We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Tree Hotel at Iffley
Ranked #46 of 85 Oxford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 March 2009

Its an outstanding hotel......to go for...with amazing staff and fantastic cuisines....the location of the hotel adds extra stars to the performance.The rooms are clean and comfortable and very spacious.The breakfasts were quite excellent. The pub served tasty ales and ciders. Whatever we needed the staff obtained for us. We certainly feel that we can highly recommend this excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilviaIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2009

The Tree Hotel was an inexpensive but wholly acceptable choice that I made for a week's visit to Oxford ,The room was clean and comfortable,made up fresh every day, The wait staff were friendly and the service was great,

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ritamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2009

The Tree Hotel looks rather "Faulty Towers" from the outside and although the decor on the inside needs a bit of updating the rest of our stay did not in any way remind us of a 70's sitcom. The staff are exceptionally nice and helpful and welcoming. The food (breakfast) was really nice with a good range of cooked breakfasts available, and lovely fresh fruit and sometimes cheeses as well as the usual cereals and toast. Coffee was fabulous, and I recommend a Bailey's hot chocolate to take up to your room of an evening!

We had a family-sized room even though we just asked for a large double, so it was nice and spacious. We took advantage of their weekend offer so two nights were £90 and the Sunday night was £50 - very good value. The decor was a bit tired but it was not dirty or peeling off the wall or anything. It would have been better if the cutains were thicker or liend as the light did come through (and there is a light right outside that room on the outside of the building). The furniture was a bit rickety and perhaps ought to be replaced cheaply for a quick update, but not the double bed as this was very comfy indeed and is basically the most important really. We had very good nights' sleep.

It might be a good idea to have a few more surfaces in the room such as drawers or tables on which spread our stuff out; we ended up using the other two single beds which means that their covers might have got a little grubby from bags etc and needed changing for the next guests - a bit unecessary and an added expense for the hotel. The room was a bit cold when we arrived but quickly warmed up using the portable air heater supplied. The rest of the hotel was lovely and warm. Just one gripe about the room itself was the noice from the restaurant late at night, but this did fade by 11pm, and I guess is only to be expected in a small hotel with a popular restaurant. The en-suite worked very well and was clean - no complaints!

There were a couple of glitches with the booking; I had to email after receiving confirmation as only 2 nights had been booked, to change it to three. Then the price quoted on arrival was different to that when I booked. These were corrected very quickly and I am sure they were only by accident. They forgot to tell us that breakfast on Monday is a whole hour earlier, so we were late, but the staff went out of their way to accommodate us. The chef lives in a little house on-site and he is a lovely chap who quickly came over to cook us breakfast.

Nearby there is the lovely Iffley Lock which is beautiful. We brought our bicycles and came on the train (only £13.50 return each off-peak advance) and had a lvoely cycle ride into Oxford along the river.

On the whole, a lovely stay which was very good value for money. They could charge a bit more if a few updates are made. But perhaps that would be a shame!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HackneyMinxGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2008

We decided to visit this hotel to meet up with family, mainly because of an award it was given from a local radio station for the quality of it's restaurant.

The staff were all really friendly.

After looking at the hotel's website, I expected a large, clean restaurant but it was, in actual fact, just a bar with very tired furniture. Perhaps the dining room was somewhere else?

We visited on a Sunday, and expected a lavish buffet. There was enough Thai and Indian food on offer, but the Carvery was rather disappointing. The roast was quite tough and the gravy bland. My son enjoyed the Tandoori Chicken and Pilau rice.

Overall, I was rather disappointed with the visit as I didn't experience or see what was shown on the hotel's website.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margoHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreeatIffley, Manager at The Tree Hotel at Iffley, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2009

We are dissapointed to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. The restaurant is situated next to the pub and has a very different decor to the pub.

We do take your comments on board and plans are in place to recorate the Pub in near future.

In terms of the Buffet menu we try to incoporate new menus and in case you do fell let down by any of the dishes please let the staff know immediately as we would like to improve your experience and rectify the mistake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2008

Just returned from a really lovely stay at the Tree Hotel! Very clean room, excellent comfy bed, generous tea/coffee/biscuit supplies & friendly helpful staff. We ate at the restaurant & were impressed with the quality & wide choice of food & wine, & loved the breakfasts in the pub, enjoying scrambled egg & smoked salmon, fat herby sausages & tasty bacon. Would recommend staying here for comfort, cleanliness & the beautiful walk along the tow path into Oxford, especially on a frosty morning!! Needs a bit of modernising/redecorating (some being done while we were there) but plusses outweigh this by far - & once this happens I guess it will reflect in an inflated price. We thought pretty good value at £78 a night. Go & check it out!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahandHuw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2008

my boyfriend and i stayed here for three nights in august 2008 and it was a lovely experience. it was actually the first stop on our 8 week trip around western europe and was everything we had hoped for. the biggest problem that we had was finding the hotel when we got in to oxford (we flew to gatwick then took a coach to glocester green station in the centre of oxford). this was resolved with a quick stop at the tourist office for a map. you can take a bus from the city centre and then walk about 5 mins, or take a 30 min walk from town down the thames path to the iffley lock, which is a gorgeous walk down the river (but if you've just been on a 10 hour overnight flight and a 2 hour bus i'd recommend calling a cab from town to take you straight there). we walked the path every day and wandering at iffley lock and feeding the ducks was a favorite activity during our stay.

we had a small double room which was cozy enough for us but if you're used to north american style spacious hotel rooms you might want to consider getting the larger double. we had a large bed, full ensuite bathroom, chair, desk with a kettle, tea, coffee, and cookies, and a wardrobe. everything was clean and we had a lovely view of the backyard. the staff were very helpful and friendly.

the breakfast is very filling and quite a bit heavier than what we're used to eating but was fresh and tasty. the one night we ate at the restaurant, the food was good but the service was incredibly slow, we were there for 2.5 hours for a meal that we could have been done with in under an hour! but the pub just around the corner from the hotel is fast, fresh and absolutely delicious! if you're looking for other excellent food in oxford, go straight to Jamie's Italian... one of the best meals of our trip!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank suffragettecitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreeatIffley, Manager at The Tree Hotel at Iffley, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2008

Thank you for taking time to review the Hotel.

Please accept our unconditional apologies for the slow service during your meal. The main reasons for this is that we had a big group dinnig at the bar which slowed things down considerably.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2008

The Tree Hotel is set in a lovely location and we were glad of the peaceful location after being in the city.
The walk along the canal into Oxford is a must.

The staff are friendly and willing to do that bit extra. Rooms comfortable & clean. The food was brilliant, compliments to the cheff!

Only suggestion to the management is for fans in rooms during the summer as it gets pretty warm at night.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ladyigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.1 mi away
Hawkwell House Hotel
Hawkwell House Hotel
#18 of 44 in Oxford
1,059 reviews
4.3 mi away
Diana's Bed & Breakfast
Diana's Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 85 in Oxford
109 reviews
4 mi away
Cotswold House
Cotswold House
#48 of 85 in Oxford
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Browns
Browns
#54 of 85 in Oxford
53 reviews
2.1 mi away
Red Mullions
Red Mullions
#2 of 85 in Oxford
667 reviews
3.2 mi away
Gables Guest House
Gables Guest House
#12 of 85 in Oxford
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tree Hotel at Iffley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tree Hotel at Iffley

Address: 63 Church Way | Iffley Village, Oxford OX4 4EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range: £61 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tree Hotel at Iffley 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Tree Hotel at Iffley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing