We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean but something had gone wrong that day...”
Review of Holiday Inn Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oxford
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good clean but something had gone wrong that day...”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Arrived at 11pm, car park dug up which required some neat reversing to get back out.
Friendly reception staff that had to walk me to my room as the key cards werent working.
Was assured key would be pushed under door during night. It wasnt.
Early start meant I had not booked breakfast and just a coffee in my room... kettle, cups and coffee but no milk or sugar. So had to go to breakfast, where they tried to charge full breakfast price for a coffee... i eventually managed to explain the issue and they didnt charge for it.
Then got a key, went to room, key not working, walked back down, got a member of staff to open door (without any proof of that it was my room).
Overall, the stay was OK in a clean and well managed hotel but they just missed some details.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Mote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Mr_Mote,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    486
    227
    48
    33
See reviews for
225
369
47
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This is a generic holiday inn .The room was nice and clean and although the hotel was fully booked there was no noise outside late at night which has to be down to god management . Reception was friendly and efficient The breakfast staff were also friendly and the buffet well stocked The only sight disappointment was the coffee which was tepid and smokey and difficult to get a second cup .This was minor and a definitely better than average breakfast experience

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahappytraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you very much for posting your recent review on Trip Advisor following your visit to the Holiday Inn Oxford.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and liked the Hotel and facilities, I will pass your comments onto our Food & Beverage Manager relating to the coffee.
Your compliments regarding the staff and their service will be shared amongst the team.
Thank you once again and I do hope that you visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Yes I too would stay here again because the Holiday Inn provided good value for money - Breakfast was included and was good - rooms were clean and staff were curteous. They even had the third bed ready in our room which is usually forgotten by most hotels but not this one.
However guests should be aware that it is a bit way out of Oxford and if you are expecting to walk to the city of dreaming spires then you are mistaken. It is on the pear tree round about, woodstock. The confusion arose for me because woodstock ROAD starts in the centre of the city and goes on for 5 miles and holiday inn is on the other end. There are park and ride buses that take you into the city which is convenient though and if you have your car it is easy to drive in.
Do stay at the holiday inn but just be aware of this fact regarding the location.
Room service food was tasty, quick and well priced.
Internet cost 15 pounds or 20 euros or 20 dollars a day which I think is a pain to pay. don't know why but I feel internet is like air and it should be freely available everywhere including in your room - in this day and age paying for internet...tut tut...
Parking was ample and free which was very positive and although right on the motorway I must say their double glazing is excellent and the room was super quiet.
Yes I would go there when I just want to sleep in and not worry about parking and stuff.
hope this helps.

Room Tip: we were in the executive room which accommodated three people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roxinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and liked the Hotel and facilities - even though we were a little further from the City Centre than you expected!
Your compliments have been shared with the team and your comments noted regarding the internet charges. We do have different bundles available to suit guest requirements and these can be discussed at Reception.
Many thanks once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Oxford.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

I checked into this hotel after a long week at a conference abroad and a terrible flight back into Gatwick. Upon arrival during the early hours of the morning, this weary traveller was greeted with a smile, efficient check in service and the key to a very nice room. I ordered from 24 hour room service and demolished the chicken and avocado sandwich which I can reccomend.

The stay in this hotel was professional, fanastic and the hotel has definitely earned its place on my list of preferred places to stay when in that part of the world.

My take home message to the staff is keep up the good work.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSN123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you very much for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Oxford.
It is always a pleasure to receive such complimentary feedback and I have shared your kind comments with the team.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back for future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Great reception staff (who now greet me by name on arrival). Room and bedding clean, you know what to expect. Food and drinks usual high prices of a hotel, with food not being particularly good quality. Restaurant staff at breakfast friendly and efficient. Great choice of fruit for breakfast.
I stay away once a month in the Oxford area and over the last 14 years have tried many others in the area, but always come back here.
Unfortunately no free wifi, with high charges, but Hol inn express at kassam stadium has free wifi.
There is a waitrose, Starbucks and KFC on same site as hotel.
Road noise from A34 can be a nuisance if on the wrong side of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor and I am pleased that you enjoy your visits with us on a regular basis. Your kind comments have been shared with the team.
I have noted your comments regarding no complimentary wi-fi , however there are different packages available to suit individual requirements.
Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

OK, its a Holiday Inn, so you know pretty much what to expect. We stayed for 2 nights, and I have to say that the staff without exception were very efficient and polite (mainly east European. We ate in the restaurant as our break included a meal on the first night. Well, it was very nice, but couldn't help feeling it was very stodgy and big - not much about fine dining. We were a bit disappointed that the meals included on our deal were limited and perhaps some of the other meals would have been more to our liking. Breakfast was superb. Overall, a nice stay-over and just a walk over to the Park and Ride for a visit to Oxford city which was fantastic!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichinLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Oxford and that you used the Park & Ride bus service to visit the City Centre to take in the sights of Oxford!
Your comments regarding our staff have been passed to the Departmental Managers to share with their teams.
I hope that you will visit us again in the future when we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Check in was fast and efficient. My room on the forth floor was clean and comfortable. I like the fact that this holiday inn hasn't stooped low enough to start charging guests to park. It is a shame the same cant be said for the outrageous wifi charges! In every holiday inn review I read guests always complain about this charge more than anything else. One day I am sure somebody will listen and do something about it. On the whole though I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you for posting you recent review on Trip Advisor following your visit to Oxford. I am pleased that you found our Reception staff efficient and friendly and that you liked you room.
With regard to the wi-fi charges, I am sorry that it is not complimentary - we do have different bundles available to cater for individual requirements.
Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
383 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
3.0 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
723 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
4.0 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#8 of 44 in Oxford
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oxford

Property: Holiday Inn Oxford
Address: Peartree Roundabout | Woodstock Road, Oxford OX2 8JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#9 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#13 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oxford is situated on the leafy north side of this historic University City. The hotel is ideally located next to the A34 with easy access to the M40, Bicester Designer Outlet Village, Silverstone F1 Race Track, M4 motorway and Oxford Parkway Station. Holiday Inn Oxford is situated in an ideal location for travel into Oxford offering a modern, relaxing environment for either a business or leisure stay in Oxford with ample parking. The city offers a priority Park and Ride bus service which is located next to the hotel. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children and they are all supplied with a double bed and a sofa bed - sofa beds suitable for children of 12 years or younger. Don't forget that in Holiday Inn Oxford kids Eat & Stay Free(Terms & conditions apply). The extensive Spirit Health Club is also available to our guests, offering a large gym & large indoor heated swimming pool complimented by Spa & Beauty therapists. For the benefit of our business guests the Holiday Inn Oxford boasts the purpose built, self contained, Academy Conference & Training Suites, with dedicated Reception, Business and Stewarding team. Discover the enchanting history of Oxford including the world famous University of Oxford, along with the Cotswolds and Blenheim Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oxford Hotel Oxford
Oxford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing