We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location to visit Oxford”
Review of Holiday Inn Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oxford
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Wasn't too sure when booking this hotel for 2 nights to visit Oxford, but it had all we needed. All the staff were very friendly and the room was clean and nicely presented. We had breakfast included, which was very good and we eat in the restaurant one night and had a very good meal that was reasonably priced.
One of the best things was we were a 2 minute walk to the park and ride.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickelas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest
Many thanks for your kind review of the Holiday Inn Oxford and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Oxford and liked the hotel and it's location to the City.
Thank you once again and I hope that you return to Oxford in the future, when we look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards,
Joost van Spengler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

664 - 670 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Friendly service and although we had a few problems these were dealt with quickly.
The only negative was the bed was not comfortable something which we have found at several holiday inns and maybe they should change suppliers.
Generally good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darrencoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest,.
Thank you very much for posting your recent review. I am pleased you found our staff friendly and helpful. Your comments regarding beds have been passed to our Head Office.
Thank you once again.
Regards,
Joost van Spengler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

These type of formula hotels come with an advantage, you know what you're going to get, and a disadvantage, you know what you're going to get!
However, the restaurants do vary and this one is frankly not very good!
We booked an all in deal, bed breakfast dinner and we know they always work to a tight budget with these deals. The menu offered very little in the way of healthy options. This also applied to the kids menu. Pizza & chips kids go for, how costly would it have been to add a few green leaves and a tomato? But frankly the A la Carte menu was not much better.
The low point was when looking for something remotely healthy I ordered butternut squash, kidney bean, & cheese pie. The reality was it contained none of those items. Inside the pie? Mash potato! And it came with that anyway.
We were told it was pre cooked and arrived like that. It was inexcusable though that it was on the menu the next night still as butternut squash!

It has to be said though the breakfast was excellent! Also the staff were generally very good although some with a poor command of English was a little problematical.
The Reception manager handled the situation very well when we pointed out the problems. Just hope they get it right in the future.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank UKCoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments. I am very sorry to read you were disappointed with our restaurant menu offering and I like to assure you that your feedback will be shared with our menu design team. In regards to the pie you were served I have since established you were served an incorrect pie for which I apologise post sincerely. On a more positive note I am delighted you enjoyed our award winning breakfast buffet and indeed the service appreciated the service in general. Thank you again for your valuable feedback and I hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back one day in the future.
Kind regards
Joost van Spengler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Easy fast check in, Nice clean room, Good nights sleep. Toilet would not flush anything down, bought to night managers attention who said he would take care of it but i knew just by his attitude that he didn't care. NOT FIXED. Cold room temp on arrival. Good Breakfast but not included ? My biggest beef was the WIFI... Twelve pounds fifty for 24 hrs starting from the first log on??? This is a major Rip off and should be against the law to charge that much, Just about all coffee shops will give you FREE wifi if you buy a cup of coffee. For this reason i would advise you to look at the other Hotel close by that has free wifi and free breakfast and rooms are half the price!!! Shame on you Holiday Inn :(

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CandSNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay and further to my direct contact with you. I am obviously very pleased you enjoyed a number of different elements of your stay and I am very sorry you had reason to bring to our attention a problem with the toilet flush in your room. Access to our WiFi system is indeed a chargeable service and details to this effect can be found on our website. However this service is available free of charge to our Elite (Gold and Platinum) IHG Reward Members and, from July later this year, this will also be available free of charge to all base members of the program. Registering to become a member is free of charge and can be done online through any InterContinental Hotels Group Website.
Kind regards
Joost van Spengler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Should be such a nice hotel and is, generally, but let down by small things. Food up the wall in the restaurant. Holes in the carpet in the bedroom. Paint peeling off the bath and probably the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in.
However the facilities are good and staff very attentive. I've just been more comfortable in some travelodges where I've paid 1/3 of the price

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Julian24110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review, following your stay at the Holiday Inn Oxford. I am pleased that you liked the hotel, facilities and staff. I have shared your comments with my team to rectify some small issues raised and do apologise for these shortfalls.
Thank you once again for your feedback.
Regards,
Joost van Spengler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed here just for one night ,first time I've ever stayed in such a pleasant place the room was four star so clean and modern couldn't fault it .
Breakfast was very appealing a good choice of hot and cold all laid out Buffett style .
I found all staff very attentive and helpful would certainly go back for another visit !

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,
I was very pleased that you enjoyed your overnight stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Oxford.
Your comments are very much appreciated and I am glad that you had such an enjoyable visit to Oxford.
Thank you once again for your feedback.
Regards,
Joost van Spengler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed here for a few nights on a deal which included breakfast and dinner. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are everything you would expect and more with a drinks chiller, iron and ironing board, heated towel rail, etc. The food in the restaurant was delicious and well-presented, and the waiters were very attentive. There is a pool and spa area which was lovely, with a steam room, sauna and jacuzzi. Everywhere is beautifully clean and well kept. We did have a few language barrier problems, and if the staff didn't understand us, they guessed what we wanted instead of asking us to clarify, which led to some mistakes made by staff during our stay (e.g. taxis ordered for wrong day, wrong drinks served, etc.). Although the issues were resolved, there were quite a few instances of this over the duration of our stay which was starting to get frustrating. I would stay here again however as everything else was great.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DP_19721917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Oxford. It is always a pleasure to receive such complimentary feedback and your comments have been shared with the team. I am sorry that you encountered a couple of minor problems, however pleased that these did not deter you from expressing your desire to visit us again in the future.
Thank you once again,
Joost van Spengler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#8 of 44 in Oxford
648 reviews
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel
1 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
4 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#7 of 44 in Oxford
1,887 reviews
3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oxford

Address: Peartree Roundabout | Woodstock Road, Oxford OX2 8JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#13 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £57 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oxford is situated on the leafy north side of this historic University City. The hotel is ideally located next to the A34 with easy access to the M40, Bicester Designer Outlet Village, Silverstone F1 Race Track, M4 motorway and Oxford Parkway Station. Holiday Inn Oxford is situated in an ideal location for travel into Oxford offering a modern, relaxing environment for either a business or leisure stay in Oxford with ample parking. The city offers a priority Park and Ride bus service which is located next to the hotel. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children and they are all supplied with a double bed and a sofa bed - sofa beds suitable for children of 12 years or younger. Don't forget that in Holiday Inn Oxford kids Eat & Stay Free(Terms & conditions apply). The extensive Spirit Health Club is also available to our guests, offering a large gym & large indoor heated swimming pool complimented by Spa & Beauty therapists. For the benefit of our business guests the Holiday Inn Oxford boasts the purpose built, self contained, Academy Conference & Training Suites, with dedicated Reception, Business and Stewarding team. Discover the enchanting history of Oxford including the world famous University of Oxford, along with the Cotswolds and Blenheim Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oxford Hotel Oxford
Oxford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing