We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Oxford
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,192)
Filter reviews
1,192 results
Traveller rating
324
527
243
56
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
324
527
243
56
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspark and ridehealth clubexecutive roomswimming poolcity centrepear treeservice areaservice stationpetrol stationtrouser pressblenheim palacesteam roombicester villagetravel lodgereception staffthe bussofa bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
686 - 691 of 1,192 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The 'jewel in the crown' for this hotel is its staff who can't do enough to make sure you get the most out of your stay.
12 single rooms booked for a group of mature ladies

Wonderfully attentive and helpful staff
Rooms adequate and clean
Close to the park and ride
Superb choice for breakfast
Good choice of evening meals
Plenty of parking and Waitrose within walking distance

The 12 rooms, all booked at the same time, were on different floors. It would have been nice to have all been in the same area.
Views from some of the rooms almost totally obstructed and some overlooking the flat roof. This did not affect us but some guests might not be happy.
One of the most popular wines was not available and was priced at double of what it is available for in the supermarket.
The steaks were thinner than expected and the medium was well done, rare was medium etc
(we could have returned them but chose not to as we wanted to eat the meal all at the same
time)
Waiters started to clear plates before all diners had finished their meals
Swimming pool very small and not enough chairs
Screaming baby in the restaurant at 9pm

Would certainly return to this hotel again based on its proximity to park and ride and excellent staff

Room Tip: Avoid 232, 234, 236, 238 as they all overlook the flat roof and 238 has obstructed view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stroppymare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting your review of the Holiday Inn Oxford following your group booking. I am very pleased that you found all staff to be friendly and attentive.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal, however apologise for the shortfalls you experienced and confirm that these have been shared with my Food & Beverage Manager.
I am pleased that you would choose to stay with us again in the future, when we look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards,
Joost van Spengler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed one night at the Holiday Inn and We can not say it was impressive.
Room was very poorly furnished, quite small and basic.
Not too great attention to details in the cleaning either. Toilet paper roll was already half used and we found some hairs around.
Receptionists were nice and helpful both at check in and check out.
We had also dinner at the restaurant, the food was good as it was the service, although we waited rather long for the food to arrive. It was not waiter's fault as they were very efficient and attentive. Special mention to Howeson who went for the extra mile with his service.
Breakfast was ok, pastries a bit dry and not salmon, but sufficient variety and service, again, satisfactory.
Location-wise, it is not central, but well connected by bus. The stop is 5 minutes away and it takes 15 minutes to reach the city centre.
We would say that it is a good hotel for short stays, that can hit the spot with its staff, so we might consider to go back, only if given a better room (our was definitely not value for money).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMCS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Oxford. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your room and apologise for the shortfalls you experienced on this occasion. This is not indicative of our usual high standards and I do apologise.
I am very pleased that you found our staff fiendly and helpful and that you enjoyed your meal in our Restaurant.
I do hope that you will consider visiting us again in the future.
Regards,
Joost van Spengler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here just for one night during our short stay in oxford. The hotel is within easy reach to oxfords city centre attractions. We arrived to our room to see single beds which I may add could not be pushed together!! But after a phone call we were allocated another room with a double bed 8-) The bar area is good with a great selection of wines available. The breakfast in the morning was a tad busy for my liking this was due to a coach booking full of the whole coach eating breakfast! However the staff were very attentive and did there best and the food was lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjk869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much indeed for posting your review following your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Oxford. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and liked the Hotel, location and attentive staff.
Thank you once again!
Regards,
Joost van Spengler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We had booked a long weekend to visit Oxford and Blenheim Palace. Being a commercial hotel we were expecting a fairly quiet weekend but were unaware of the Poppa Pig convention taking place at Blenheim. The "delegates" were everywhere, literally and accompanied by parents, grandparents, aunts, etc. The hotel was very busy, but not unpleasant, that is, until Breakfast. What a catastrophe! The lounge area looked like an explosion at a jumble sale with dirty crockery and newspapers everywhere. The queue for breakfast stretched around the lounge to the reception desk. There had been no planning, no forethought, no anticipation that problems could arise. When eventually we got a table, it became immediately clear why there were problems. The staff had no idea what to do and they received no direction.

The buffet was in a state of total disarray with numerous dishes empty. The chef looking after the buffet was totally incompetent and made no attempt to communicate with customers. He was frying eggs and that was all he was going to do. He was replaced on our last day with an excellent fellow who understood the term "Customer Service"!! There were no pastries because no one had seen fit to request more from the kitchen. When they did arrive they were undercooked and smelled strongly of active yeast - the perfect recipe for indigestion. The coffee was simply diabolical - a ploy maybe to encourage you to buy from their Starbucks franchise??

The following day was a little better and the event more organised - the chef however, had still not taken the happy pills and there was little improvement in the buffet, although he did, very pointedly, return the spoons and tongs to their place by crashing them down onto the counter as if he was swatting flies!

This was a disappointing weekend and at these prices customer service should be Substantially better.

The rooms are pleasant but paying for WiFi and paying for movies all seem to be money grabbing practices, whilst on the other hand, costs are cut to the bone. Cheap and nasty toilet paper, small and scratchy towels, leaking showers - there is no attention to detail in this place.

There are plusses! The hotel is very easy to get to and right next to the Park and Ride - a walk across the car park and its a few minutes into the City centre - and cheaper than the hideously expensive parking in town!! Great for doing the Inspector Morse pub tour too!!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Timthetrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Oxford following your long weekend stay. I would like to apologise for the shortfall of our usual high standards that you experienced at breakfast and please be assured that I have shared your comments with the team.
Access to our WiFi system is indeed a chargeable service and details to this effect can be found on our website. However this service is available free of charge to our Elite (Gold and Platinum) IHG Reward Members and, from July later this year, this will also be available free of charge to all base members of the program. Registering to become a member is free of charge and can be done online through any InterContinental Hotels Group Website.
I am pleased that you liked the location of the Hotel with easy access to the city centre, Bicester Village and Blenheim.
Regards,
Joost van Spengler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The hotel and rooms are what you would expect to find at a large brand chain; clean rooms, decent size with good facilities.

The thing that makes this hotel stand out and the reason for my score is the staff and food. I have stayed here several times and not once have an encountered a member of staff who is not friendly, polite and willing to help.

The crowning glory for this hotel is the food; we have all stayed at hotels and been served luke warm microwave burgers and warm chips but the food at the hotel is restaurant quality. I can honestly say I have never been disappointed with a meal and the choice and home cooked menu is something that I now regularly look forward to.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much indeed for your valued feedback following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Oxford. It is always a pleasure to receive such complimentary comments regarding our friendly and helpful staff and I am very pleased that you especially enjoyed your meal.
We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Oxford.
Regards,
Joost van Spengler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews