We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holywell Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 82 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect location!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Towards the end of a closed-off street, this B&B offers the best location in town: quiet and central. The house is quaint but has all the modcons: powerful shower, soft beds, wi-fi, TV. We stayed in All Souls Room, which is spacious, clean and very pretty. The host and hostess are very friendly and cook a terrific breakfast. To top it all, blackbirds gave us delightful morning concerts to wake up to. Thank you, Steve and Carrie, for a wonderful stay. P.S. Ask them about the Cavalier soldier ...

Room Tip: Old house, which means narrow and steep stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirja T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    14
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
24
75
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hermosa Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The small and beautiful historic building that is the Holywell B&B places you in the center of picturesque Oxford.The colleges, the Bodleian library, Blackwell's, the Botanic Gardens and The Turf Tavern(!) are only steps away. The rest of Oxford (the Ashmolean and the Pitt River Museums, the Martyr's Memorial, etc.) are within easy walking distance. Carrie and Stuart Holloway are the most thoughtful of hosts. The rooms are bright and immaculate, the breakfast designed to your wishes, and Stuart then changes hats to impart decades of knowledge on the Oxford colleges as he leads the Oxford Walking Tours from in front of Trinity College. As a transplanted American, Carrie is able to provide some unique insights on the city. For those who miss their dogs, Max is available as a morning greeter. This was our third trip to Oxford, but our first staying at the Holywell. It will certainly be our destination of choice in the future.

Rick & Diane H

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RDtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed at the Holywell B&B for three nights in March. Great location near a number of the colleges. The owners were very helpful. If you get a chance go on the walking tour of Oxford that Stuart gives. A good breakfast and a very clean room added to the overall stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RufusGNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at Holywell B&B in Oxford. It is one of very few B&Bs right in the centre of Oxford which also offers limited free car parking. Just a moments walk from the main Oxford attractions the owners Stuart and Carrie are excellent friendly hosts and the breakfasts set you up for the day. A very clean well appointed property. We highly recommend and hope to return..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rogerstalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was our second occasion staying in this delightful small B&B close to both Mansfield & New College.As previously, we stayed in the New College Room. Improvements last Autumn have converted this into an en suite bedroom, and the room has been tastefully refurbished. You can opt for continental or full English breakfasts, and the owners (Carrie & Stuart Holloway) are friendly and welcoming. Stuart doubles up as a town guide, so there is no shortage of information about Oxford to hand.There is car parking in a locked yard adjoining the B &B, and prices are competitive. It's a great place to stay- a short walk away is the famous Turf Tavern(concealed down an alleyway), parts of which date back to the 16th century. Both this pub and the White Horse (Next to Blackwell's Bookshop) remain much as they were when I first spent time in Oxford (1968), which is comforting.The Ashmoleum and Pitt Rivers Museums are a 10 minute walk away.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Vic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorburg, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We have stayed here twice now, and rate it our very favourite place to stay in Oxford. We stayed in the New College Room, which looked straight out at the old buildings of New College just across the street. This spacious room is charmingly put together, with a very comfortable bed and a really nice en-suite, the breakfast is generous and sets you up for the day, and Stuart and Carrie are delightful hosts. There is also really welcome (and free!) gated parking behind the house, which is a real find in a city where parking can be a nightmare. They have even allowed us to leave our car there at other times when we were not actually staying with them. We really can't see why anyone would want to stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: All three rooms have their own distinct character, but The New College Room is our particular favour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We wanted a homely b & b to stay in Oxford central for a few days and found The Holywell B & B.
Perfect central location, even offered us private parking which is at a premium.
Carrie showed us to our room on the first floor which was en-suite. Spotlessly clean with lots of interesting memorabilia around the room. Comfy bed, tea/coffee facilities in the room. Free wi-if.
Breakfast was a typical English breakfast - ample and all freshly cooked with lots of tea and coffee and toast.
Good value for money - Oxford is on a par with London.
Lots of pubs & restaurant within walking distance.
Would try and return to the Holywell B & B again later this year.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.2 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
691 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.4 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holywell Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holywell Bed and Breakfast

Property: Holywell Bed and Breakfast
Address: 14 Holywell Street, Oxford OX1 3SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, quiet, and traditional bed and breakfast located in the very heart of Oxford. The only traditional B&B in the city centre, Holywell B&B is a Grade II listed building and our home. Located opposite New College, with ample private parking, we are an excellent location for exploring the dreaming spires of Oxford. Ensuite and private baths, WiFi, and full breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing