We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice owners and location needs revamp”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Tree Hotel at Iffley
Ranked #46 of 85 Oxford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 February 2010

We stayed Valentines night and had booked the jacuzzi room. We found the owners to be very nice and helpful but basically the hotel is a pub with rooms above it. unfortunately our room was above the bar and there was a party downstairs so sleep was minimal. The owners gave us a small discount when we checked out as a result.
The place needs modernising, it is in a lovely area and could be great.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinDaveo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2010

Lack of time regrettably meant we didn't eat dinner there but breakfast was excellent. Iffley's really nice, and Oxford's reachable in 25 mins by lovely riverside walk. Spacious clean room that should be even nicer once the imminent refurbishment goes ahead.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astruncy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

My husband surprised me with a romantic Valentine's weekend away and he chose The Tree Hotel after trawling through the various offerings and reviews on TA. Booking was easy and when we arrived check-in was quick.

Our room was very large with a double and a single bed and ample room to move around, we even had a huge comfy sofa by the window. The ceilings are high and the sash windows are massive so I worried about it being cold - but the temperature was perfect even on a very cold night. The furniture was a little dated but we have been informed by the hotel staff that they are updating the rooms in the next few months.

Our plan was to do the touristy bit in Oxford during the day on Saturday then shower and change at the hotel and return to Oxford for a meal and maybe some dancing in the evening. On our return to the hotel the delicious aromas wafting from the restaurant were enough for us to venture downstairs. The menu has a small selection of Indian, Thai and English food and I have to say, we had 2 of the nicest curries we have had in ages.

We were just about to order a taxi to take us back into town (about £5) when we noticed many people in varying stages of fancy dress having a whale of a time in the hotel bar/pub so we decided to have a drink there first. We finally staggered to our room at about 1am after dancing the night away at a German Bier Fest. Great fun.

Breakfast in the morning was a much more sedate affair and again the food was delicious. The hotel offer a stunning Sunday Buffet according to the locals which unfortunately, we were unable to sample as back into Oxford via the River Thames Walkway (about 30mins) to continue with our touristy things to visit.

To recap - The staff were extremely friendly and they all entered into the spirit of the themed entertainment with gusto. The rooms are clean and warm if a little basic, the food is delicious.

We would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank PurplePaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

We stayed at The Tree Hotel for a weekend in Feb 2010. The hotel is located in a small village away from the hustle and bustle and about a 40 minute walk from Oxford City centre. Forget the taxi and enjoy the walk alongside the Thames, it's good for your health and the scenery is well worth it.

The room itelf was clean, spacious and comfortable, with a small tv mounted on a bracket from the wall. There was a small wardrobe and ample drawer space to store clothes. The bathroom included a toilet, basin and shower, with some toiletries provided. I believe free wi-fi in each room is a part of the standard deal at the hotel. My only criticism of the room was the dated decor. For me personally this did not detract from the stay but I do think the hotel would benefit from a 'modernising facelift' on the inside. My main concerns though are cleanliness and comfort and there were no issues with either at the Tree Hotel.

We ate our meals in the bar (the dining room was empty) and the food was very good. Even though we managed to get a well-priced, half-board deal the portions were large (you will not need a dessert). My minor criticism with regards to the menu was it was mostly centered around Indian and Far East dishes. Fine for me as these are my favourite styles, but anyone not partial to these themes would have a limited choice.

I'd certainly recommend this hotel; although as my title suggests it is an ideal place from which to base a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bugerov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

This is lovely place to stay and I stay here every couple of months.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. The curry is yummy and although the bedrooms all have little quirks, such as my regular room the ensuit is down a few steps and is as big as the bedroom, its nice place. They are updating the rooms at the moment which is good and the location is lovely not far room the river.

On Thursday night be warned there is pub quiz down stair so don't go to bed before 10.30 as its a bit noise both otherwise its fine. The internet conenction is free which is great but signal strength is variable.

Breakfast is full and freshly cook if you want it otherwise fruit, cereals, yohgurts and toast.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HJWLondonSyndey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

Located in quiet and charmingly picturesque Iffley Village, a short bus ride from Oxford, The Tree is a beautiful old b and b with a superb restaurant. Very accommodating staff and very inexpensive. I have stayed there at least four times and it is always a treat.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NancyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

Nice old fashioned Pub with rooms. Extremely nice staff. Excellent food. (Indian, Thai). Free WLAN. Perhaps a bit difficult if you have noisy people in the room next door.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank urseberhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.1 mi away
Hawkwell House Hotel
Hawkwell House Hotel
#18 of 44 in Oxford
1,053 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lina Guest House
Lina Guest House
#56 of 85 in Oxford
65 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Oxford Osney Arms
The Oxford Osney Arms
#16 of 85 in Oxford
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Oxfordbnb
Oxfordbnb
#9 of 85 in Oxford
108 reviews
4.3 mi away
Diana's Bed & Breakfast
Diana's Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 85 in Oxford
109 reviews
0.6 mi away
Browns
Browns
#53 of 85 in Oxford
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tree Hotel at Iffley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tree Hotel at Iffley

Address: 63 Church Way | Iffley Village, Oxford OX4 4EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range: £62 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tree Hotel at Iffley 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Tree Hotel at Iffley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing