We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my 65th birthday meal” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Horse Thai Restaurant

The White Horse Thai Restaurant
Ranked #108 of 622 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“my 65th birthday meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

visited here on dec 4th 2013 with family and a close friend.most of the meal was acceptable but the jasmin rice was just boiled rice with no flavour or fragrance.the waitress appeared to think she was at a funeral wake what a sour face woman.why was she working there.there were 2 of them in fact.dont think we will be going there again.she never smiled when she bought my beautiful birthday cake out or wished me a happy birthday.the food was ok but not very hot in the cooking sense but it was very well presented with carved vegs etc on the plates.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank susan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    17
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
245 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Food was good but overall our visit was spoilt by the service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

Had a meal here on Saturday evening. The food was very good, but the service was appalling. We have visited many Thai restaurants and normally Thai people are very welcoming, but the lady who served us was very miserable. She did ask if we had been before and we said no and then proceeded to recommend the set course and that was it. We weren't regularly checked to see if we wanted anymore drink, so had to keep asking. I probably wouldn't visit again, but would recommend it for the food and you never know the service might improve.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mx5fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

Lovely quite place, food delicious and good value. Not somewhere you would pass by accident as it's a quite little village (roads a little bumpy in places) but if you're looking for somewhere quite with great food you just found it. Their website doesn't do the place justice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous value lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Visited many times with family for their fabulous £5 lunch deal. Amazing tasty food and good service. Booking essential!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lorli-hutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“one of Oxford's best kept Secrets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Excellent authentic Thai food. I have been visiting this restaurant a number of years now and everytime the food has been superb. I reccomend trying the mixed starter for 2 and the Lamb Massaman Curryor Phad Thai. The lunchtime menu is also of particulary good value. Service is friendly and warm. One Oxford's hidden gems and worth seeking out.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank the_hugstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Horse Thai Restaurant also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The White Horse Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing