We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a place someone should book to stay.”
Review of River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
River Hotel
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The room was cold with old furniture and the carpet had stains. The reception area was like going back to the 1960's. Absolutely unacceptable standard for the amount of money that was paid for booking this dump.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SARABJIT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

This hotel is fantastic. I have stayed here several times whilst working in Oxford. It's very clean and comfortable if a bit dated in decor, but I just love that... makes me really feel like i'm at home. The landlady is charming and very helpful also the "pièce de résistance" is the breakfast....best English going...order as much as you want how you want it, great, just what I need. Hat's off to the River hotel for making my stay so easy!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This hotel is really more like a large B&B. However there is a bar and they do bar snacks, though we didn't try them. Notable in the bar area were the magazines and board games that you could use, and I noticed books to borrow elsewhere. So no arid surroundings. The breakfast was good and cooked dishes made to order. The staff are friendly and helpful, and I was particularly impressed by the website. The centre of Oxford is no distance but a bus can be had nearby. As a family group we were all together on the top floor, where some of the services don't reach. The cold water in room 18 was sparse and the television reception terrible.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Rowanberry22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The River Hotel in Oxford was probably the worst hotel we stayed at during our trip through the British Isles. The lady at the front desk was extremely crotchety, the bathroom had pubes on the floor (even after we asked for the bathroom to be cleaned again-it didn't appear to be cleaned after the previous occupants), an inch of dust covered everything, and the beds were awful. Oh, and so much street noise. However, it is affordable and very close to the train station. If you don't mind a little dust, genital hairs, and rude old desk ladies, it's not too bad!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyGodiva30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The hotel is very convenient for the station and has free parking, which is difficult to find this close in to the town centre. Its easily walkable into town and close to a variety of good looking restaurants. The room was basic but fine. Breakfast was great and the owner was very pleasant. We left some stuff in the room which the owner very kindly sent on to us. I'd recommend this place if you are driving and want a functional overnight stay in Oxford without paying for frills.

Room Tip: we had a room facing the back - the car park. It was quiet. Didn't really go here for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 58Andyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

wanted to be near the station which it certainly is. But it's really old fashioned - beds don't have duvets, for example. And to pay £98 for a really basic twin room was, I thought, really expensive for what it was.
Staff were friendly, however, and the breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: maybe ask for one overlooking the river? ours was overlooking the road which wasn't a problem as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelover47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We have often stayed here over the last four years and it has always been a really pleasant experience. The staff are very friendly and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfasts are very good with an excellent choice, served in the breakfast room which has views out to the river. It is very close to the station, is only a ten minute walk into the town centre, and also offers parking at the back. It is not a fancy luxury hotel but it is very good value and in a very convenient location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#13 of 44 in Oxford
687 reviews
0.4 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#36 of 44 in Oxford
102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
#22 of 44 in Oxford
512 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
1.0 mi away
Newton House
Newton House
#28 of 44 in Oxford
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Hotel

Address: 17 Botley Road | Oxford City by River Thames, Oxford OX2 0AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range: £105 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — River Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long established local business in a good location by the River Thames at Osney bridge. Walking distance to city, colleges and venues, Oxford rail and bus stations, one of nearest to Said Business School and Kings Centre. Small hotel friendly service and value, all rooms with own bath with shower head and toilet, digital TV, radio and free tea/coffee tray. Residents bar/lounge, Free car park on site, Free wifi. VisitBritain **Metro grading awarded since 2007, free breakfast service with buffet and main meal cooked to order. 24-hour access with key. Oxford college owned property, originally 1870s master-builder's home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing