We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oxford Spires Hotel
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Savona, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
474 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Good location, excellent service”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I returned to the "Four Pillars" after years and it was good to see it has not only maintained the level, but improved in many aspects.
Rooms look more modern, the service is quite perfect in all respects, from arrival to check out.
Worth mentioning the breakfast, with an ample choice which goes for the "english" bacon & eggs to cheese, fruit, croissants, etc
Location is just 10 minutes walk from the center.
Unfortunately I stayed for a couple of nights only, it will be good to come back one day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vecchio59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    722
    393
    120
    42
See reviews for
238
860
45
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Hotel is clean and well run, inclusive breakfast good and staff are friendly. However, I was sharing a twin room with a friend - our single duvets were child sized so we both kept waking all night to reposition the sheets. Single beds should have double duvets for adults. Our bathroom was kitted out for disabled guests. This is obviously not a problem, but if you're going to put able bodied people also in these rooms then they should also be catered for. I could not see in a mirror without bending down nor clean my teeth without squatting as the sink only reached my knees. There was not 1 mirror suitable for doing one's make-up anywhere as they were all hidden away in dark corners. When I asked in the pouring rain if there was anywhere covered outside to smoke I got a resounding 'no'. So I stood in the patio area outside the bar where I found that once you go out, the doors closes behind you and there is no way back in without walking all the way back around to the front of the hotel. We were both constantly disturbed by doors banging throughout the hotel as other guests entered or left their rooms - I'm usually quite a heavy sleeper.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs if you want a lie-in and a good sized mirror to do your make-up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This hotel is located just a short 10-15 minute walk outside of Oxfords town centre, but feels like it is removed from all the noise and traffic, which is great. Rooms are clean and spacious with large bathrooms, sofa, TV, hair dryer etc.
Breakfast is a very nice buffet with a huge selection of English and Continental breakfast goodies. Staff are very friendly and helpful, which is just so nice.
The pool is small, but not very busy, so ideal for a relaxed afternoon, and the hotel also features a jacuzzi and steam room.
If you're more the outdoorsy type, leave the hotel through the back exit and make your way along a 2 minute walk through fields to the Thames. From here you can leisurely stroll into Oxford city centre on traffic free walk ways.
The only drawbacks for me were the relatively small parking lot (that gets very busy with what I must presume are not even hotel guests during the day - which means if you arrive early afternoon, you're unlikely to find a parking spot) and the price of the rooms, which I felt was a little on the pricey side. That said, we had a lovely stay and would probably come again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Wouldn't describe this hotel as four star. Nothing fancy about the rooms but they are functional. The leisure facilities are a bonus but the sauna is tiny and can only fit two at a time. I asked for just toast at breakfast and was greeted by a confused stare and a reply that it wasn't possible. Hardly 4 star service. Walking through the halls to check out there was a disgusting smell of cigarette smoke in the corridor. At £99 a night I thought the stay was overpriced for what it is, an average hotel on the outskirts of a lovely city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grapes2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed here and found it great. Would recommend without hesitation. Breakfast was great and the leisure club brill for a relaxing swim.
We didn't eat an evening meal in the hotel so are unable to comment.
We stayed in a family room with a sofa bed for our 11 year old son which he found very comfortable. We even had a complimentary mini bar which had a small selection of alcohol and soft drinks!!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank CardiffWeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

From the time we walked through the doors for our 2 night Easter break until we left we found this hotel outstanding! Every member of staff friendly and helpful, efficient, very happy and without being overbearing. We ate in the restaurant the first evening and again quality of food and service all impeccable. I always rate a hotel by their breakfast offering; generally buffet style tends to be lacking, hit or miss; not here, always freshly cooked and well stocked, no queuing for a table either. Why? they had properly trained staff that obviously cared and oh; plenty of them. All too often it's not the staff's fault of poor service, there are just not enough of them; not here.
I can't recommend this hotel enough and if the rest of the group is run like this we will be visiting them also. Keep up the good work whoever it is in the organisation

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allmac06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Clean, spacious and calm. The room was a fabulous size and there was no noise from outside or within so I slept really well. Delicious breakfast, continental and cooked, good atmosphere and friendly staff. The stay included free use of the health club which was an added bonus although the pool is very small. I enjoyed the 15/20 minute walk into town but some might find it a bit far. Excellent parking on site. A really easy place to stay in all respects.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brookville6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
2.1 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#13 of 44 in Oxford
1,072 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Spires Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Spires Hotel

Property: Oxford Spires Hotel
Address: Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4PS, England (Formerly Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#7 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oxford Spires Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Oxford Spires Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Spires 4 Pillars Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing