We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's not to like ?”
Review of River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
River Hotel
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Stockport
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“What's not to like ?”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

If you want to drive to Oxford, be able to park your car at your reasonably priced hotel and still be able to walk into the centre of the city in 10 minutes, then this is the hotel for you.
Ok it is a bit tired and could do with a bit of tarting up but the staff were helpful, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was good (nice deep bath with bottles of Radox to relax in after a day traipsing round the museums & colleges) and a very pleasant breakfast to set you up for the day.
It is a great base for a trip to one of the most interesting cities I have visited.
It's in a great position, next to the river and we never heard a thing at night.
We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back overlooking the car park, not a great view but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRoths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    115
    56
    25
    29
See reviews for
46
98
35
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Very nice accomodation with excellent breakfast and very helpful and friendly staff. Would stay here again in a flash/ The beds were comfortable and the room was spacious. No lift tho for upper floors

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 961Debbie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a good choice for location, basic comfort, quirky charm and not too bad value considering the competition in central Oxford. This is the sort of establishment that is perhaps sadly being wiped out by chain budget hotels. Oxford's budget offerings all seem to be out of town, so the River Hotel is safe for now. To get an idea of what it's like, imagine what it would be like if a group of European's decided to run a pastiche of a mid-range 70's British hotel....and you just about have it. The staff were welcoming and polite rather than friendly, and seemed entirely competent. I had a single top floor room (18). It faced away from the busy road outside. It has a small window, it was clean and comfortable but showing its age. The reception staff warned me that wifi might not reach me but in fact it was OK, not a strong signal but usable. At 7am it took a while for the hot water to reach the taps and shower, but I expected that being at the top of an old building. One odd thing about the room was that the dressing table light was a 3ft fluorescent strip: so looking in the mirror was a bit of a shock to the self-esteem. One side-effect of the useful proximity to the rail station was that when a fast train rattled through town during the night, the room shook a little! Breakfast was very civilized and cooked to order. There is a lovely waterside walk right outside - a few minutes walk south along the path past the lovely moored barges, there is a lovely pub doing great food called 'the Punters Arms' or something very similar.

Room Tip: Ask not to face onto the road outside and be mindful that there is no lift if mobility is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geolon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is not a place for 'cool' people interested in posh atmosphere, snob staff and fancy stuff. River Hotel seems coming out form an Agatha Christie's book, full of an outdated charme, that only a 150 years old hotel can have. I personally enjoiyed my stay here. The smell of the thick blue moquette, the old woody furniture, the creaky stears, idiosyncratic british pictures on the wall, the freaky neon sign of the hotel in the night and the Thames which quietly flows next to you...The staff was polite and quite available, good british breakfast with bacon, fruits, cereals, yogurt, juices, spreads etc included in the 88 pounds per night. The only shortcoming was that internet is available only in the lounge bar and not in the room (at least at the top floor of the main building). Strategic location few steps away from train and bus stations, Said school, and city center.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giuseppe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kortrijk, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We 2 adults an 2 children aged 13 and 16) stayed for 3 consecutive nights at this well-kept 19th century hotel. We had good breakfastst, and we received the touristic information we asked for. The hotel is well kept, wifi is available, and it is ideally situated for a visit of the city of Oxford : private ample parking at rear, only half a mile or so from the city center, bordering the Thames river, and easy to find... We brought ou bikes and you kan ride along the Thames river so to say right from the front of the hotel. To be recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivan_lietaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wingfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
368 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The hotel needs a bit of attention, a few pots of paint, carpets, updating generally, but it is in a good position, walking distance from the centre of Oxford. The breakfast was above average, the bacon acceptable, but the sausage tasted like a roll of bread. It should not have been called a sausage. Generally speaking, most hotels offer useless excuses for sausages, instead of getting them from reputable butchers.

Friendly staff, particularly the breakfast chef.

Good value overall.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jake1642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Very basic, looking tired and dated and a bit cluttered. The Hotel needs a good make over. However walking distance to the centre of Oxford. The room was clean and the breakfast was great. The staff were friendly enough. If you want luxury then this isn't the place for you, but I would say you get what you pay for, two stars is right.

Room Tip: There is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#17 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.4 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#37 of 44 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
WestGate Hotel
WestGate Hotel
#59 of 81 in Oxford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oxford Osney Arms
The Oxford Osney Arms
#17 of 81 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Becket Guest House
Becket Guest House
#61 of 81 in Oxford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Hotel

Property: River Hotel
Address: 17 Botley Road | Oxford City by River Thames, Oxford OX2 0AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — River Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long established local business in a good location by the River Thames at Osney bridge. Walking distance to city, colleges and venues, Oxford rail and bus stations, one of nearest to Said Business School and Kings Centre. Small hotel friendly service and value, all rooms with own bath with shower head and toilet, digital TV, radio and free tea/coffee tray. Residents bar/lounge, Free car park on site, Free wifi. VisitBritain **Metro grading awarded since 2007, free breakfast service with buffet and main meal cooked to order. 24-hour access with key. Oxford college owned property, originally 1870s master-builder's home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing