We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Rude Rude”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Hotel
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Rude Rude Rude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I tried to book a room at this hotel and I'm absolutely disgusted by the receptions attitude! The lady did not want to help in the slightest. Very unprofessional. I wouldn't suggest trying to book this hotel - go elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    115
    56
    24
    29
See reviews for
46
98
35
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palermo, Italy
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

The Hotel is small and cosy. People who work there are nice and helpfull. They let guests feeling as at home. Many foreign languages are spoken, as Italian, French and German. Breakfast is good and generous, and fish (ie traditional smoke kipper) is also served. WI-FI access is free and works well. I can suggest it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Renato M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wsm, owner of business not property at River Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
The Hotel team wish to thank you for posting your review, As an independent Hotel we very much appreciate the trtipadvisor reviews for the benefit of future customers.

Trusting that you will find the time to spend more time in Oxford and the River Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Just spent 3 nights here and found this gem in the centre of Oxford.£90 a nite for a double (ensuite)..including a gigantic breakfast which set us up for the day.Staff were great..more than helpful ..Hotel very clean and adjacent to Train and Bus stations..Location was the key here as all sight seeing and services were within walking distance.
Rosemary and Brendan. Cork. Ireland

Room Tip: Rooms at the front were great and no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brendan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wsm, owner of business not property at River Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your review, All at the River Hotel are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, we trust that you will find the time to come back to Oxford and explore more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darlington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just back from a bank holiday stay at the River Hotel. We paid £90 per room (double with en-suite) per night including breakfast, which we thought was expensive for a 2-star, but reasonable for Oxford, especially given the location and free parking.

Pros:

Location - a few minutes' walk from the train station, 10 minutes' walk from the centre of Oxford. Garden leading down to the river; we liked to sit on the bench at the end of the garden, watching the resident heron fly in.

Parking - free parking and, even though we had to check out before 11am, we were kindly allowed to leave our car in the car park for the whole day free of charge.

Friendly staff on check-in and at breakfast.

Good breakfast - a good choice of cereal, fruit, juices, preserves, yoghurts. Excellent cooked breakfast too (sausage, bacon, eggs, beans, tomatoes, toast) and bottomless tea/coffee/hot chocolate. Characterful dining area with views of the river.

Books and magazines around the hotel for guest use.

Room - good hot, powerful shower. Complimentary toiletries (Radox bubble bath), tea/coffee tray, plenty of wardrobe space, freeview TV, clean, comfortable bedding.

Some suggestions for improvements, which shouldn't be too costly for the owners and which, if carried out, would be more in keeping with the price per stay:

Replace carpets in public areas - they are rather threadbare and don't make for a good first impression.

Torn and dirty canopies, dirty windows - again, not a good first impression.

Rooms - rusty tea and coffee canisters, loose bathroom door handle, worn bathmats, tired and worn public notices, dirty bedroom carpet - when we first arrived, our bedroom carpet noticeably hadn't been vacuumed. This was soon rectified but it was disappointing, especially given the price we paid for the room - cleanliness is a basic.

In summary, it was a refreshing change to stay at a hotel which has a lot more character than the usual hotel chains. If attention was paid to the areas suggested above, then we would return without a doubt.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekaterina07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wsm, owner of business not property at River Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send a review, the Hotel team all appreciate your positive observations, some of which were alrady in place to be actioned:
New refreshment tray caddys.
Commecial window cleaners attend on a regular basis.
We pride ouselves on running the Hotel on traditional lines, as you say in a good loocation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I just came back from a weekend in Oxford. I shared a room with my mum and sister - one double and one single bed. The hotel is very dated and old. It is just a 3 minute walk from the station which is great but a longer walk to the main town (10-15 mins). Check in was simple and they had our room ready early. The staff seemed a bit miserable and didn't go out of their way for you! We had room number 6, one of the larger rooms, it was clean and very old fashioned but it didn't really matter as we only stayed for one night! The bathroom door handle was falling off and the toilet drain made a huge noise every time you flushed it. The room was very hot in the night and the windows don't open! Breakfast was average- the continental at the start was pretty terrible, only one bowl of apples/oranges and no croissants. They only had cereal and a few yoghurts! The cooked breakfast was thankfully a lot better, very well done! I would only stay here if you are looking for a good location and are on a budget. Probably wouldn't come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wsm, owner of business not property at River Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
We are sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your stay. The Hotel is an 1870's master-builder's home, operated as a traditional Hotel for years, it has many, much appreciated original features, we aim to ensure the comfort of all of our guests in informal surroundings

May we bring to your attention that all rooms have a thermostatically controlled radiator, the windows are the original sash cord fitting, with secondary double glazing, which do open, Reception staff should have been able to assist you.
We confirm that the bathroom door knob is fixed, we are working on the plumbing.

Our 20% Vat inclusive tariff does include English breakfast with a buffet starter of cereals, juices, yogurts, dried, soft berry and fresh fruit; we do our best to accommodate diet requests. it is pleasing that you enjoyed our cooked breakfast, thank you.

We are known as a small and friendly hotel, where hospitality, service and customer relations count, it is disconcerting that you found staff who 'did not go out of their way for you'

Tripadvisor reviews are important to a small business, we are sorry that you did not bring your observations to our attention at the time, giving us the opportunity to satisfy your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband and I spent the weekend in Oxford, since we were out from morning till eve, we didn't need much more than a clean bed, hot (en-suite) shower and breakfast, which is exactly what we got. A big plus for The River Hotel is that it is just around the corner from the train station (so need to take a taxi or drag a suitcases for kilometers on end). It is also a 10min walk from the city center and all the attractions - very convenient. We never needed to make use of public transport to get around, since the hotel was so close to everything. The hotel has a lovely garden overlooking the river and the landladies were all very friendly and helpful. Our room was quiet and clean. Breakfast was great, a wide variety with bottomless coffee or tea. A few minor issues - the internet reception was bad upstairs, so we had to use it in the bar lounge, the mattress in our room (room 15) is worn out. It squeaks and one rolls to the middle of the bed. DEFINITELY needs replacing. Our room was also very small - so if you have a backpack, you will fit it in, but a larger suitcase is problematic.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the ground floor for better internet reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alweri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

The hotel itself is outfitted OK, certainly not great. The rooms were reasonably sized but outdated and not in a quaint rustic sense. Fairly convenient to Oxford City Centre, the train station and the bus depot although here too there are better options. All told I have stayed at superior hotels in Oxford for comparable rates. Given that, the hotel rates possibly a 3 except for the fact that the hotel violated our privacy by confirming not only that we were staying at the hotel but provided our room number to uninvited guests. If this were not bad enough, when confronted about the problem the lady running the hotel became extremely rude about it and did not so much as offer an apology. Sharing information in this manner is inexcusable for any hotel and so I can most strongly recommend that no one should stay where they can not trust their privacy to be respected.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#18 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.4 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#37 of 44 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
WestGate Hotel
WestGate Hotel
#59 of 82 in Oxford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oxford Osney Arms
The Oxford Osney Arms
#18 of 82 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Becket Guest House
Becket Guest House
#62 of 82 in Oxford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Hotel

Property: River Hotel
Address: 17 Botley Road | Oxford City by River Thames, Oxford OX2 0AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — River Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long established local business in a good location by the River Thames at Osney bridge. Walking distance to city, colleges and venues, Oxford rail and bus stations, one of nearest to Said Business School and Kings Centre. Small hotel friendly service and value, all rooms with own bath with shower head and toilet, digital TV, radio and free tea/coffee tray. Residents bar/lounge, Free car park on site, Free wifi. VisitBritain **Metro grading awarded since 2007, free breakfast service with buffet and main meal cooked to order. 24-hour access with key. Oxford college owned property, originally 1870s master-builder's home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
River Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing