pretty reasonable, the garden out back quite lovely to sit about in and there was plenty of free car parking on site too.
Best of all was the customer service - from reception to service staff at breakfast. At check in I was greeted by a very (!!) cheerful, chatty and happy lady who was very warm and inviting - even showed me her pictures from a recent holiday to Australia while sorting out my room. Her enthusiasm was infectious and a great start to my stay...especially after traveling so far to get there.
I would definitely stay here again when I'm next in Oxford and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the property if you're concerned about traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobby_bat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Great hotel with lovely staff. They were really helpful in helping me decide how to spend a short afternoon in Oxford. It's a nice walk or a quick journey by bus into the centre of Oxford. The rooms have been newly refurbished and are fresh, bright and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was great too with lots of choice. All in all a great hotel. I will definitely stay here next time I'm in Oxford.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesT0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The Galaxie Hotel teach us a lesson in customer service. We stay I a deluxe room, since nothing else was free. its near bus stop 10 min. by bus to the center. big room for 102 pounds. we had ground floor with noise from the street. at night the bath tap start to make a noise like group of hornets. we call the reception to change our room but they refuse. in the morning, after a very good breakfast we go to the reception, and we told the story. the lady go to talk to someone inside and when she came back, she apologize and gave us all the money (102 P.) back.
So what kind of grade we can give them? 8 out of 10 will do.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chaim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed for one night for the university's open day. Great welcome from the reception staff even though ours was a late 10pm check-in. Lovely modern twin room with all amenities and an amazing bathroom. The breakfast was served in a gorgeously modern conservatory overlooking the quirky gardens, was plentiful and with helpful pleasant staff. Its a short bus ride from the city centre and has free car parking. Excellent rates means that this is a real hidden gem and if my son gets inti oxford uni I guess this will be my home from home !

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelenWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.7 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
737 reviews
1.6 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
4.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
534 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxie Hotel

Address: 180 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 7BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Oxford
#12 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £98 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Galaxie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Galaxie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxie Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing