We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel as it should be- excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oxford Spires Hotel
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Hotel as it should be- excellent”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

From the time we walked through the doors for our 2 night Easter break until we left we found this hotel outstanding! Every member of staff friendly and helpful, efficient, very happy and without being overbearing. We ate in the restaurant the first evening and again quality of food and service all impeccable. I always rate a hotel by their breakfast offering; generally buffet style tends to be lacking, hit or miss; not here, always freshly cooked and well stocked, no queuing for a table either. Why? they had properly trained staff that obviously cared and oh; plenty of them. All too often it's not the staff's fault of poor service, there are just not enough of them; not here.
I can't recommend this hotel enough and if the rest of the group is run like this we will be visiting them also. Keep up the good work whoever it is in the organisation

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allmac06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    722
    391
    120
    41
See reviews for
238
860
45
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Clean, spacious and calm. The room was a fabulous size and there was no noise from outside or within so I slept really well. Delicious breakfast, continental and cooked, good atmosphere and friendly staff. The stay included free use of the health club which was an added bonus although the pool is very small. I enjoyed the 15/20 minute walk into town but some might find it a bit far. Excellent parking on site. A really easy place to stay in all respects.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brookville6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed only the one night this week though we have stayed at this hotel before.
Ii
You would have to be a grumpy old man to have any great objections to this hotel. It is the very convenient for central Oxford and is one of the few with free carparking. For the aged or infirm, or when it's raining, there are bus stops adjacent to the hotel entrance to/from the town

As other reviewers have said it does what it is said on the tin. It provides a good,all round service for overnight or longer stays . The room we had was a good size and very clean and well presented. The bathroom was dated but v clean,good towels etc. I noted from the contents of the skips at the back of the hotel that they are refurbishing the bathrooms!

Evening meals are from a large "set menu". Choice is varied and both well presented and well cooked. If you want a gourmet meal go elsewhere! Not particularly busy the night we were there but we found the service pleasant and efficient.

Overall the staff were very friendly and helpfull..

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I recently stayed here with my partner whilst he attended an evening business meeting so I arrived alone and as the staff had been notified by my partner that i would be arriving alone and later in the evening, they could not do enough to make me feel more welcome.
I was given the room number and directions very discreetly, which was something i do not always receive when arriving separately to my partner.
The rooms were equipped with every possible piece of equipment you could want or need, from an iron and ironing board to a hairdryer and sewing kit.
I ordered room service for dinner, which arrived within 10 minutes, all in all a very comfortable and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster Essex
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at the oxford Spires on an Easter special break upgrading to a four poster bedroom. On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly, professional receptionist who told us all we needed to know, pointed out the walkway to the riverside walk into the town centre and checked our dinner reservations, the first night in the hotel and the second in a city centre restaurant which was part of our deal. She also asked us if we would like to go on the guided walking tour of Oxford the following morning which was free to guests.
We were shown our room which was on the ground floor and I was rather disappointed as it overlooked a seating area outside and I would have been reluctant to open the windows at night. We asked if there was a possibility of moving to a room on a higher level and the customer services manager suggested that we might like to stay in the Eastwyck House which turned out to be a grade 2 listed building and n annexe of the hotel. We moved to room 507 and it was fabulous.
The room was quirky with beamed ceilings, a slightly creaky floor and a massive bed that proved to be beautifully comfy. The bathroom was simply stunning with a free standing claw footed bath and even better it filled in minutes which turned out to be a wonderful bonus after our walking tour.
The room was well equipped with an ipod dock, hairdryer and plenty of wardrobe space. A mini bar would have added the final touch but it would be very difficult not to enjoy staying there.
We ate in the hotel restaurant on Friday evening and the service was prompt and attentive and the food was of a very good standard. I got the impression that the staff had recently been trained as two people asked if we would write about the hotel on trip adviser.
The restaurant itself is a little tired but is pretty much what you would expect from a large hotel that needs to cater to different markets. We did think that maybe the smaller dining room could be made over to give more of a bistro feel and this might be worth investing in.
Breakfast was plentiful and very good with breakfast on the Sunday morning somewhat better than the Saturday, maybe a different chef? I was impressed with the choice which included both tasty mushrooms and fresh grilled tomato which are often lacking on a breakfast menu. i was also pleased to see marmite alongside the jams and marmalade.
On Saturday we went on the walking tour and our guide Brian was very knowledgeable and very interesting. I would highly recommend taking the tour if you can as it made the stay more memorable.
We had planned to use the spa facilities but after a long day in oxford a relaxing soak in the bath was more inviting.
I would recommend the hotel for its location, just fifteen minutes or so from the city centre but if you are planning a romantic weekend the Eastwyck House annexe rooms are a must and the dining experience at the Living Room in the City centre was a more relaxed affair with music and cocktails so makes an excellent option if you are booking a package.
We found all the staff very pleasant and helpful and would most definitely return to the hotel or recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tallulah21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed 3 nights over Easter in a very comfortable,clean & spacious room with a great view, bathroom was pristine. Only used dining room for breakfast, that was well cooked, hot & tasty, staff very friendly & helpful, never had to queue, well organised. Lovely walk along the river to town.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Spent Easter weekend here. Thoroughly enjoyed the weekend. The hotel was very comfortable, there were 3 of us in the room. The sofa was a fold down bed that was very comfortable. Shower was adequate. Breakfast was really good.....cold and hot selection including porridge and freshly made eggs. Staff were very pleasant, nothing was too much trouble. Situation was convenient; walking distance from the centre, short taxi ride from railway station, and bus stops outside! Wouldn't hesitate to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
2.1 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#13 of 44 in Oxford
1,070 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Spires Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Spires Hotel

Property: Oxford Spires Hotel
Address: Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4PS, England (Formerly Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#8 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oxford Spires Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Lastminute, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Oxford Spires Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Spires 4 Pillars Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing