We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised by high standard of service”
Review of Holiday Inn Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oxford
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Brighton
Level Contributor
138 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Surprised by high standard of service”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Spent the night of Saturday 4th of May in this Holiday Inn. Had a great deal through Expedia!
Very efficient and helpful check inn. Ordered us a taxi immediately
Very polite staff.
Comfortable, spacious, very clean room.
Fantastic hot buffet breakfast.
Near to park and ride to centre of Oxford.
Would recommend to all Oxford visitors.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at sides or back, quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your great feedback left on TripAdvisor following your recent visit and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Oxford for future visits.
Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    469
    213
    47
    32
See reviews for
218
351
45
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed with my boyfriend over the bank holiday for 2 nights. Overall was excellent!! swimming pool,sauna,steam room.. we really enjoyed alot!!! staff was very friendly.
Very convenient to oxford city centre and Bicester village by car. The only one thing: our room was facing the entrance... and there was a long bench for smokers at the entrance...in the night there were some lads sitting there,smoking talking and laughing loudly which was a bit annoying and woke me up 3 am in the morning...... so I wouldnt choose that side of the room again...but overall was very pleasant and we will defo stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure to receive your complimentary feedback of the Holiday Inn Oxford and pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel, liked the facilities and location - in particular friendly & helpful staff.
I am sorry that you were woken during the night, but glad that this had not deterred you from choosing this Hotel for future visits.
Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Court
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We wanted to go to Oxford, firstly to sightsee and then to visit Blenheim Palace. I chose this Hotel because it was right next to the Park and Ride for getting into Oxford, and then it was the right side of Oxford for Blenheim. We arrived fairly early on Sunday morning knowing that we were too early to check in, but the Receptionist Francine was very helpful and showed us where the Park and Ride was. It couldn't have been more convenient especially when we discovered that because we have bus passes, we could do the trips for free!! We had a great trip round Oxford on the open topped bus. We came back to the Hotel and we were asked which floor we wanted to be on. We said we wanted the nicest room!! so we were upgraded to an Executive Room on the 4th floor. It was very well appointed, with attractive wooden blinds which slid across and made the room absolutely dark if required. It was attractively decorated with cream walls and a contrasted maroon wall. There was a chiller where we put our water and orange juice. We were also given towelling robes. We went down to the pool which was very nice indeed. It was very clean, a good size, and with a very nice Jacuzzi. Our only criticism would be that there were only 3 loungers. One couple stayed on 2 of the loungers all the time we were there so 1 lounger for the 2 of us wasn't an option. There was quite a big space round the pool so it would have been nice to have at least 6 loungers.
We booked into dinner in the Restaurant. The food was delicious if a little expensive - £15 for a boeuf bourguignon with just mash but that is a small quibble.
Breakfast was very good, with lots of choice and it was nice to have a cafetiere of coffee each.
When we checked out, they were very friendly. This was an extremely good deal. We booked direct with the hotel on a pre-paid saver - it was £105.00 including breakfast for the 2 of us. I know the prices on the wall in Reception are always slightly over-the-top! but it did say that an Executive Room for one night was £275.00 so we feel we had a really good deal. We wouldn't hesitate to stay at this Hotel again.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor in room 416. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenwood22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Oxford. It sounds like you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and your compliments have been shared with the whole team.
I do hope that you visit us again in the future, when we look forward to welcoming you back to Oxford. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Me and my husband stayed here on a recent trip to Oxford. Unfortunately we chose to stay at the same time as a rather loud, badly behaved wedding party but obviously not the hotels fault!
The service was (as always in Holiday Inn hotels) excellent, staff were polite, polite and more than happy to help with everything.
We arrived up to our deluxe double room, there were no robes, no slippers and the coffee/tea tray hasn't been replaced since the last occupants by the looks of things. We phoned down to reception and robes were brought up almost instantly but the other things never arrived. As we weren't particularly bothered we decided not to complain further.
The room and hotel in general was clean, I also like the fact the rooms are spacious.
My only real concern is the food. Little choice except for in the restaurant which didn't open until 7.30pm (we usually eat about 5 /6 due to being up early) so we only had the option of the bar menu. We ordered room service as we didn't want to sit with the loud wedding party, it arrived cold and the food seemed to have been sitting around a while.
Excellent position with park and ride in the next car park.
Overall not a bad stay but at nearly £170 a room it just wasn't worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mindfulfawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review following your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Oxford. I am pleased that you liked the Hotel, it was a pity for you that there was a wedding party staying at the same time!
I have shared your comments regarding your room service experience with the food and beverage team and apologise that it was not hot on arrival.
Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

Great 2 night stay - room was very hot though and air conditioning not fully working ( we were assured by manager it will work when it gets hotter ) Breakfast was fantastic - and level of cleanliness throughout hotel was great - never got chance to use the pool or facilities but will be back in the summer and looking forward to it

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank susan_cameron3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your complimentary feedback following your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Oxford.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will get the chance to make full use of our pool and facilities during your summer visit.
Thank your again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We were in Oxford for our son's graduation, so booked two rooms, which were thoughtfully allocated across teh corridor from each other. We have got to know Oxford very well over the last three years and decided it would be much better to stay out near the park and ride than pay city centre prices and have problems parking. We got 24 hour tickets for the park and ride which are great value. The hotel itself is modern and very clean. Some of the carpets in teh corridors could do with replacement but otherwise standard were excellent. We didn't use the leisure centre or the restaurant except for breakfast. The staff were very friendly and efficient.
For us this place was exactly what we were looking for for our visit. There were just a few niggles. The air conditioning pipes ( we think) were quite noisy at night. We were alos surprised there were no soft drink vending machines - you had to either use room service or buy a drink from the bar and take it to your room.
I suspect more organised travellers stock up in Waitrose (next door) and put things in their fridge.

Lastly, and this seems to be the case in all hotels of this type, why do they think it is OK to serve up a plate of greasy eggs with hard yolks on the breakfast buffet? If you stay in either a cheap B&B or a better rated hotel you get eggs cooked to order, but middle order places like this think a cooked breakfast is all the better for sitting for ages on a hotplate. A mystery to me!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Higgle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your recent on TripAdvisor following your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Oxford. I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and have noted your 'niggles'. I have also informed our Head Chef of your feedback regarding your experience of eggs at breakfast, and he joins me in an apology.
Thank you once again for your feedback and I do hope that you visit us again in the future, when we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIRRAL MERSEYSIDE
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We had been on a mini cruise from Southampton for 3 nights and decided to stop at Oxford on the way back. Got a fantastic deal Through Travel Republic.
The Holiday Inn is a great Hotel just outside Oxford. You can park your car free of charge in their car park unlike some of the Oxford City Hotels, and then walk over to the park and ride nearby. Takes about 5 mins to walk there . It cost us £ 4,50 return for 2 people . The Bus runs regularly right up to almost midnight. The journey only takes about 12 minuites as well.
The hotel is great, we were checked in by Francine, who was very helpful, and gave us a map of Oxford and a bus time table, and even gave us a courtesy call to the room to check that we were happy with everything. We were very pleased with the room lots of space and even a chiller fridge to keep things cool, Our deal included a 2 course meal on the first night, and we enjoyed that. Breakfast is the usual self service,hot and cold with cereals. Tea and coffee are served to you. Customer service was very good. All the staff were very friendly. I would reccomend this Hotel to anyone travelling to Oxford, and when we return we will be staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auntyeese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind feedback and I am very pleased that you had such an enjoyable visit to the Holiday Inn Oxford.
Your comments regarding our Hotel, its location, service, facilities and friendly staff have been shared amongst the whole team and we look forward to welcoming you back for future visits.
Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
6.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#12 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
3.0 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
6.1 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oxford

Property: Holiday Inn Oxford
Address: Peartree Roundabout | Woodstock Road, Oxford OX2 8JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#8 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#13 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oxford is situated on the leafy north side of this historic University City. The hotel is ideally located next to the A34 with easy access to the M40, Bicester Designer Outlet Village, Silverstone F1 Race Track, M4 motorway and Oxford Parkway Station. Holiday Inn Oxford is situated in an ideal location for travel into Oxford offering a modern, relaxing environment for either a business or leisure stay in Oxford with ample parking. The city offers a priority Park and Ride bus service which is located next to the hotel. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children and they are all supplied with a double bed and a sofa bed - sofa beds suitable for children of 12 years or younger. Don't forget that in Holiday Inn Oxford kids Eat & Stay Free(Terms & conditions apply). The extensive Spirit Health Club is also available to our guests, offering a large gym & large indoor heated swimming pool complimented by Spa & Beauty therapists. For the benefit of our business guests the Holiday Inn Oxford boasts the purpose built, self contained, Academy Conference & Training Suites, with dedicated Reception, Business and Stewarding team. Discover the enchanting history of Oxford including the world famous University of Oxford, along with the Cotswolds and Blenheim Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oxford Hotel Oxford
Oxford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing