We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great location, friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oxford Spires Hotel
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This hotel is located just a short 10-15 minute walk outside of Oxfords town centre, but feels like it is removed from all the noise and traffic, which is great. Rooms are clean and spacious with large bathrooms, sofa, TV, hair dryer etc.
Breakfast is a very nice buffet with a huge selection of English and Continental breakfast goodies. Staff are very friendly and helpful, which is just so nice.
The pool is small, but not very busy, so ideal for a relaxed afternoon, and the hotel also features a jacuzzi and steam room.
If you're more the outdoorsy type, leave the hotel through the back exit and make your way along a 2 minute walk through fields to the Thames. From here you can leisurely stroll into Oxford city centre on traffic free walk ways.
The only drawbacks for me were the relatively small parking lot (that gets very busy with what I must presume are not even hotel guests during the day - which means if you arrive early afternoon, you're unlikely to find a parking spot) and the price of the rooms, which I felt was a little on the pricey side. That said, we had a lovely stay and would probably come again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,887)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,183 - 1,189 of 1,887 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

Wouldn't describe this hotel as four star. Nothing fancy about the rooms but they are functional. The leisure facilities are a bonus but the sauna is tiny and can only fit two at a time. I asked for just toast at breakfast and was greeted by a confused stare and a reply that it wasn't possible. Hardly 4 star service. Walking through the halls to check out there was a disgusting smell of cigarette smoke in the corridor. At £99 a night I thought the stay was overpriced for what it is, an average hotel on the outskirts of a lovely city.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grapes2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed here and found it great. Would recommend without hesitation. Breakfast was great and the leisure club brill for a relaxing swim.
We didn't eat an evening meal in the hotel so are unable to comment.
We stayed in a family room with a sofa bed for our 11 year old son which he found very comfortable. We even had a complimentary mini bar which had a small selection of alcohol and soft drinks!!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank CardiffWeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

From the time we walked through the doors for our 2 night Easter break until we left we found this hotel outstanding! Every member of staff friendly and helpful, efficient, very happy and without being overbearing. We ate in the restaurant the first evening and again quality of food and service all impeccable. I always rate a hotel by their breakfast offering; generally buffet style tends to be lacking, hit or miss; not here, always freshly cooked and well stocked, no queuing for a table either. Why? they had properly trained staff that obviously cared and oh; plenty of them. All too often it's not the staff's fault of poor service, there are just not enough of them; not here.
I can't recommend this hotel enough and if the rest of the group is run like this we will be visiting them also. Keep up the good work whoever it is in the organisation

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allmac06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Clean, spacious and calm. The room was a fabulous size and there was no noise from outside or within so I slept really well. Delicious breakfast, continental and cooked, good atmosphere and friendly staff. The stay included free use of the health club which was an added bonus although the pool is very small. I enjoyed the 15/20 minute walk into town but some might find it a bit far. Excellent parking on site. A really easy place to stay in all respects.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brookville6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed only the one night this week though we have stayed at this hotel before.
Ii
You would have to be a grumpy old man to have any great objections to this hotel. It is the very convenient for central Oxford and is one of the few with free carparking. For the aged or infirm, or when it's raining, there are bus stops adjacent to the hotel entrance to/from the town

As other reviewers have said it does what it is said on the tin. It provides a good,all round service for overnight or longer stays . The room we had was a good size and very clean and well presented. The bathroom was dated but v clean,good towels etc. I noted from the contents of the skips at the back of the hotel that they are refurbishing the bathrooms!

Evening meals are from a large "set menu". Choice is varied and both well presented and well cooked. If you want a gourmet meal go elsewhere! Not particularly busy the night we were there but we found the service pleasant and efficient.

Overall the staff were very friendly and helpfull..

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I recently stayed here with my partner whilst he attended an evening business meeting so I arrived alone and as the staff had been notified by my partner that i would be arriving alone and later in the evening, they could not do enough to make me feel more welcome.
I was given the room number and directions very discreetly, which was something i do not always receive when arriving separately to my partner.
The rooms were equipped with every possible piece of equipment you could want or need, from an iron and ironing board to a hairdryer and sewing kit.
I ordered room service for dinner, which arrived within 10 minutes, all in all a very comfortable and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
2.1 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
747 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#8 of 44 in Oxford
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Spires Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Spires Hotel

Address: Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4PS, England (Formerly Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#7 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £87 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oxford Spires Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Oxford Spires Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Spires 4 Pillars Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing