We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel But Rip off wifi”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Holiday Inn Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oxford
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice hotel But Rip off wifi”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Easy fast check in, Nice clean room, Good nights sleep. Toilet would not flush anything down, bought to night managers attention who said he would take care of it but i knew just by his attitude that he didn't care. NOT FIXED. Cold room temp on arrival. Good Breakfast but not included ? My biggest beef was the WIFI... Twelve pounds fifty for 24 hrs starting from the first log on??? This is a major Rip off and should be against the law to charge that much, Just about all coffee shops will give you FREE wifi if you buy a cup of coffee. For this reason i would advise you to look at the other Hotel close by that has free wifi and free breakfast and rooms are half the price!!! Shame on you Holiday Inn :(

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CandSNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay and further to my direct contact with you. I am obviously very pleased you enjoyed a number of different elements of your stay and I am very sorry you had reason to bring to our attention a problem with the toilet flush in your room. Access to our WiFi system is indeed a chargeable service and details to this effect can be found on our website. However this service is available free of charge to our Elite (Gold and Platinum) IHG Reward Members and, from July later this year, this will also be available free of charge to all base members of the program. Registering to become a member is free of charge and can be done online through any InterContinental Hotels Group Website.
Kind regards
Joost van Spengler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    463
    211
    46
    31
See reviews for
214
348
45
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Should be such a nice hotel and is, generally, but let down by small things. Food up the wall in the restaurant. Holes in the carpet in the bedroom. Paint peeling off the bath and probably the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in.
However the facilities are good and staff very attentive. I've just been more comfortable in some travelodges where I've paid 1/3 of the price

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian24110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review, following your stay at the Holiday Inn Oxford. I am pleased that you liked the hotel, facilities and staff. I have shared your comments with my team to rectify some small issues raised and do apologise for these shortfalls.
Thank you once again for your feedback.
Regards,
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here just for one night ,first time I've ever stayed in such a pleasant place the room was four star so clean and modern couldn't fault it .
Breakfast was very appealing a good choice of hot and cold all laid out Buffett style .
I found all staff very attentive and helpful would certainly go back for another visit !

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,
I was very pleased that you enjoyed your overnight stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Oxford.
Your comments are very much appreciated and I am glad that you had such an enjoyable visit to Oxford.
Thank you once again for your feedback.
Regards,
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed here for a few nights on a deal which included breakfast and dinner. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are everything you would expect and more with a drinks chiller, iron and ironing board, heated towel rail, etc. The food in the restaurant was delicious and well-presented, and the waiters were very attentive. There is a pool and spa area which was lovely, with a steam room, sauna and jacuzzi. Everywhere is beautifully clean and well kept. We did have a few language barrier problems, and if the staff didn't understand us, they guessed what we wanted instead of asking us to clarify, which led to some mistakes made by staff during our stay (e.g. taxis ordered for wrong day, wrong drinks served, etc.). Although the issues were resolved, there were quite a few instances of this over the duration of our stay which was starting to get frustrating. I would stay here again however as everything else was great.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DP_19721917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Oxford. It is always a pleasure to receive such complimentary feedback and your comments have been shared with the team. I am sorry that you encountered a couple of minor problems, however pleased that these did not deter you from expressing your desire to visit us again in the future.
Thank you once again,
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night recently having taken our granddaughter to the Uni for an Open Day. We have stayed in Holiday Inn's several times and in my working life I used them frequently. This is another good example of the quality which you would expect. Easy to find, friendly and helpful staff on Reception, good sized room and comfortable bed (pity about the pillows!). Clean bathroom. There was no noise from the nearby busy main road.
We did not use the leisure facilities nor did we have any meals in the hotel, except breakfast, which was very adequate.
It is ideally placed for visiting Blenheim Palace (you need a full day there) and also getting into the city. Do not risk driving in Oxford if you do not know it because it is not car friendly and you risk getting a large fine if you miss your way and enter the one way system incorrectly or drive in the bus or cycle lanes. Instead, use the nearby Park & Ride - only £2.70pp return (bus passes are valid).
We will use this hotel again for our next trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarrogateBevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Oxford following your recent visit. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and like the Hotel, location and helpful staff.
I do hope that you visit again soon, when we look forward to welcoming you back to Oxford.
Regards,
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westborough, MA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We did a quick trip to Oxford to visit a friend in the hospital, and we didn't make arrangements to stay overnight, so the taxi brought us here. At the front desk the price of our room kept rising, and the front desk clerk told us things were included and then charged us for them in the morning. The hotel was standard Holiday Inn. The toiletries consisted of a shampoo and body wash. No conditioner. Wi-fi very overpriced...

The room was nothing special, the pull out "cot" was just a couch with a sheet thrown on it.. the couch was excessively hard. Climate control was difficult.. we opened a window in the winter.
There was a trouser press in the room, and wine chiller, but not a refrigerator.
Heated Towel rack did not work. Minimal amount of towels provided. They are very small.

Dinner, good appetizers... nothing special entrees...Great staff.

Breakfast was nothing special buffet. The rashers were very greasy, and the tomatoes cold, and cooked very inconsistently. Eggs were prepped two ways, scrampled (preprepped) and over hard. Over easy was available on request. There was a machine to make pancakes, but no obvious pancake batter. (They did not have maple syrup). The pastries, looked pretty, but were very mediocre. They did have a nice bowl of fresh fruit. There was a lot of staff, but they did not refill coffee or tea.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pythagorous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent feedback following your stay at the Hotel. I am sorry for the confusion regarding your room rate and note that this was clearly resolved upon your departure.
Thank you for your additional comments regarding the Holiday Inn Oxford which will be reviewed with my operational team.
Regards,
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tredegar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Having spent a long weekend in Oxford I was extremely pleased that I had chosen this hotel; it was immaculately clean from the entrance, to public areas, corridors to rooms. The beds were extremely comfortable with good hanging space for clothes, a trouser press, a hairdryer (in a drawer) and a lovely heated towel rail. The leisure facilities were of a good quality and well-maintained, a pleasure to use. We had breakfast with our booking, and we found this to be of a very high standard with a wide range of options, from cereals to fresh fruit to hash browns. All staff were extremely helpful, and also went out of their way to make sure we were ok. However, I have not given this hotel 5 stars as you had to pay an excessive amount for wi-fi, the speed of which I found to be rather slow compared to the supposed 'High-Speed' access offered. It is conveniently located, only a short walk from the Pear Tree Park + Ride offering easy and fast access to the center of Oxford, and only just off a roundabout which makes it easy to locate. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone and indeed to return here should I visit Oxford again.

Room Tip: We found that rooms facing the main road were not noisy in any way, due to the windows being double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lolapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest,
I was very pleased to read your very positive review of the Holiday Inn Oxford and glad that you liked the Hotel, its facilities and staff. Your comments have been shared with the team and I do hope that you visit again in the future, when we look forward to welcoming you back to Oxford.
Thank you once again,
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
6.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#12 of 44 in Oxford
154 reviews
4.0 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#11 of 44 in Oxford
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel
3.0 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
6.1 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oxford

Property: Holiday Inn Oxford
Address: Peartree Roundabout | Woodstock Road, Oxford OX2 8JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#7 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#13 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oxford is situated on the leafy north side of this historic University City. The hotel is ideally located next to the A34 with easy access to the M40, Silverstone F1 Race Track, M4 motorway and Oxford Parkway Station. Holiday Inn Oxford is situated in an ideal location for travel into Oxford offering a modern, relaxing environment for either a business or leisure stay in Oxford with ample free parking. The city offers a priority Park and Ride bus service which is located next to the hotel. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children and they are all supplied with a double bed and a sofa bed - sofa beds suitable for children of 12 years or younger. Don't forget that in Holiday Inn Oxford kids Eat & Stay Free(Terms & conditions apply). The extensive Spirit Health Club is also available to our guests, offering a large gym & large indoor heated swimming pool complimented by Spa & Beauty therapists. For the benefit of our business guests the Holiday Inn Oxford boasts the purpose built, self contained, Academy Conference & Training Suites, with dedicated Reception, Business and Stewarding team. Discover the enchanting history of Oxford including the world famous University of Oxford, along with the Cotswolds and Blenheim Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oxford Hotel Oxford
Oxford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing