We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"comfortable and relaxing"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oxford Spires Hotel
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“"comfortable and relaxing"”
Reviewed 29 July 2009

My husband and I are in our mid fifties and have holidayed widely throughout the UK over the last 10 years. We stayed here for only overnight (sadly) during a British version of a heat wave in Oxford. Our room was spacious and airy, with a wide balcony with table and 2 chairs, which we took advantage of in the long, warm evening. The room was decorated in the usual hotel-modern, and was well equipped with large and very comfortable bed, well equipped bathroom, tea and coffee making faculties. The restaurant was pleasant and spacious, tables all had table cloths. The waiting staff was attentive and polite. We had an excellent choice of a full breakfast which covered everything from fresh fruit, cereals and toast to a broad choice of cooked offerings.
The evening meal was the best which we had in any 5 British hotels which we stayed in during our 1 month holiday. The choice was eclectic, e.g. including oysters and duck, in addition to the usual British roasts etc. the prices were more reasonable than we had come to expect.
Service was faultless from booking in to booking out. We were sorry that we did not have more time here to walk the extensive grounds or to have a longer walk on the riverside path into Oxford central.
Our only concern was, given the humidity and relatively high temperatures, our upper level room became very hot and stuffy. No air-conditioning in those rooms. Otherwise this would have been an almost perfect stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiefifties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    703
    379
    118
    41
See reviews for
230
827
44
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Good hotel in a decent location in Oxford. The rooms are clean but they do need to be updated. The hotel has a lovely pool and gym, sauna and steam room. Stayed in one of the suites. They're ok but could do with some modernisation. It's an ideal hotel for a short stay in Oxford.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maximilianIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Fabulous hotel, we had a connisseur room with a balcony, but the dinner was disappointing. It is obviously prepared on a shoestring budget. From sitting down to being presented with the bill after 3 courses was about an hour, and this included one of the main courses being returned as it was not what we ordered. Not very relaxing. Breakfast on the other hand, was wonderful. We had a lovely stay. It is very close to city centre. We recommend the limousines affiliated to the hotel which are reasonably priced, very good and always available.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gladsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2009

We stayed here for a romantic break for valentines and paid £125.00 for a one night stay. Pro's : Great location, we had never been to Oxford prior to this and not only was the hotel easy to find (just off main roundabout) but was walking distance to all of the main attractions and city center. Also the room size was large, and pool was nice. Con's: Interior of the hotel was dated - looked a bit like retirement home, and some of the staff seemed like they belonged in a retirement home with their gruff surly attitude. Could be amazing if the chain owners breathed some life into it, instead of going down the predicable conference route. Proof that this has not happened : My brother stayed there this year and said similar - purpose of his trip : work conference.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2009

This hotel's location made it ideal for an overnight stay while attending a concert. The centre of town is well within walking distance and parking is a bonus.

Initial impressions were promising as it is a nice builidng set in open land with clear signage. Checking in was easy with polite and helpful staff. On the way to the room it was obvious this hotel has been here a while and a slightly musty smell in the hallways could probably be cured by renewing the carpets which are obviously well used. The standard room was larger than many modern hootels, clean and well presented.

All seemed well until a couple of hours later when another guest walked into our room. She was the previous occupant and had not checked out hence still had a key. She had left a few items in the room and they had been removed without her being informed. This could have been potentially very embarrasing for both parties but of greater concern is a lack of security.

The management are investigating this lapse of security but could there be an underlying problem as nobody seemed to know where the ladies posessions were or why there was no check to ensure all the keys for the room were located prior to checking us in. An offer of free breakfast as a gesture of goodwill was offered however was not used as other plans were in place.

As this was only an overnight stay we did not allow this to affect our visit but for someone staying for a longer period security must be of concern. Apart from the room the only facility we used was the bar where service was good and prices reasonable for an hotel.

I would use the hotel again but would certainly ensure on checking in that all keys for the room are accounted for. Perhaps my experience was an exception but the follow up indicated there was a lack of communication between departments.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

I always check trip advisor before booking my hotel and we needed to stay in Oxford for one night whilst my husband attended the Business Awards dinner. Most of the top hotels were over £200 per night which, knowing that you can stay in these hotels for just over £100 most of the year except summer, we did not want to pay the inflated prices. Reluctantly because of some of the reviews on T.A I chose the Four Pillars and checked in wondering if it was going to be a nightmare stay. However, I was very pleasantly surprised. I booked a Connisour Room which was just a little bit more expensive than the basic room. we got a complimentary mini bar, bath robes and a nice (but smallish) room at the back of the hotel with a good sized terrace/balcony overlooking the fields, a lovely view and very quiet. We took breakfast in our room the next morning (£5 extra tray charge but worth it) the continental breakfast was plentiful and fresh and we took it on the terrace which was a nice extra to have. The TV only had the basic channels which was a bit disappointing (no Sky but a couple of digital channels). But all in all, this hotel deserves a good review. It is clean, the grounds are nice, the pool looks like it is new (although we didn't try it) and you can walk in to Oxford town centre in just over 10 mins. I would definitely stay here again and I am a fussy traveller so don't let some of the negative points put you off this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Oxford Spires visiting for the 10cc concert (fab).

The hotel has lovely grounds and a nice walk into Oxford down the river path, takes about 15 minutes.

The romms are nicely furnished, clean and large. We chose a conniosseur stay with robes, mini bar and delux room. I thought it was better than ok, large room comfy bed and pillows. By Night it was completely peaceful, by day there was a nice view of fields and horses, over the brick balcony.

We didnt eat dinner in the main restarunt choosing instead Rosies French bistro (very nice ineed and reasonable) Bar snack prices were far too expensive a burger will set you back £11.00, nice but too pricey. Breakfast was at the best mediocre for the charge, although a wide choice available. There were far too few breakfast waiting staff so be prepared for a wait for any service items such as tea and toast.

The hotel had a calm feel to it, however it rather put me in the mind of a nursing home I once worked at, decor and furniture.

I liked the hotel and would recommend it but beware it does lack a certain something which you may be looking for from a 4 star, style perhaps.

All in all it was very clean, reasonably near to the center good comfortable rooms nice grounds , oh and pool (faux tuscany) was all a little cute. it desrves a four star rating but for amenities not style. Service from bar staff very good very hard working.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LillyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
2.1 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
2.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Spires Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Spires Hotel

Property: Oxford Spires Hotel
Address: Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4PS, England (Formerly Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#8 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oxford Spires Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oxford Spires Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Spires 4 Pillars Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing