We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four star bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oxford Spires Hotel
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 25 April 2010

The location of this hotel is perfect. Around 10/15 minutes walk along the river towpath to the city. The room was spacious and clean as was the bathroom. Very friendly and helpful receptionists. Swimming pool very nice and free wifi. What more could you ask.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargaretCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,845)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,657 - 1,663 of 1,845 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2010

Felt like a 1 star hotel. Old rooms. poor beds. Everything could be heard from the room beside.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank half62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

Was told about the Four Pillars chain by a friend so was looking forward to our stay.
Check in was hassle free, although was surprised to be given an old fashioned key for the room. This lock was very stiff, so every day was a struggle to open the door !
The room was pleasant enough, but having travelled around the world to places like Dubai, I would have hardly rated this a 4 star hotel.
Children's beds were ready and made up as requested, although my husband and I had 2 single beds pushed together to make a larger bed ! ummm interesting !
Had dinner for all 3 nights at the hotel, and the food looked fantastic. Kids ate free which was a real bonus. The only downside was the poor vegetarian choice for me.
Swimming pool was nice, kids loved it. The jacuzzi was lovely when it worked - had to complain to the boy at the desk who turned it on manually, a regular member of the gym told us it never worked and the hotel knew this ! One morning we waited 45 minutes as no one was on the desk, so we called reception ourselves from the desk phone only to be told the boy did not start work until 11.30 am !!!! What if something had happened in the pool ?!
We did have a lovely time as it was my husbands birthday, but the hotel needs reclassifying as 3 stars as this is very misleading.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pebbles001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

Oxford isn't particularly well served by hotels but this seemed to be one of the better ones. It is a little out of town, ok if you like a good walk or can take the car into town.

The staff are generally quite helpful.

The outside of the hotel looks good, however the interior is looking a bit weary. A refurb is overdue.

The rooms aren't very well soundproofed. You can hear everyone walking up and down the corridor.

Generally a three star hotel, rather than four star, with potential.

I would recommend this hotel, mainly because there aren't many alternatives.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 007rjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

A good all-round hotel with excellent location and friendly staff.

We didn't use the restaurants but walked the 15 mins into town or got the bus. It's really easy to get to and fro from Oxford, it's far enough away to be quiet but close enough to pop in and out of town easily

The room was a good size (we had the upgrade room) and was generally quite quiet. from the moment we walked in we were made to feel welcome. My partner used the spa for a 30-minute facial and came out pleased as punch, the rates were good for the spa.

The only downside of this hotel (as alluded to by other visitors) is that it does feel a bit 'tired'. If you overlook the occasional peeling wallpaper it does still feel like a classy hotel.

We'd stay there again if visiting Oxford in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samsec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

Stayed at the Oxford Spires for Valentine's weekend. The hotel was 'nice', room very comfortable, quiet, clean. Ate in the restaurant in the evening and, having booked the meal, were very disappointed with the service - in fact they volunteered a 10% discount because they had been so slow.

Our room was a very long way from the Reception - it is a real maze of rooms and starting to get a bit dated, but still pretty good.

The hotel is very well located and it is only a short walk into Oxford City Centre. You can walk along the river and in the summer it must be lovely. Easy to find, plenty of parking - which has got to be a plus as parking is very expensive in Oxford.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skywalker047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

Our main problem with this hotel was with the late check-in. Our party arrived around mid-day only to be told that our rooms wouldn't be ready until 3pm. This seems very late considering we were only there for 1 night. In general, the decor is more like a 3 star hotel - and the bar is very expensive. There is parking on-site but when we were there we struggled to find a space. The bar area itself has all the atmosphere of an airport lounge.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jonathang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
2.1 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
735 reviews
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
532 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#10 of 44 in Oxford
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Spires Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Spires Hotel

Address: Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4PS, England (Formerly Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#8 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £99 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oxford Spires Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Oxford Spires Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Spires 4 Pillars Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing