We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EFFICIENT AND COMFORTABLE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oxford Spires Hotel
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Harpenden, UK
Level Contributor
222 reviews
198 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“EFFICIENT AND COMFORTABLE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

There's a lot that's positive to be said about this hotel. Firstly, its position is great for tourists who don't mind a ten minute walk to the sights of Oxford, for most of the walk is along the riverbank. It also means that it's quiet with no traffic noise. Secondly, its external appearance is very attractive, a modern building with a traditional feel, and there's lots of land around it. Inside, it is highly efficient and very comfortable, though with that bland character which applies to many modern hotels. My room was large and spacious and again, efficient and comfortable. The hotel would be a good choice for business people or for tourists to Oxford, but it's the sort of hotel that you remember with gratitude rather than affection.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKPeripatetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    695
    376
    115
    40
See reviews for
227
803
42
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
Level Contributor
131 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

This is a good standard hotel. Not luxury but fits the requirements of most travellers. Very good for business and tourist although a walk to the centre of Oxford, probably needed after an excellent breakfast. Better to eat dinner in Oxford although reasonable food if not looking for anything too fancy. Bar menu is good. Rooms of a good size and clean with nice bathrooms. Very quiet so a good nights sleep. Good choice if not looking for anything too special, excellent staff and a warm welcome. Much better than the other Four Pillars in Abingdon.

Room Tip: If you are not very mobile ask for a room close to lift or reception, you can end up walking a long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkMobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Booked a two night spa break for a relaxing spa/shopping break. Phoned the hotel directly, staff helpful.On arrival bedroom disappointing, no extras as stated on website for spa break, we had to ask three time before we received them. The restaurant food and staff very good. On entering the spa we found facilities out of order and pool area very dark. An area was roped off for lane swimming so my sister in law started her swim, shortly afterwards a swimming instructor got into the pool she was very unfriendly say this is my area move. I had my treatments first and then planned for a swim afterwards, on arriving back to the pool area it was full of small children and parents.Not relaxing for me so I did not swim again. We wouldn't have minded quite so much if on arrival at the spa/pool area we had been informed of this. On checking out we were asked if we had enjoyed our stay. We explained to the gentleman on duty our thoughts, he said he would get the manager to phone me at home. It has been a week and still no phone call.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misswilbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed here for a night with my other half on a weekend break. The location of the place cannot be faulted as its only a 15 min walk into Oxford town. Felt the rooms were a little bit dated with a tiny TV, No air-con and the room just had that old feeling about it. From the outside the hotel does look really nice though. Free parking which is also a bonus and the breakfast was really nice as we had it included in the rate of the room. Overall if they just modernised the rooms a bit it would be a cracking hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gashead81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorks
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel as part of a business trip for two nights (Friday and Saturday).

We arrived Friday evening to find two (yes two not one!) discos in full flow with loud music pervading all public areas, making conversation with our guests impossible. Whilst dinner, bed and breakfast had been booked the hotel would not or could not accommodate 10 people on one table which meant the group was split. The discos were not Christmas functions, but a regular Friday night fixture so be warned. The whole bar area was filled with smoke which came in through the constantly opening automatic doors from all the chain smokers outside.

The only good news was that our room was at the back of the hotel, several minutes from reception. This walk however confirmed our expectations for the rest of the stay, dated décor, damaged walls not to mention the mould stains. On arrival at our room, parts of the carpet were thread bare and the ceiling exhibited several brown stains from previous leaks. The bed was not much better with the wife complaining she was like the little duck sleeping with the hippo (I have been called worse) as the bed offered no support and we both found ourselves in the middle. To cap it all there was a leak in the bathroom which we asked to be fixed Saturday morning.

The breakfast food was of a slightly higher standard than the room, but nothing special. Basic tables without tablecloths and a very cheap paper napkin to accompany very cheap cutlery.

The rooms were £120/night for dinner bed and breakfast, cheap for a hotel in Oxford. I guess you get what you pay for. We will not be staying again.

Room Tip: I am led to believe that some of the rooms on the 3rd floor have been refurbished, ask for one of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vizsla_Posh_Paws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford on Avon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

My husband and I just had an enjoyable long weekend at the Spires Hotel in Oxford. We stayed in the EastWyke part of the hotel, the rooms were lovely and warm ( it was November when we stayed) very comfortable, very clean and very quiet. The hotel is only a 10 min walk from the centre of Oxford either along the river or round the road way - very easy to get to. The hotel was pleasant, breakfast was good but busy, but then its a very busy hotel - this does need to be taken into account if you are going to stay there - but all in all a very good experience

Room Tip: Opt for the Eastwyke part - although you do have to walk outside to get back in to the hotel for bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindseyD1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Lovely walk along river or road on good bus route. Hotel staff friendly and helpful. Good breakfast. Our room was a very long walk from bar and reception. It had broken window catches.we got them fixed. Room was slightly damp. Spa needs updating. I had a facial Which was ok but rushed at the end. Pulled skin as not enough product used. Floor was dirty and there wasn't a relaxation room with water.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
2.1 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
2.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Spires Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Spires Hotel

Property: Oxford Spires Hotel
Address: Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4PS, England (Formerly Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#9 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oxford Spires Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oxford Spires Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Spires 4 Pillars Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing