We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B in the centre of Oxford”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holywell Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 81 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B in the centre of Oxford”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had a wonderful stay in this authentic B&B which is just a short walk into town. Staying on the top floor we had to carry our suitcases up the small, steep winding staircase. Our room faced the street and was next to the bathroom which was for our private use. The B&B has a lot of character with old pictures on the walls and history books in the bookcase. The owner, Stuart, was a superb host contacting us before arrival and making sure everything was OK. Breakfast was delicious, eggs and pancakes with fresh berries. We signed up for Stuart's Oxford Walking Tour who took us to some of the magnificent old colleges. Great visit!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colemink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    14
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
24
72
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tyler
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We made a day trip to Oxford a year ago as part of a two week trip through Great Britain and fell in love with it - so when we planned a return trip to England this year I was determined to make Oxford our homebase for exploring. When I found Holywell BnB, I knew this was where I wanted to stay. It was ideal. The BnB is in the heart of Oxford. New College is directly across the street. The Bodleian and the Sheldonian are just two to three blocks down Holywell Street. There is so much happening in Oxford during the summer - nightly music events and concerts in the colleges, Shakespeare performances various places around town and of course beautiful gardens everywhere. This BnB makes it easy and convenient to do all of it. It is walking distance to the rail station - not bad even with luggage. The rooms - we were in the New College room - are well furnished and comfortably large - surprisingly so considering the age of the house: built in 1530. Carrie and Stuart were very friendly and helpful. There is no air conditioning - not a surprise considering the age of the building - but when a warm front came through Carrie graciously and thoughtfully provided a fan - without any request from us! Carrie was also very helpful in helping us locate a variety of things: from dinner options to Catholic Mass times to a launderette to help us manage our mountain of dirty clothes. Stuart operates a walking tour business which offers a discount to BnB guests - a great way to see the Chapels, gardens, dining halls etc of various colleges. Highly recommend this BnB if you want to really experience Oxford. The only negative - in the summer you need to keep the windows open much of the time and the delivery trucks for New College and nearby restaurants start rolling early.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Holywell B&B is the real deal, from the grab rails to haul yourself up the stairs, to the tastefully updated bathrooms, the amazing central location, accommodating hosts with a wealth of local knowledge, delicious hot breakfasts that last you until a late pub lunch/dinner, a passing parade of students on bicycles, and a profoundly moving Evensong service at the New College directly opposite from the inn. Add a tour with Stuart and you will have immersed yourself in Oxford, past and present!

Room Tip: watch the boys on their way to and from school from the street-facing room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeepCove02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Great location and breakfast, and a comfortable room. Walk to everything. Connie, Carrie and Stuart are most gracious, and Stuart's tour is informative and funny. We stayed a week and will definitely return when we have a chance to dream among Oxford's spires again.

Room Tip: Small B&B so book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at Holywell B&B for three nights and found it excellent in many ways - charming rooms, comfortable and spacious; fantastic location in the centre of Oxford, with everything within easy walking distance; delicious breakfast and car parking available.

We would certainly stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This B&B is magnificent. Welcoming and kind service of our hosts, pleasant, charming and clean room and a wonderful breakfast. Location is great. The guided tour in historic Oxford is highly recommendable. We can only give our best recommendations - will be back at this B&B next time!

Room Tip: Free parking available - even though in center of Oxford
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blaesberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
181 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Very quiet location. Near to centre.Superb room which was well decorated. Nice touches with bath robes , books, chocolates etc . Relaxing and large bed. Cozy and romantic. Friendly staff and good breakfast.Historic breakfast room.Will certainly return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.5 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holywell Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holywell Bed and Breakfast

Property: Holywell Bed and Breakfast
Address: 14 Holywell Street, Oxford OX1 3SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, quiet, and traditional bed and breakfast located in the very heart of Oxford. The only traditional B&B in the city centre, Holywell B&B is a Grade II listed building and our home. Located opposite New College, with ample private parking, we are an excellent location for exploring the dreaming spires of Oxford. Ensuite and private baths, WiFi, and full breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing