We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice for a Weekend or Short Break.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oxford Spires Hotel
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Level Contributor
242 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Good Choice for a Weekend or Short Break.”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I've stayed here quite a few times over the last ten years. It is without pretence, the rooms are sizeable, furnishings good, the staff always very attentive.The position is very good,it is pleasantly located close to the River Thames and for access to Oxford City centre, a ten minute walk along the main road, or you can use the tow path by the river for part of the way (to Folly Bridge) it would take a few minutes in a taxi, but traffic can be quite bad near rush hours. Because of its layout it is quite peaceful in the rooms, even when the hotel is full.It is usually possible to park close to an entrance near your room, which is convenient. Check-in is efficient, the desk staff usually very pleasant. I would not particularly recommend the cuisine for a sit down meal, but quite adequate for a snack or if you don't wish to go out.The Bar staff are very attentive and the drinks are not , unfortunately the bar has a large TV screen usually showing sport, which I hate (except when I want to see something) A TV lounge would be a good idea. The breakfast can be a bit of a scramble at weekends, notably on Sunday mornings, early is the best option, whilst others are having a lay-in.
All in all this is a good choice for a weekend or short break.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paraffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    716
    384
    118
    41
See reviews for
233
849
45
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Daventry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2013

9th and 10th of November. We booked 6 double rooms for our family , all of us swam in the indoor swimming pool Sat afternoon, Evening drinks with canapes, followed by dinner, the food was fantastic. We were spoiled from start to finish, we left late on the Sunday after a real English breakfast. Service was brilliant, I .would fully recommend this hotel for your next doo. Considering.how full the hotel was with various parties going on, we were over joyed with the personal service and attention we were given... .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

The aspires Four Pillars is conveniently located within about 15 minutes walk from the center of Oxford. Handy to many good pubs and restaurants. The rooms are comfortable but nothing too fancy. The restaurant at the hotel has very good food for both breakfast and dinner although more variety in town for the latter. The gym is pretty well equipped.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Intrepidtravellersx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed November 2013 for just an overnight stay. The hotel looks great on arrival and plenty of parking spaces. Reception staff were very friendly and professional. We had a very nice big ground floor double room. Well decorated and furnished. Nice bathroom and all very clean. We had a three course evening meal in the restaurant which was very well presented with some lovely food. Breakfast in the morning was again excellent. All very well presented. The staff were very attentive. ( was asked as soon as we sat down if we wanted tea/coffee. Having given our order the waiter went away to get it. Before he got back we were asked twice again by different members of staff). A limited overnight stay as I have said but you can get a good vibe from just a short visit and we did with this hotel. Recommended.

Room Tip: Ten minute walk to the town centre or bus is right opposite the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in November -it is very average and that is being generous. My room was very small - thankfully only I was staying there as it would have been too small for 2. There was a small double bed which felt tiny. Water was very hot but the shower curtain was so flimsy it would blow at you and stick to you. Also as the bath was so narrow I kept banging my arm on the freezing cold steel handle in the shower. There was only one bath towel and one hand towel and not enough hangers in the closet. They did provide a kettle and plenty of tea bags and milk and a nice touch of packaged biscuits every day. There was no fridge in the room. The place was like a rabbit warren with what seemed like miles of corridors twisting and turning. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley-AndyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel as part of a large group. Check in was quick and easy.
Room was clean and comfortable with plenty of very very hot water. Our room was a long way from reception and restaurant. It was quite complicated to find your way through all the corridors.
Our meal was not too good on the Friday night but the meal served at our private function on the Saturday night was excellent.
Breakfast was very busy but there was a good choice. Tables could have been cleared a lot quicker.
The plus points for this hotel is that is is ideally located for Oxford City Centre
The down points are the high bar prices and a cup of coffee costing £3.25:(

Room Tip: Ask for a room near reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKScrabbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Have stayed here a number of times- it's a great location for getting into the centre of Oxford, particularly for walking by the river. On the last stay we had a really good value deal including an upgraded room and two evening meals (one of them at the Living Room in the town).

Room Tip: Worst room we had was on ground floor near the reception area- was relatively small and noisy partic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
2.1 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
1,161 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Spires Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Spires Hotel

Property: Oxford Spires Hotel
Address: Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4PS, England (Formerly Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#7 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oxford Spires Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Lastminute, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oxford Spires Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Spires 4 Pillars Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing