We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for Oxford, business and relax” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oxford
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
tychy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good for Oxford, business and relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Spent 3 nights here on business trip.
Not cheap (we paid 115gbp / night without breakfast) but I was swayed by the gym and pool which did not disappoint.
Gym is well equipped and the pool is a good size with swimming lane and adjacent sauna and steam room. Perfect for both fitness and relax.
Park and ride bus to Oxford is a plus. It's nearby, works 'til late evening and not expensive. Good choice for a tour of Oxfords excellent pubs :-)
Hotel is well located near Oxford ring road and offers free parking.
Otherwise the hotel is a standard business-type affair with no particular charm.
Only complaint : WIFI is extra charge which is unacceptable for hotel of this price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexTychy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and our facilities. In regards to our pricing I would like to reassure you that we always ensure we are competitively priced within our local market and against comparable full service hotels, offer great value. Free access to WiFi is now available to our IHG Rewards Elite Members (Gold and Platinum). This service will be extended to all base members too from 01 July this year who have had at least one qualified stay. If you are not a member yet you may wish to register to become a member before then.
Thank you again for your valuable feedback.
Kind regards
Joost van Spengler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    457
    210
    45
    30
See reviews for
211
345
44
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

arrived at holiday inn early room was ready, clean and fresh..staff were amazing helpful,and the breakfast was delicious and plenty of varity....would stop over again great position for touring around oxford city...also near Bicester shopping village.mr alex

Room Tip: all rooms are good but may top floor with a view and quieter although was very peaceful throughout
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alex r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Alex
Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay with us. Your generous praise for the level of service, facilities and breakfast are much appreciated. Hopefully it will not be before to long before you have an opportunity for a return stay!
Kind regards
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights on business. The hotel is situated on the outskirts of Oxford and it is a taxi ride into town, but there is a waitrose and KFC opposite the hotel. The staff are very friendly and the rooms are clean and of a reasonable standard. Breakfast was excellent. The only negative was no free wi fi, in this day and age you should not have to pay extra for wi fi. Otherwise a really good hotel for short stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank colin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Colin
Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Oxford. I am very pleased you enjoyed our friendly service, our facilities and indeed our breakfast. In regards to free access to wifi this is currently available to IHG Rewards Loyalty Elite (Gold and Platinum) Members and from 01 July 2014 this service will also be extended free of charge to all our base IHG Rewards base members. If you are not a base member already may I suggest you enroll as soon as possible as you would only require one qualified stay to receive this service for any subsequent stay in the future.
Kind regards
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Spent one night here and had a spotlessly clean room, good breakfast and excellent service. Staff were courteous, polite and very helpful. The room was very quiet considering it overlooked a very busy road. There were effective blackout curtains which led to a good night's sleep. The parking was great and we used the adjacent park and ride bus to get into the city centre. Would definitely recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PompeyLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your lovely review posted on Trip Advisor. I am pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay and your positive comments have been shared with the whole team.
I hope that you visit us again, when we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Oxford.
Regards,
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Best hotel I have stayed at for a long time.
The room was clean and very comfortable, the staff were very pleasant and made you feel at home and the food was fantastic.
A special mention for the Spanish restaurant Manager and his staff

Excellent experience cant wait to go back !

Room Tip: Excellent Food
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martinsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much indeed for your kind and positive review of the Holiday Inn Oxford. It is always a pleasure to receive such comments and I have shared these with the team.
I am pleased that you liked the Hotel, facilities and friendly staff and do hope that you visit us again in the future.
Regards,
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Regrettably we could never recommend staying here.
We were there in october when the weather was still warm.
After a full day sightseeing we returned to the hotel in need of a good sleep.
Sadly the air conditioning was broken and just made a racket belching out hot air all night.
When we and other guests complained in the morning we were told in a disinterested way that the heating was on winter settings which couldn't be controlled by the hotel as it was centrally controlled.
My almost blind 88 year old mother wife and children were completely exhausted after staying there which ruined what should have been a happy family trip. Premier Inn guarantee a full refund - Holiday Inn - £60 (10%) take it or leave it. What a disgrace.
To be fair the children did enjoy the pancake machine but I could have bought two for the cost of staying there.

Room Tip: Need to check heating/aircon and not be facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christianswinburne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review placed on Trip Advisor. Unfortunately whilst you were a guest in the Hotel you made direct contact with our central guest relations team, however as your name was not on our register in the Hotel we were unable to make direct contact with you personally. I regret that you did not make yourself aware to my Duty Manager personally during your stay.
As a result of this our central team handled your concerns and I am most disappointed that, three months after the initial offer was made you are now showing your disapproval to the offer.
If direct contact was made to the Duty Manager here at the Holiday Inn Oxford during your stay, I am sure that your query could have been resolved.
If you would like to discuss this matter further, please do not hesitate to contact me direct at the Hotel.
Regards,
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Staying in a generously proportioned family room, we were very well looked after on our 3 night stay. We arrived too early to check in but were made feel very welcome to use the great spa area, making full use of all its facilities. There was slight confusion over our room but this was handled smoothly and professionally by the staff who even provided drinks while we waited for it to be sorted. The reception staff were always bright and helpful and able to answer our queries.
The room itself was bright, clean, the bedding warm and comfortable, including a pillow menu. There was a large bathroom with lots of drying space for our wet swimming costumes.
We used the spa and pool at least three times every day. These facilities were why we chose this hotel in the first place and it was a great choice.
Best of all were the breakfasts. Very fresh produce, lots of choice, and a do-it-yourself pancake maker which was a big hit with the children. The waiter also went out of his way to make hot chocolate for them.
This is a very busy hotel but we felt well looked after. It is very convenient to reach the centre of Oxford by bus from the Peartree Car Park. We will definately be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsGillybirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure to read your very kind and positive feedback of the Holiday Inn Oxford. I am pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your family visit and that you liked the Hotel and facilities.
I do hope you visit again in the future, when we look forward to welcoming you back to Oxford.
Thank you again for your comments.
Regards,
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
6.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#20 of 44 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
5.3 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
4.0 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#12 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
6.2 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oxford

Property: Holiday Inn Oxford
Address: Peartree Roundabout | Woodstock Road, Oxford OX2 8JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#7 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#13 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oxford is situated on the leafy north side of this historic University City. The hotel is ideally located next to the A34 with easy access to the M40, Silverstone F1 Race Track, M4 motorway and Oxford Parkway Station. Holiday Inn Oxford is situated in an ideal location for travel into Oxford offering a modern, relaxing environment for either a business or leisure stay in Oxford with ample free parking. The city offers a priority Park and Ride bus service which is located next to the hotel. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children and they are all supplied with a double bed and a sofa bed - sofa beds suitable for children of 12 years or younger. Don't forget that in Holiday Inn Oxford kids Eat & Stay Free(Terms & conditions apply). The extensive Spirit Health Club is also available to our guests, offering a large gym & large indoor heated swimming pool complimented by Spa & Beauty therapists. For the benefit of our business guests the Holiday Inn Oxford boasts the purpose built, self contained, Academy Conference & Training Suites, with dedicated Reception, Business and Stewarding team. Discover the enchanting history of Oxford including the world famous University of Oxford, along with the Cotswolds and Blenheim Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oxford Hotel Oxford
Oxford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing