We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad if you are on a tight budget”
Review of River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
River Hotel
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband and I spent the weekend in Oxford, since we were out from morning till eve, we didn't need much more than a clean bed, hot (en-suite) shower and breakfast, which is exactly what we got. A big plus for The River Hotel is that it is just around the corner from the train station (so need to take a taxi or drag a suitcases for kilometers on end). It is also a 10min walk from the city center and all the attractions - very convenient. We never needed to make use of public transport to get around, since the hotel was so close to everything. The hotel has a lovely garden overlooking the river and the landladies were all very friendly and helpful. Our room was quiet and clean. Breakfast was great, a wide variety with bottomless coffee or tea. A few minor issues - the internet reception was bad upstairs, so we had to use it in the bar lounge, the mattress in our room (room 15) is worn out. It squeaks and one rolls to the middle of the bed. DEFINITELY needs replacing. Our room was also very small - so if you have a backpack, you will fit it in, but a larger suitcase is problematic.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the ground floor for better internet reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alweri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

The hotel itself is outfitted OK, certainly not great. The rooms were reasonably sized but outdated and not in a quaint rustic sense. Fairly convenient to Oxford City Centre, the train station and the bus depot although here too there are better options. All told I have stayed at superior hotels in Oxford for comparable rates. Given that, the hotel rates possibly a 3 except for the fact that the hotel violated our privacy by confirming not only that we were staying at the hotel but provided our room number to uninvited guests. If this were not bad enough, when confronted about the problem the lady running the hotel became extremely rude about it and did not so much as offer an apology. Sharing information in this manner is inexcusable for any hotel and so I can most strongly recommend that no one should stay where they can not trust their privacy to be respected.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This hotel is very well placed in Oxford. the room is large enough, well cleaned and warm. The landlady is nice and helpful. the breakfast is very generous and the view on the garden and the river charming. I would return!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROBIN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The room was cold with old furniture and the carpet had stains. The reception area was like going back to the 1960's. Absolutely unacceptable standard for the amount of money that was paid for booking this dump.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SARABJIT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This hotel is fantastic. I have stayed here several times whilst working in Oxford. It's very clean and comfortable if a bit dated in decor, but I just love that... makes me really feel like i'm at home. The landlady is charming and very helpful also the "pièce de résistance" is the breakfast....best English going...order as much as you want how you want it, great, just what I need. Hat's off to the River hotel for making my stay so easy!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This hotel is really more like a large B&B. However there is a bar and they do bar snacks, though we didn't try them. Notable in the bar area were the magazines and board games that you could use, and I noticed books to borrow elsewhere. So no arid surroundings. The breakfast was good and cooked dishes made to order. The staff are friendly and helpful, and I was particularly impressed by the website. The centre of Oxford is no distance but a bus can be had nearby. As a family group we were all together on the top floor, where some of the services don't reach. The cold water in room 18 was sparse and the television reception terrible.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Rowanberry22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The River Hotel in Oxford was probably the worst hotel we stayed at during our trip through the British Isles. The lady at the front desk was extremely crotchety, the bathroom had pubes on the floor (even after we asked for the bathroom to be cleaned again-it didn't appear to be cleaned after the previous occupants), an inch of dust covered everything, and the beds were awful. Oh, and so much street noise. However, it is affordable and very close to the train station. If you don't mind a little dust, genital hairs, and rude old desk ladies, it's not too bad!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyGodiva30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.4 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#37 of 44 in Oxford
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#13 of 44 in Oxford
707 reviews
2.2 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Newton House
Newton House
#29 of 44 in Oxford
221 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel
3.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Hotel

Address: 17 Botley Road | Oxford City by River Thames, Oxford OX2 0AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range: £103 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — River Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long established local business in a good location by the River Thames at Osney bridge. Walking distance to city, colleges and venues, Oxford rail and bus stations, one of nearest to Said Business School and Kings Centre. Small hotel friendly service and value, all rooms with own bath with shower head and toilet, digital TV, radio and free tea/coffee tray. Residents bar/lounge, Free car park on site, Free wifi. VisitBritain **Metro grading awarded since 2007, free breakfast service with buffet and main meal cooked to order. 24-hour access with key. Oxford college owned property, originally 1870s master-builder's home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing