We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant enough stay, great location, they offer good saver deals”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oxford Spires Hotel
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough stay, great location, they offer good saver deals”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed here 2 years ago and on the same deal. i guess we must have been spoilt last time as for a family of four we were given a two bed-roomed room. However this time we were given what was a lovely double room but with 2 extra beds in and it was quite a squeeze for 4 people.
It was very good value though on the saver that they offered and I couldn't fault the breakfast or the staff. would definitely stay again on the same deal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    692
    375
    115
    40
See reviews for
227
801
42
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sidcup
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Excellent welcome, good room and the front of house staff are good, but the waiting staff need training. Three requests for coffee, incompletely laid tables, crowded buffet breakfast detract from what is otherwise a good hotel, easy parking and only half a mile o/s Oxford city. A pleasant walk along the river was a bonus

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are probably preferred, but there are three floors so be near a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank topdog32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Don't bother booking here. Its meant to be a 4 star - nowhere near!! I stayed here on a conference. The bed was one of the worst I have ever slept in. The curtains are useless and let light in. Bathroom was not that clean. The food is absolutely awful. Breakfast was either undercooked or over cooked. Lunch was late and both days tasted awful. Not much choice on the menu either. Drinks in the bar a way overpriced. Even if you are here for a conference if you can book somewhere else to stay. Staff are pleasant enough but the hotel is not worth the prices charged.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Shakeitupbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Large hotel, 150 rooms plus, just off the Abingdon Rd south of Oxford. Went there on a conference and it works well. Handy for a walk along the river which is only a few mins behind the hotel. Rooms adequate although a bit noisy from the corridor. Plenty of car parking. 20 mins walk to town. Not a bad option to expensive city centre hotels. Lacks a bit of personality though.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikMangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel with family and had a great time.
Room was clean and comfortable, staff friendly and helpful, service efficient.
We also enjoyed the pool, it was busy, but well mannered.
Location was great, nice countryside setting, but just a 20mns walk to Oxford city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaS315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
124 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This is a generic hotel - fine if you are fine with the 'hotel machine'. If you want something more personal, special or with a bit of character, this is not the place for you. The buildings are lovely and the grounds are great - on the river. The rooms are fine - well appointed and the bed very comfortable. The staff were very helpful and kind. The swimming pool was at great benefit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willis68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My second stay at this hotel and being a weekend, considerably busier...they need an even bigger car park! We were checked in early which was appreciated although I suspect that this meant the room hadn't been hoovered since I found both an ear ring and the spoke of a hairbrush on the carpet. Nevertheless the rest of the room was spotless and comfortable. My fiancé used the swimming pool and found the staff their friendly and the facilities good. We didn't eat here, preferring to see more of Oxford and to be honest, to save some money. This is a very nice but pricier hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
2.1 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,138 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
1.4 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Spires Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Spires Hotel

Property: Oxford Spires Hotel
Address: Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4PS, England (Formerly Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#8 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oxford Spires Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oxford Spires Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Spires 4 Pillars Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing