We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oxford Spires Hotel
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The hotel exceeded expectations is very way except for minor glitches by housekeeping staff
(e.g trash can emptied into plastic cup then left on the desk). Our room overlooked the back
garden making it quiet (only 2 neighbors in that wing, but the doors slam shut) and lovely.
Ducks, horses and birds visited right below our window; not a person to be seen.
Had to go a long and winding route to get to the room, but worth it. Location was easy
walking distance to town with frequent bus service if desired. Taking alternate stroll
into town center along the river path was an added bonus.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ljc3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,042 - 1,048 of 1,833 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

This hotel has a very good position for visiting the city of Oxford. It takes just a 15 minute walk to get to the centre with all the museums, restaurants, pubs that you could wish for.
We stopped on a two night one dinner package and we were not disappointed. We had room 226 and this was a quiet room. Good size and very clean and tidy. The reception was very professional and friendly and quick. They offered to carry the luggage to the room. We were directed to the lift and explained the restaurant timings.
We had our evening meal which consisted of asparagus and eggs, pate, chicken and chorizo, steak and cheese board and eaton mess.
The service was very friendly and efficient.
The bar was well stocked and also well run.
Check out was quick and very good. Would definitely use the hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner booked this hotel for a short notice weekend getaway. And wanted somewhere near the centre of Oxford and in terms of location and convenience this hotel was excellent. And the buildings themselves were beautiful. However for the price we paid for a 3 night stay. We were to say at the least disappointed with some aspects of our stay. Most notably on the second night the water pipe at the rear of the toilet started to leak and water escaped all over the bathroom floor everytime you flushed. And to be fair although the response to our problem was swift and the gentleman was very friendly, the steps the gentleman took to rectify the situation were not of the standard that would be expected of this hotel (i.e using masking tape to conceal and plug the leak. (Were in our eyes not satisfactory), But more disappointing was the general noise we encountered. Now obviously the hotel cannot be held accountable for its guests being generally rude and noisy. However you could hear everything!. Noise from the surrounding corridors and rooms carried along the hallways, and early in the morning and late at night we found this disturbing, also the bed was not overly comfortable. However this hotel does have other good points. For instance when we had dinner at the hotels restaurant Deacons. We booked on very short notice and the staff still managed to fit us in, and the service and attention to detail from the servers was impecable. And the food was excellent, we both had the steak which was some of the best we have eaten anywhere. The price was what some people would consider expensive but condsidering the quality of the food the price was acceptable. So overall being only a brisk 20 minute walk from the historic city centre and having plenty of on site parking, make this a pleasant place to stay which is convenient. Nevertheless in all honestly we would most probably find alternative accommodation the next time we visit the city.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Pros
Good location for walking into town along the river.
Bath in room and nice shower.

Cons
Room was quite small and dark with a tiny window.
Welcome was non-existent really, we were checked in by a trainee who had not received enough training in customer service.
Parking was not explained to us and our room was a long way away, which was frustrating because we had two large suitcases to haul around.
Room had some rubbish left from the last guests.

Price was expensive, I would have expected better service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaireNZ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Spacious room, very clean, helpful staff. Bar food was good and the restaurant food, although good was a little over priced. Breakfast was excellent and set us up for a day exploring Oxford.
Brilliant location - 3 minutes on a bridle path from the hotel to the Thames and a 15 minute walk along the river bank then another 5 minutes to town.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frances G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Knowing how difficult it is to find a hotel with parking in Oxford, I researched this hotel very carefully before suggesting it to the other couple travelling with us.
We were delighted with the Oxford Spires. It is easy to find, has plenty of parking, excellent rooms and charming staff. It is also within walking distance of the city centre - at least for the able bodied.
I walk with the aid of a stick. When a member of staff noticed I was having difficulty walking, he offered to fetch a wheel-chair and push me around. When I declined that kind offer, he then showed us a shorter route to the back end of the hotel where our room was. The hotel has three lifts
The same atmosphere prevailed in the dining room, where a member of staff offered to collect my breakfast from the buffet for me. There is a great selection and when my husband asked if they had any croissants not sprinkled with sugar, they were obtained and brought to our table.
Many thanks to the staff at The Spires
Next time we are in Oxford, this is the only place we will stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ballydorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stayed here for two nights on business. The room was small but comfortable with tea and coffee facilities.

Checkin and checkout were fast and easy with very friendly and helpful staff.

The spa and leisure facilities were also great and I made full use of the pool/sauna and gym.

There were two things that really let the stay down. One was the food (room service) which on both nights was delivered with the incorrect order and was disappointing and tasteless. The second was the paper thin walls which allowed me to hear every conversation/toilet flush/movement that was occurring next to me or above me. This meant I didn't sleep well even as a normally deep sleeper. The beds were also extremely hard and uncomfortable.

I probably won't visit this hotel again, as the main point of a hotel in my mind is to get a good nights sleep which is a shame as the hotel is well presented on the outside and has great staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheepy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
2.1 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
731 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.8 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Spires Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Spires Hotel

Address: Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4PS, England (Formerly Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#8 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £115 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oxford Spires Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oxford Spires Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Spires 4 Pillars Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing