We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely beautiful”

Christ Church Meadow
Book In Advance
More Info
US$50.84*
and up
Afternoon Tea Sightseeing River Cruise in Oxford
Ranked #8 of 177 things to do in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This scenic park offers a delightful two-mile walk through meadows and along river banks, offering picturesque views and ideal spots for picnics, sitting or just relaxing.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely beautiful”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Walk down the river and also enjoy the "farm environment". It is a very nice place do go for a hike, a picnic, maybe rest or read a book. You can catch an amazing sundown, with a little luck.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rafael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    515
    241
    32
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Picturesque river walk”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We started our walk by the side of the Oxford Botanical Gardens, which soon became a riverside walk, which we shared with a Muntjac Deer! Christ Church University was on our right and this lovely tributary of the Thames was on our left. After a while we reached the main river where we were joined by many Geese. The footpath then heads back in the form of a 'u' shape back towards the University and the magnificent entrance. All in all a very peaceful stroll which seemed far away from the City bustle.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“CHRISTCHURCH MEADOW OXFORD.”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My wife and I regularly walk in Christchurch Meadow, entering through the narrow gate in Rose Lane, at the bottom of The High.
Never once have we been and not seen the deer. We walk summer and winter, and in the winter it is just as beautiful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

It was an amazing experience. I suggest you walk up to the Thames on the Sunday to see the traiing of the rower teams.
Loved it !

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anais d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Visit”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This was a very beautiful area that leads down to the River and was part of our Oxford Walking Tour. Just lovely to stroll through on a lovely Spring or Summer Day

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Christ Church Meadow also viewed

 

Been to Christ Church Meadow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing