We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but...”
Review of Holiday Inn Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oxford
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“OK, but...”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

The Hotel is a standard 4* quality hotel. Clean, spacious and very confortable rooms and service are a plus. Unappily, the location it is not the best for central Oxford access, at least in weekdays. The Hotel is located 4/5 miles away from central Oxford, so forget any possibility of walking within reasonable time.

I am not sure if was unlucky, but I got always long lines both traveling to central Oxford in the morning and back to the hotel in the evening. In spite of available bus lanes in part of the course, reaching Oxford is not so easy and fast as I would expect. I always used a Taxi to move. Unhappily, there are no Taxis near the Hotel, and you have to call and wait for 15 min (average/minimum) to get one. From central Oxford is of course faster. Anyway, count on about 10 Pounds each way.

The breakfast is very complete concerning hot dishes, no so much relating the fruits / bread choice; anyway, it is OK for the hotel ranking.

Last but not least, no free WiFi access is unacceptable these days. If this intends to be a business style hotel, does not make sense to require huge payments when sometime one only needs to send a mail or check an address or location.

In short, it is a standard Hotel, with reasonable service but poor location for central Oxford acess.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FernandoS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 30 December 2012
I would like to thank you for your recent review posted on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you liked the hotel and its facilities and sorry that you were disappointed that we are not a city centre Hotel. However as you experienced we do have a nominated taxi supplier and are situated next the the Oxford Peartree Park & Ride for easy travel into the centre of town.
Thank you once again and I do hope that you visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    486
    225
    48
    33
See reviews for
225
369
47
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We stayed overnight in the hotel and found the hotel up to the standard expected. However,the staff were the most helpful and courteous that I have come across for ages. No issue was too much trouble and they called to check our room was OK and that there were no complaints.
The only complaint was that we were above the function suite and the music finished around 12. But this can happen in any hotel. The location is within 10 minutes of the city centre - about 2 miles and just of the main bypass road. There is even a Waitrose on the site!

Overall we had an excellent stay and would return!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boyscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
I was very pleased to read your kind comments following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Oxford.
It is always a pleasure to receive such complimentary feedback relating to our staff and facilities and I have shared these with the whole team here at the Hotel.
Thank you once again and I hope that you will visit us again in the future, when we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised by this holiday inn. Despite being near a main road it's quite. Rooms clean, modern and comfortable. Great facilities. Free Starbucks coffee in reception in the morning. A really nice touch. Sadly the only negatives being £15 for wifi. Wifi should be free in this day and age.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cookie1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Thank you for posting your recent review on TripAdvisor regarding your visit to the Holiday Inn Oxford. I have shared your kind comments amongst the team and passed your feedback relating to Wifi to our Head Office.
Thank you once again for your comments and I do hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Holiday Inn last weekend for two nights. I was attending a weekend course nearby. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff accommodating. When the service at the bar was slow one of the managers came and helped. One drink only at those prices however.The room was fine and there was no problem with road noise. We were on the second floor but, to us, this was the first floor and their first floor was our ground floor. The hotel is well situated near the Park and Ride. Did what it said on the tin.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Thank you very much for your kind & positive review posted on TripAdvisor following your weekend stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Oxford.
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and your compliments have been shared amongst the whole team.
Thank you again and I hope that you will choose this location for future visits to Oxford.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

New building, rooms are a bit dated. Walls a bit thin, could hear everytime the bloke next door was using the toilet! Seems overpriced. Difficult to get out onto roundabout when busy. Sainsburys 2 minutes up the road.

On the up side staff friendly, and got a room upgrade!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Durham_Bloke_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Thank you for your review following your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Oxford. I am pleased that you found our staff friendly and helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

We used hotwire.com, and this was our mystery hotel! As a young couple we were a bit unsure about the location and how easy it would be to get into central Oxford. Turns out there's a park and ride a five minute walk away. We couldn't have been happier with the hotel either. Excellent, positive service from the staff who could easily answer any questions we had. Our spacious room was on the third floor and there was no issue with road noise. A lovely weekend!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adambacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Many thanks from your 'Mystery Hotel' for your kind comments posted on TripAdvisor. Here at the Holiday Inn Oxford we welcome such positive feedback relating to our Hotel, facilities and our staff.
Thank you once again and I do hope that you will visit us again in the future, when we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

I've stayed at this hotel before and been disappointed in the overall impression. I must say however that the hotel has made great strides in addressing their deficencies.

The hotel is very easy to find, being located on a Services Station just on the outskirts of Oxford. Rush hour can present a problem exiting the services, but then again this could be said for every location.

The check in experience was very good, and the staff incredibly polite and courtous. They provided me with all of the details I needed and the general look and feel of this hotel feels perfect for it's location.

The room was clean and contained all of the essentials required (Although it was noted that you will need to call housekeeping for an iron and ironing board - although this came quickly when requested). The room is comfortable with air conditioning and a good selection of channels on the TV. A nice touch was made with a courtesy call to ask if everything was ok with the room and ask if there was anything else I needed

The food was also of good quality, served well and at reasonable prices. There is a wide variety of food available and from the look of other tables (And my own) each was of high quality.

The checkout experience was very good, quick and with enough staff on to meet the demands of the queue.

I'd certainly recommend this hotel for it's location and convenience and also polite and courteous staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth_Saunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Thank you for your recent comments following your visit to the Holiday Inn Oxford. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our Hotel and facilities improved from your previous visit. Your comments are most appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
377 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
3.0 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
723 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
4.0 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#9 of 44 in Oxford
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oxford

Property: Holiday Inn Oxford
Address: Peartree Roundabout | Woodstock Road, Oxford OX2 8JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#9 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#13 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oxford is situated on the leafy north side of this historic University City. The hotel is ideally located next to the A34 with easy access to the M40, Bicester Designer Outlet Village, Silverstone F1 Race Track, M4 motorway and Oxford Parkway Station. Holiday Inn Oxford is situated in an ideal location for travel into Oxford offering a modern, relaxing environment for either a business or leisure stay in Oxford with ample parking. The city offers a priority Park and Ride bus service which is located next to the hotel. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children and they are all supplied with a double bed and a sofa bed - sofa beds suitable for children of 12 years or younger. Don't forget that in Holiday Inn Oxford kids Eat & Stay Free(Terms & conditions apply). The extensive Spirit Health Club is also available to our guests, offering a large gym & large indoor heated swimming pool complimented by Spa & Beauty therapists. For the benefit of our business guests the Holiday Inn Oxford boasts the purpose built, self contained, Academy Conference & Training Suites, with dedicated Reception, Business and Stewarding team. Discover the enchanting history of Oxford including the world famous University of Oxford, along with the Cotswolds and Blenheim Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oxford Hotel Oxford
Oxford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing