We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our stay for 3 nights in the 'River hotel' with our family”
Review of River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
River Hotel
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We 2 adults an 2 children aged 13 and 16) stayed for 3 consecutive nights at this well-kept 19th century hotel. We had good breakfastst, and we received the touristic information we asked for. The hotel is well kept, wifi is available, and it is ideally situated for a visit of the city of Oxford : private ample parking at rear, only half a mile or so from the city center, bordering the Thames river, and easy to find... We brought ou bikes and you kan ride along the Thames river so to say right from the front of the hotel. To be recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivan_lietaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

The hotel needs a bit of attention, a few pots of paint, carpets, updating generally, but it is in a good position, walking distance from the centre of Oxford. The breakfast was above average, the bacon acceptable, but the sausage tasted like a roll of bread. It should not have been called a sausage. Generally speaking, most hotels offer useless excuses for sausages, instead of getting them from reputable butchers.

Friendly staff, particularly the breakfast chef.

Good value overall.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jake1642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Very basic, looking tired and dated and a bit cluttered. The Hotel needs a good make over. However walking distance to the centre of Oxford. The room was clean and the breakfast was great. The staff were friendly enough. If you want luxury then this isn't the place for you, but I would say you get what you pay for, two stars is right.

Room Tip: There is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Well from previous experience we booked well in advance and choose Room 2, this is on the ground floor - so no Stairs.. easy access to the secure parking area and Reception with exits to the front and rear. It pays to book in advance or visit beforehand and ask to see the rooms, the best do get snapped up first, this is quite normal, as this is a busy little Hotel in Summer, it's an ideal location for all manner of Visitors.. Sure, if you wanted to be pampered go pay an extra £30-£40 a night, easy to do in Oxford and you will receive the utmost anonymity, in fact all you can handle but if you want Old School, with a fantastic breakfast included and I, for one do - then this is the place. Manners costeth nothing.. Oh and for the Ladies there IS a Hairdryer in the room, already. The water is piping hot and can be adjusted down for a nice relaxing Radox Bath... The cleanliness of the rooms is very apparent, okay it's not all brand new but that's part of it's charm, check yourself in, accept it for it's quirks and chill. The place has a style that is neither false nor invented in order to pamper to egos.. check in, chill out.

We shall be back.

Room Tip: My advice if you can Book Room 2. Pleasantness and decencey, old core values are reciprocated. Ask t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyBroadbent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We were looking for inexpensive lodgings for a four night stay. With a guest house feel, this fit the bill. Facilities were compact but well cleaned and prepared each day. Breakfast was substantial
and served promptly and pleasantly each morning. Our visit coincided with a heat wave and we were happy to take advantage of the breeze off the river and read in the side yard in the afternoon. Our hosts recommended a couple of local pubs and both were great. We will certainly consider this hotel for future visits based on location and value.

Room Tip: Room 10 was small but had 2 windows to create a cross breeze and was quiet as it was at the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prairiepov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Very clean and quiet hotel with friendly staff. Good breakfast included in the price, but the sossisers were too typical english for a norwegian! We will not hesitate to stay here again when visiting Oxford.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7,240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I arrived i Oxford alone with a few days to wait before my family arrived. I chose this hotel because it got decent ratings on trip advisor and was inexpensive as far as Oxford goes. Well, you pay for what you get! My bed was so soft, with a large cavern in the middle that my back ached after the first night. There was no air conditioning (which I expected) but there was only one window that opened two inches! The hotel's pamphlet describing river view rooms, a restaurant overlooking the river and local friendly staff could not be more untrue. I could not see the river from my room or the restaurant. The "local staff" were primarily from Spain, could not speak English, were rude and unhelpful. They could not help me with anything regarding buses, attractions, etc. When I asked for the manager about changing rooms or possibly a fan? she was also rude and unhelpful. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PEWH0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.4 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#36 of 44 in Oxford
105 reviews
2.2 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
737 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newton House
Newton House
#28 of 44 in Oxford
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#14 of 44 in Oxford
705 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.8 mi away
Ethos Hotel Oxford
Ethos Hotel Oxford
#22 of 44 in Oxford
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Hotel

Address: 17 Botley Road | Oxford City by River Thames, Oxford OX2 0AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range: £106 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — River Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long established local business in a good location by the River Thames at Osney bridge. Walking distance to city, colleges and venues, Oxford rail and bus stations, one of nearest to Said Business School and Kings Centre. Small hotel friendly service and value, all rooms with own bath with shower head and toilet, digital TV, radio and free tea/coffee tray. Residents bar/lounge, Free car park on site, Free wifi. VisitBritain **Metro grading awarded since 2007, free breakfast service with buffet and main meal cooked to order. 24-hour access with key. Oxford college owned property, originally 1870s master-builder's home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing