We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oxford Spires Hotel
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Stayed here for one night this week, nice clean hotel friendly staff, pretty busy when we arrived in the bar, caters for many business men and women in oxford. Great location very close to the town centre. The restaurant in the hotel looks corporate and not the kind of restaurant we wanted to eat in to experience oxford. Our room was on the top floor in the attic but was so large and lovely. Huge bathroom with deep bath and fancy shower. The shower however was quite difficult to operate with two shower heads and no clear instructions on how to alternate between them. Very clean room with sofa and two twin beds, the beds were small and the mattress felt cheap but once in bed felt much better and had a good nights sleep. Breakfast was great, so many options with fresh fruit and a full cooked breakfast. A nice hotel but not the place if you want an authentic experience of oxfords heritage.

Room Tip: The attic rooms 217-221 are the largest
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bethsmartie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    730
    394
    121
    42
See reviews for
241
869
45
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Within fifteen minutes walk of Oxford centre, good facilities and staff who were friendly and welcoming, this is a good place to stay for a relaxing break. The evening meal menu had a good range and was of a high standard. Breakfast also had a hot and cold option. Room had all you need including ironing board and safe, with a decent size bathroom.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ffiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The Hotel is in a great quiet location, just a short stroll along the river to Oxford. Spacious,clean room with very good amenities and lovely bathroom. Wonderful high quality food and wine served by a team of smart, professional and above all friendly staff. Breakfast was also good, but go early (as per the hotels advice !) The spa was quiet and peaceful with a warm pool, plus treatments were superb and again the staff made it all the better. The Hotel had everything we needed for a weekend away and couldn't have been better. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

From start to finish this was a very good stay. I'd made contact before my stay as it was for a special visit to catch up with friends while I was over form Australia. This was acknowledged on check in - the staff were great, very friendly and welcoming!

The room was a good size, great amenities - lovely bathroom and also a good sized balcony. I had a good nights sleep, and the receptionist looked after my luggage all day for me while I went out into town.

Next time I'm back over in oxford I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antony_Roberts-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The hotel exceeded expectations is very way except for minor glitches by housekeeping staff
(e.g trash can emptied into plastic cup then left on the desk). Our room overlooked the back
garden making it quiet (only 2 neighbors in that wing, but the doors slam shut) and lovely.
Ducks, horses and birds visited right below our window; not a person to be seen.
Had to go a long and winding route to get to the room, but worth it. Location was easy
walking distance to town with frequent bus service if desired. Taking alternate stroll
into town center along the river path was an added bonus.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljc3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This hotel has a very good position for visiting the city of Oxford. It takes just a 15 minute walk to get to the centre with all the museums, restaurants, pubs that you could wish for.
We stopped on a two night one dinner package and we were not disappointed. We had room 226 and this was a quiet room. Good size and very clean and tidy. The reception was very professional and friendly and quick. They offered to carry the luggage to the room. We were directed to the lift and explained the restaurant timings.
We had our evening meal which consisted of asparagus and eggs, pate, chicken and chorizo, steak and cheese board and eaton mess.
The service was very friendly and efficient.
The bar was well stocked and also well run.
Check out was quick and very good. Would definitely use the hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner booked this hotel for a short notice weekend getaway. And wanted somewhere near the centre of Oxford and in terms of location and convenience this hotel was excellent. And the buildings themselves were beautiful. However for the price we paid for a 3 night stay. We were to say at the least disappointed with some aspects of our stay. Most notably on the second night the water pipe at the rear of the toilet started to leak and water escaped all over the bathroom floor everytime you flushed. And to be fair although the response to our problem was swift and the gentleman was very friendly, the steps the gentleman took to rectify the situation were not of the standard that would be expected of this hotel (i.e using masking tape to conceal and plug the leak. (Were in our eyes not satisfactory), But more disappointing was the general noise we encountered. Now obviously the hotel cannot be held accountable for its guests being generally rude and noisy. However you could hear everything!. Noise from the surrounding corridors and rooms carried along the hallways, and early in the morning and late at night we found this disturbing, also the bed was not overly comfortable. However this hotel does have other good points. For instance when we had dinner at the hotels restaurant Deacons. We booked on very short notice and the staff still managed to fit us in, and the service and attention to detail from the servers was impecable. And the food was excellent, we both had the steak which was some of the best we have eaten anywhere. The price was what some people would consider expensive but condsidering the quality of the food the price was acceptable. So overall being only a brisk 20 minute walk from the historic city centre and having plenty of on site parking, make this a pleasant place to stay which is convenient. Nevertheless in all honestly we would most probably find alternative accommodation the next time we visit the city.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
2.1 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,080 reviews
3.1 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
723 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Spires Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Spires Hotel

Property: Oxford Spires Hotel
Address: Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4PS, England (Formerly Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#7 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oxford Spires Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Ctrip TA, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oxford Spires Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Spires 4 Pillars Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing